Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Android™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Android™ Jacket

Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Android™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My second Android jacket...couldn't be happier

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brent60
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6'3" and when I received my 1st Android jacket as a gift I was 235lbs. It was an XL and it fit great but after losing 45lbs it was way too big. Ordered the Large and it also fits great. Nice long sleeves, great quality construction, fit and feel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and functional

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
GA87
Location: SE Georgia
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits good and looks great. It seems to be well-built. The titanium color looks great too. The jacket looks good enough to wear for many occasions. It works well with a t-shirt from 45-60 degrees and stops light wind. Also, the logo isn't in your face. I'm 5'10", 180 lbs, and the large leaves enough space to move easily but not enough to look baggy. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish and functional

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pitonero
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product purchased specifically for overseas trip. Preliminary use indicates it sheds moisture well. Looks cool, too.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid, versatile jacket

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
canyonman
Location: Lolo, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Android is well built and durable. It does what it's supposed to do well. But, it is sized a little small. Perhaps this is a function of the "semi-athletic" fit. I don't think of myself as non-athletic, but it doesn't fit me well -- short in the arms and snug in the chest. The larger size (XL) is baggy on me.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
jiminator
Location: outside of DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 6'2" and 180 pounds with normal length arms. This jacket fit perfectly. The body had just the right amount of room; not too loose, not too tight. Many jackets that are made nowadays that advertize an "athletic fit" feel way too tight to me. The arms were also just the right length. I will say, though, that if you're wearing this jacket to climb in, reaching above your head would definitely cause the sleeve to expose 3 to 4 inches of your wrist. Note, though, that this jacket is so well made and stylish that I don't wear it to climb or hike in. Maybe in a couple of years when I've beaten it up pretty good, I'll take it into the backcountry. But until then...
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jaeger
PA
 
Please wait while more information about Jaeger is loaded.
Additional information about Jaeger could not be loaded.
Jim, What size for 6'2" 180 lb????
Posted February 1, 2014
Since the jacket is a "Prefect fit" for 6'2" 180 what size so we can reference it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sometimes

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelena
Location: Honolulu, HI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall very good jacket. Haven't put this jacket thru any extreme conditions yet. Only thing sometimes the top of the collar under my neck will dig into bottom on my chin depending how high front zipper is pulled up. Like the interior lycra type material sleeve under jacket outside sleeve to keep cold air out and sleeve fitting nicely around wrist
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Android Softshell

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
R4Z1
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent softshell that fits beautifully. Most outdoor gear I've tried on is very biased toward more muscular, blocky frames that I simply don't have. I was pleased to have a slimmer athletic fit in the body and arms.
This jacket insulates well, making for a great layer in the fall and well into winter. The water and wind resistance is good, but extended exposure makes for a very wet outer layer. It has yet to actually leak through the entire jacket yet, however, so no complaints. I have worn this jacket almost daily since picking it up.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great casual jacket

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bdgill01
Location: fayetteville, nc
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a Large android, the fit is perfect for me. Im 5'11 at 185 lbs with athletic build, I also have really long arms and this jacket fits great. I purchased the jacket to wear casually; it performs that function well for the non summer seasons. I recently hiked Mt. Mitchell while in a steady rain and intense winds for 4 hours and the jacket held up ok, obviously as a soft shell i did expected it to keep me dry however once in got wet i felt it significantly reduced its effectivness with wind protection. Other than that it’s been a great buy, it’s very comfortable over thinker winter shirts and looks great too as most mountain hardware product do. I would not purchase with the intent of being your primary technical outer layer.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my needs

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigThunder
Location: Missoula, Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat for working at the fire department. I needed a coat that wasn't too heavy and more than a shell. This is perfect. It is a high quality coat that is functional for the job I do. As we move out of the Fall season, I will be wearing it more and more everyday.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Casually Awesome

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
BikerAl
Location: Pinecrest, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This jacket looks great on and off the mountain. Blocks the wind very wells, is a great weight as an outer layer over a wool thermal for typical California skiing conditions, or for breaking the Bay Area morning chill over a t-shirt. Comfortable as heck, and super durable. My Syncro jacket shows wear on the shoulders from back-packs, this jacket still looks brand new.
The only oddity is the the cut. I expected typical MH-athletic, but it's more casual. Not baggy, just relaxed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Amazing material, odd fit.

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
gogounou
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm loathe to give this jacket anything other than a good review based on it's construction: it's a beautiful material, and it's tough as nails. It moves incredibly well with the body, and seems like it would last and last. That said, I had to return mine.
The jacket has a really peculiar fit. Even on the "Fit" slider bar on this review, I didn't really know how to rank it. Basically, the sleeves are perfect. I wouldn't want them an inch shorter or even a bit tighter. The torso of the jacket is enormous, though. I'm 6'2", 190lbs, and have an athletic build; I was swimming the in the large that I ordered. In most cases I would have just sized down to medium, but a smaller size would have made the sleeves too constricting and I couldn't do with losing any length, either. I suppose I'd say the fit makes this a good jacket for someone with shorter arms and an average sized torso, or a seriously barrel-chested guy with average length arms.
It's a shame, too, because I really liked the material. I was trying to find any reason to keep it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and functionality

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edda
Location: Marin County California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket was purchased for my son who is walking advertisement for Mountain Hardware. He did the research on it and put it on his wish list for XMAS.
He is very familiar with your products and I am sure he chose the right thing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome overall medium wt. fleece /softshell

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
kjlanda
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect overall medium weight fleece / softshell. Fit is awesome, just snug enough, and nicest sleeves and cuffs ever!! MHW sometimes really gets perfect design, this is one of them! Beautiful style and function. A+++
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At first glance

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Will87
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this jacket (August in the Southeastern US- go figure) after eyeing it, and others in the same category for quite some time. I have experience working in an outdoor equipment store, enjoy hiking, skiing, mountain biking, and paddling and am originally from an area known for extreme weather, great hiking, and challenging skiing. I made my decision based on reviews of my previous customers, reviews found online, and personal preference. I have yet to put this jacket to the test however it seems very well constructed with quality materials and a lot of forethought in the design. I have heard complaints of sleeve length and while I would typically wear a 34-35in sleeve, the large size seems perfect, especially when it comes to precipitation and fits great in every way. The pockets are not that of a ski shell, but perfect when it comes to keys, a wallet, a pack of gum, etc. and I have no complaints. I can't wait for colder weather to really experience what this jacket has to offer!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good soft shell jacket; sleeves a bit long

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
bearbear
Location: San Ramon, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 6th Mt. Hardware jacket I own. It's a nice light-med soft shell jacket. Sleeves are a bit tad long, but still fits okay. The thing you should be aware of is that the picture on the website may not be exactly the color you actually get - the jacket looked black with a black collar, but what I received was a black jacket with a slightly gray color. (Customer Service told me that it could be an old picture, or the final design changed after they posted the picture). Still, good jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect softshell for everyday use

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
yotman
Location: Israel
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own a Columbia ascender soft shell and the android does everything better. fits better then the columbia, feels better and looks better.
highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

slick

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
aksmj98
Location: north pole, ak
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well fitting, thin shell that repels wind and water very well. only drawback, limited in pocket space.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Android™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
CDfromNM
Location: New Mexico
My dad bought this jacket and I liked it so much I bought two. The material is wind resistant and very light, but doesn't make that horrible noise that other jackets with similar material make when it rubs together. The sleeves are lengthy which I love for use in the snow and the jacket length is perfect. I'm 5'11" and weigh 170 lb and the large fit me perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Android™ Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5