Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Snowtastic™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Snowtastic™ Pant

Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Mountain Hardwear Quality!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MBBME
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First off, I should should start by saying that I am a huge supporter and fan of the Mountain Hardwear products. From tents to sleeping bags, apparel, accessories, and more, I can't count the number of items I have and have been extremely satisfied with. Sadly, I cannot say the same for these pants.
They look great, fit well (more of a slimmer fit), and repel water. However, I have worn them twice skiing and they are already falling appart. I have rips, tears, and small holes in multiple places, even though the fabric seems quite sturdy. Not sure what the issue is with these pants, but probably the first thing I've purchased from Mountain Hardwear that I am utterly unhappy with.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too small

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MMMC
Location: PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
The material is great for a soft-shell however the fit is really small and barely covers your backside. I do recommend this product if you are fairly skinny, young with a smaller frame as the material is really comfortable and seems to breath well. The fit is more like how jeans fit with a low rise which I am not sure is appropriate for skiing. I wish they would make these pants in a larger full figured front as the material is wonderful.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ski pant I've owned

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
quartzmo
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are pretty much perfect: A definite step up in breathability (I do still open the side zips for climbs), great detailing, great weight/durability balance, light enough for ski touring and also tough enough for everyday use at resort, beating through early-season brush, etc. Zippers, etc are all holding up great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skipro
Location: Calif
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got these pants and really wanted to like them. I wear a 32-33 waist pant, and the mediums fit my waist (barely) but were REAL tight in the seat, and the thighs were skin tight without any thermal layer underneath. Would NEVER work for skiing, which is what they are supposedly designed for. So I bought the Large and although they fit better in the thigh/seat, the waist was too big, and the problem is that there is no adjustable waist band . So you'd have to wear a belt, and even then they would bunch up and not keep the snow out. For the price, these pants were well made but woefully low on features (no adjustable waist, not enough pockets, poor fit).
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding and Looks Great

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
PhilK
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the pants in a moment of vanity, to match the blue color of the piping on my just purchased Mountain Hardwear Alakazam black softshell, and which has also performed superbly. Excellent in every way. Waterproof and comfortable without needing long johns on days of moderate temps. The jacket is also the best I've ever worn. Every pocket serves a purpose, the zippers are effective. Bravo.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Material, but lacks any additional function

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LTDinPNW
Location: PNW
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall this is a phenomenal material. Works better than anything else I've ever used (and I’ve used just about every higher end waterproof/breathable material out there to date). As a BC skier (Telemark), and a big guy - I can quickly build up a ton of heat and steam. This pant ROCKED at keeping everything extremely comfortable for the duration of any use I’ve had it in thus far. Where the problems began however - was in the complete lack of what you might call bells & whistles, and/or functional capacity. For the cost of this piece, there is little additional that comes inherent to them. The pants could use a built-in waist adjustable device/system. Particularly as the cut of the waist and the cut of the thigh and lower leg don’t jive well. The lower leg is huge in relation to the thigh, which in my opinion for an active snow/ski pant - is small compared to the waist. As this is a waterproof soft shell material - with adequate adaptability, it could have potentially been used and layered in a manner to accommodate a multitude of outdoor snow sports. An additional feature missing that would have helped here is the addition of a lower leg adjustable cuff. A quick an easy additional 2 position snap to snug up the extra material at the ankle would have been welcomed. This would have easily accommodated a day on skis, followed by a light snow shoe venture, or apres-ski after a long day in the snow. The other greatly missed design feature that I felt is a miss on the Snowtastic is a higher cut backside. It didn’t need to be a drastic addition, but a little extra rear-coverage against snow entry, and wind sure would’ve been nice. Had this been more of an Alpine climbing pant intended for low weight, maybe there would have been reason to leave this out, but as a dedicated snow sliding pant - it sure would have been nice.
I imagine that over time this will potentially be worked out - as was the case when the Effusion jacket first was introduced. I had a very similar experience with that piece as well. Phenomenal material - with a complete lack of regular functionality. In such, I'd strongly suggest waiting on future "models" of this pant.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good ski pant

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Johnie27
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty happy with these pants. I bought them to wear skiing in New England. I do mostly lift-serviced stuff, but also skin up the mountain early in the morning for a bit of exercise. Will also see some use snowshoeing, but haven't had a chance to try them out yet there.
They're definitely waterproof (got to test them both in the rain and under the snow guns). My bum stays dry sitting on a wet or snow/ice covered chair. They breathe very well, keeping me from getting too clamy or sweaty after spending an hour skinning up hill. After chaning my sweat-soaked base layers, I skied all day stayed dry.
The autumn orange color looks sharp with my dark green ski jacket. It's a little more burnt orange color than don't-get-shot-in-the-woods orange. The suspenders are handy and easy to remove.
The sizing runs small from the MH size chart. I wear a 34 inch waist in relax-fit Levis, and went with a size Large, which according to the chart is for a 36-38" waist. The pants fit pretty much like I would expect my Kakhis to. I wear a thin base layer and can get some fleece midlayer pants under, but that's about their layering limit. If you normally wear a 38" waist or have a 36" waist and cylist or strong-man thighs, go XL. The Long inseam is nice for us tall folks. In Levis I wear a 36" inseam if I can find them but can settle for a 34" inseam and not look like I'm wearing high-waters. The Long inseam comes down plenty far enough over the top of my ski boots.
A few gripes... the suspenders slide down off my shoulders sometimes. Crossing them in the front fixes this, but looks dorky. A little grippy rubber on the inside of the suspenders would be nice. I also wish the gaiters around the top of the boots had two snaps for adjustment to give you a little variability. Lastly, the bottom zipper for the sides of the legs doesn't have a zipper pull, making it hard to unzip them to unbuckle or buckle or otherwise adjust your boots with gloves on. Possible, just not as easy as it could be.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pants

