Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Quasar™ Pullover

Mountain Hardwear Men's Quasar™ Pullover

Quasar™ Pullover
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Review 1 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pullover

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roade
Location: Park City, Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Wore this for the first time while I was cross country skiing in 17 degrees. Had a base layer, a light weight, fleece mid layer and the pullover. Never got cold or overly warm. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super lightweight and Breathable Jacket

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nick25
Location: PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:
This jacket is super breathable. I've put this jacket on and you never feel clammy on the inside. I've taken it on hiking trips and it's worked splendid. Literally no condensation inside the jacket. This jacket is also super packable. It's a great jacket to throw in a backpack for long hikes.
Cons:
The only flaw with the jacket is that I question it's durability. I can't imagine it being too strong considering it's a super lightweight jacket however that's the price you pay for a great hiking or snow shell. I would be hesitate to use it for any sort of rock climbing. However mtn hardwear makes other great jackets to wear for climbing.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
dschra
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
It was exactly what I expected-- light, breathable, and dry. It was extremely easy to store because of its simplicity.
I did put a slight puncture hole in the right arm of the jacket, so I'd have to say that this jacket isn't quite as durable as some of my heavier, more rugged jackets. However the puncture hole can easily be attributed to my bafoonery.
This jacket is great for anything 'snow' and more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good breathability, slim fit

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
berndt
Location: tacoma, wa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket- good hood fit, and a small inside pocket. very nice.
I am 5'8" 170- it is a pretty tight fit as a Large.
Good waterproofness, and good breathability.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kjlanda
 
Please wait while more information about kjlanda is loaded.
Additional information about kjlanda could not be loaded.
Sent back to MHW twice! Do not buy in orange.
Posted June 30, 2012
I bought this jacket in orange on two occasions, both of which were sent back to MHW because the black interior leaks onto the orange shell when wet and ruins the jacket with spots that do not wash out. Additionally, it looks kind of unflattering with zipper open, nice closed, but unless you're using this for mountaineering and not city use, you'll look like Count Dracula in an orange jacket! Great technology but strange cut/fit/collar/and leaks color. Thumbs down, unfortunately!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for wind and snow

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Location: Mo
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
i used this pullover in wet snow in colorado, temps were mid 20's with the wind ripping out of the west. i had a base layer and the Quasar fleece on under it and i was warm when moving . i like the Quasar but i feel it is garment for a very specific venue. the sleeves are slim at the wrist so expect gloves to go over the sleeves. the dry Q is killer! the shell if great for wearing a harness, slim at the waist. but it is not something you take on and off. bottom line, determine your comfort rating for warmth, put this on and go.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quasar Review

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
JayNH
Location: NH
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this jacket to lighten up the pack weight and try the new Steck line out. It lives up it's claim. A very lightweight jacket that is amazing breathable. Used it on a very intense winter hike in the White Mountains in varied conditions and at the end of the day I was complety dry underneath it..the shell was as well. Very impressive!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Quasar™ Pullover
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JHR77
Location: Minnesota, MN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect as a highly breathable all purpose shell. Use it over a light or mid base layer and its perfect for late fall, winter or early spring hikes, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. The DRYQ Elite is extremely breathable and fends off any elements. There is more room in this piece than the DryStein, the cut is able to layer a puffy with needed base layers and still fit very well. I'm 6'3" at 195 and the large is perfect. Love the no frills and cant wait to stuff it in my pack for a just in case shell that is a top notch 4 season performer. Firm believer in DRYQ Elite, breathes like no other on the market.
As mentioned this is a no frills bare bones shell. The internal pocket is all I need personally. I would not mind another cinch on the back of the hood to really make the hood better fitting, but who cares the single draw cord does a good enough job. I was skeptical about not having velcro cuffs, but after using this for a few days in the bluffs of SE MN I actually now prefer not having them because the cuffs fit so well, stop the wind and are super comfy. This is an extremely versatile shell that can be used 365 days a year, oh yeah and its under 10 oz. Nice job MTN HARDWEAR!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.