Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Trinity™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Trinity™ Jacket

Trinity™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 7(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For me, perfect!

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
CaptainBarry
Location: Chattanooga Tn
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to be a soft shell over puffy jacket or layers. I typically wear a XL but got the XX and by itself it is just a tad to big, but that's what I wanted. With my puffy or a sweater it fits perfect. Took up on Grassy Bald at 6,200' with light rain and up to 60 mph gust. It performed amazingly. As a rain and wind jacket. The hood has gotten some bad reviews, maybe I haven't used a high dollar jacket before but I thought the hood was simply great. Adjust the back cord and I could turn my head and the hood would follow. My only con would be it doesn't pack. You'll need quite a bit of space to stow the jacket. I have a Deuter air flow pack and had to stuff it between the actual pack and the back support. Which turned my air flow pack into any other pack. I would buy this jacket again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

armpits too tight, hood could have better adjustments

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
teliguy
Location: Boulder, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I just returned this jacket. Although I liked the style, material and price, there were too many negatives (for me) to keep it. The The primary reason I returned it was that the armpits were too tight and it was actually a relief to take it off. I am only 5 feet tall and fairly slim, so the size small I was wearing was actually big on me - really need an XS - and the pits were still too tight.
The second reason I returned it was the hood. The hood did fit well over a helmet. However, I did not like either of the adjustments for the hood. The drawstrings that close the hood around your face create these weird wings that stick out on either side of your head at about eye level because there is not a continuous sleeve for the cord - looks quite strange. Although it is cool how they put the cord locks inside the sleeve, I think the cord locks should be lower in the sleeve. Also the adjustment on the back of the hood to pull all that extra hood out of your face when not wearing a helmet pulls the hood back along the sides of your face, exposing your face to more wind. I want to keep my face as covered as possible to protect it from wind while skiing lifts or above tree line. I think it would be better if the adjustment just pulled the top of the hood back, out of your face. Hoods used to use this type of adjustment.
Lastly and least, for someone like myself, where the sleeves are always too long, it would be nice if the cuffs had some elastic. Otherwise, with the velcro tab tight enough to keep the sleeve up, it is also too tight to get off without undoing the tab. A small thing I know, but also a nice convenience.
I wish this jacket had worked for me. It had many nice features.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain Hardware Trinity Jacket

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mike10000
Location: Durango, Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Hardware jackets seem to fit me well. That's why I have so many of them (five). I got their Kepler jacket a year or so ago and really liked it. Wore it backcountry and resort skiing in the winter and on a 5 day and later a 4 day backpack trip in Colorado at high elevations (between 9 and 13000 feet). Kept me dry as advertised through some torrential rains and all day rains. Also breathed well so I didn't feel clammy wearing it.
Now for the trinity jacket. The Kepler has reasonably "soft" material but can still feel a bit stiff and crinkly in cold weather. The Trinity jacket is much more supple. That is what influenced me to get it. I've only worn it backcountry and resort skiing so far since I got it this winter. I plan to wear it this summer for hiking. Since it uses the same Dry Q technology as the Kepler I anticipate it will work as well as the Kepler next summer.
This jacket isn't an ultra light jacket that some backpackers will gravitate towards. I don't recall the exact weight of the Kepler but it weighed quite a bit more than some of the ultra light jackets worn by some of my friends on last summers hikes. When it came to keeping me warm and dry, however none of the other hiker's jackets came close. They all complained of the sauna effect due to poor breathability and being cold (and sometime wet due to leaking). Not I :-) The extra weight was well worth it!
It became a joke when asking them how their jackets worked. The standard response was "well it's light" with a maniacal grin which came to mean I won't use this "fill in your preferred disparaging remark" again!
Anyway, Dry Q works and the jackets, Kepler and Trinity are both excellent jackets. I now prefer the Trinity just for the softer, more supple nature of its material. Wouldn't surprise me to find out the Kepler material has been upgraded to the same level, however. I didn't compare the latest Kepler to the Trinity when I got the Trinity.
Last comment. The Kepler has an outer zippered pocket on the chest. The Trinity does not. Trinity, however has an inner unzippered pocket on the chest. Both are useful. I don't have a strong feeling either way of which is better.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but expensive jacket, not the warmest

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Troy81
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros:
Nice looking
Decent as a wind breaker
Very waterproof
Solid construction
Dry.Q does it's job and releases heat well
Cons:
Not that warm
Sizing is a little funny
Only 3 pockets
Hood not removable
As far as sizing goes, I'm 6'2" and 220lbs. Usually I'm in between a large and an extra large. The extra large fits great, but it's a little tight in the chest. I swim a bit in the X-Large so I'm kind of between sizes. Could just be me.
Buy this jacket if you are active outdoors. If you are lazy and just want to stand there in a cold spot and rely on it to keep you warm, you are going to be disappointed. This jacket is designed to keep you from sweating. It releases heat like a sieve and that's not great if you're huddling with your knees to your chest. It's great though if you're scaling a mountain and would normally be sweating like crazy. I'm not sure I would take this into sub-zero climates unless I had supplemental gear for warmth when I wasn't doing strenuous activity.
On the other hand, I live in Oregon and I can vouch that it is an overly wet, but not overly cold state. This jacket is going to be great for the 9 not-as-cold but very very rainy months of the year. It is extremely waterproof. Like wet-suit waterproof. I ran it under the tap for a good 30 seconds in one spot and water redirected itself like iron to a magnet. No absorption at all. Very good for a raincoat, very good for jogging or any rainy-day activity you might not consider without having something very water resistant.
I guess they call it Dry.Q and not Warm.Q for a reason!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing More Than A Rain Coat

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vrod412
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the money was expecting a little more than a rain shell, although it works great for this purpose. Thought it would be a little heavier and have more insulating qualities.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stellar jacket... slightly odd fit

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JGrods
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I seem to have found a trend with my MH jackets... all of them that I have tried (and that's quite a few over the last couple of years) have some of the highest quality and function that money can buy BUT the sizing is not quite right.
I am 5'11" and 180lbs. Fairly average build. Depending on the manufacturer and purpose of the clothing, I fluctuate between mediums and larges. Unfortunately with MH jackets, I've found that I am stuck wanting a "marge" (medium+large). The medium fits absolutely perfectly in the midsection/torso, arm length, hood and length. BUT, like my last MH jacket, the arm pits are too constricting, to the point that I can feel pressure in my pit when I'm just standing there. The back can be a bit restricting as well, if I am bending over... If I try to size up to the large, I end up swimming in jacket torso region and the arms are 3" too long. Slightly annoying, but maybe I have a weird body type.
I have decided to keep this jacket regardless of the tight fit in the arm pits and back hoping that the fabric will stretch/settle out after some decent use. Still waiting for that to happen.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Trinity™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps You Dry Inside and Out

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
lightnfast
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Pretty impressed with this little guy. Amazingly soft hand and wonderful fit (I'm 5'8" and 145). Long enough to stay under a harness but not too long. Doesn't ride up when reaching high. Didn't turn into a sweat bath on ice routes up to WI4, which helped me not freeze to death at the end of each pitch while waiting for my second. Never used the pit zips while climbing.
If you are dissapointed with this jacket, you are unrealistically demanding. Yeah a napoleon pocket would be nice, but who cares?! Adapt.
Hood fits awesome over a helmet. Stretch pocket inside kept liner gloves warm. I like this jacket a lot.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jbird
portland, or
 
Please wait while more information about jbird is loaded.
Additional information about jbird could not be loaded.
what size?
Posted November 24, 2013
what size did you buy? you are my exact build. wondering if i need a small or a medium. was leaning towards small.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)