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iman
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is n overall great ski pants, very nice fit, the only thing is that the color is slightly greener than what you see here, it's a nice color but something between blue and green.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dry and high

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
butters
Location: Hailey Id.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
That is what it kept me in the backcountry, All day long way up high and Dry thanks to the DRY Q
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pant

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
SnowDawg
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not bulky and comfortable fit. Would be nice to incorporate a tack liner around the waist to keep shirts tucked... (as well as on shoulders of suspenders)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Breathability, Lacks Durability

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
CharlesF
Location: Northampton, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very impressed by the fit and breathability of this product. I fall in between numeric sizing, measuring about a 33/35, the medium-long fits perfectly.
I've used these winter hiking and for backcountry snowsports. It's only on the warmest days that I have to open the side zips. Although only lightly insulated, their wind-stopping power and breathability has meant that I have stayed dry and warm on top of Washington in January with these and just a midweight merino baselayer.
The durability, unfortunately, leaves something to be desired. Every time I brush past a rock, be it submerged in snow or exposed, the pants snag and puncture, often right through the laminate. This is suprising because the old Synchro, with whom these pants share a similar face fabric, has never done this.
Overall, I'm still impressed with the breathability of the DrQ Elite laminate.
As a Mountain Hardwear dealer, I would recommend these pants to snowsports enthusiasts at ski resorts and lift-serviced areas. I would not, however, recommend them for back country endeavours.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snowtastic Pant and downhill skiing

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Racer6037
Location: Eugene, OR
I like the look and feel of these pants. I haven't used them in bad weather yet, and the true test will be when the wet Oregon snow hits the ski lift chairs and I have to sit in it. But so far so good. The fit is good, just a bit on the small side however. Keep that in mind when thinking about what your going to wear under these. If you have a 38 waist I would go a size up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pants!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
PNWskiier
Location: PNW
So far I'm loving the DryQ Elite technology. My legs never overheated nor had sweat build-up on the inside (while my Gore-tex jacket was noticeably less breathable). This is my first MH product and I'm definitely impressed.
I have a hard time finding pants to fit my build that aren't super baggy (small waist, athletic rear/quads). These pants fit great, have a nice feel and so far have been totally waterproof and seemingly quite breathable. To help others with similar sizing issues, my measurements are: 5'10", 170 lbs, 31-32" inseam, waist size 31, athletic build. Medium (length Regular) fit perfect with enough room to tuck in my base layer and mid-weight fleece while not being tight in the waist
Side note- if you are considering the Snowtastic pants they are considerably more baggy. Although if that is the fit you are looking for, they also seemed to be awesome pants.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pant

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nato
A great winter pant. The material is great. It is breathable and keeps out the elements as well to keep you hi and dry. I loved these pants on Aconcagua and plan on using them for another trip up the mountain and when I get back to Colorado. Great for day missions and long excursions in the backcountry. You can use it for anything related to snow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable without being heavy.

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Skischoolscott
Location: Mt Hood, OR
I wore these pants for the first time last weekend and I approve. Very comfortable. It was a spring like day in bounds, and the legs didn't get sweaty. I did a lot of skating and climbing and didn't unzip the sides so that's saying something about the breathability. I can't wait to test out the performance in wet cascade conditions. The only thing I would have liked to have seen in these pants is a waist adjustment like some of mh's other pants. They have belt loops, but I don't usually wear a belt when I'm skiing. That's more of a want than a fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about SRD450 is loaded.
Additional information about SRD450 could not be loaded.
review update
Posted April 9, 2013
I've had many days in these pants and I love them. They are still extremely waterproof and breathable and they handle a day in bounds as well as they handle single day or multiday BC tours. For future revisions, I would like to see thigh pockets like the drystein pants for carrying a beacon. I also find the drystein style pockets are easier to use with gloves then vertical side pockets.
This is the most comfortable material of all time and great for cold days with a baselayer and warm days without a base layer.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men's Snowtastic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great ski pants

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danski
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
I use these pants for skiing and love them. They are a great shell that is not to bulky for active winter activity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mikeyb9
Seattle,WA
 
Please wait while more information about Mikeyb9 is loaded.
Additional information about Mikeyb9 could not be loaded.
I want another pair for when these wear out,
Posted October 21, 2012
These are awesome pants, I wore them all season last year, during snow, rain, sun, and that horrible freezing rain storm we had. All I needed was a heavyweight wool base and these did these trick. I'm pretty tough to impress and Id like to see the guys at MH top this one.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)