Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Versteeg™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Versteeg™ Jacket

Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great affordable jacket

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CloakDagger
Location: Richmond, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like my Versteeg rain shell. I purchased it on sale. Really happy with the features, especially all the pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All year jacket

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
BruceB
Location: South Dakota
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great multi-use jacket. I am an avid skier and searched diligently for a lightweight shell before settling on the Versteeg. I almost always have problems overheating on the slopes and needed a waterproof shell that actually breathes. This jacket fit the bill perfectly. It stops the wind and allows me to stay cool and comfy. I originally bought it for warm days but I wore it all season in all temps by varying the weight of layers underneath. Awesome fit and function with plenty of pocket space (crucial to a father of four) and pit zips to keep me cool. I'll warn any skiers that this jacket has no insulation (it is technically a rain jacket) and the cold can be felt right through it without layering underneath. Also, the hood does not fit well over a helmet.
Fast forward - I just spent two days in the rain at a soccer tourney and it kept me dry in some true downpours so I decided that I must write a review. Hood design is great for keeping the rain off the face. I'll be camping/hiking soon and this jacket is so lightweight that it can go anywhere and take up very little space.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great overall rain jacket

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
wadfowler
Location: Quito, Ecuador
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this jacket. It is light, breathes well, and it has great features. So far I have been in some HUGE rainstorms in Ecuador and it has not failed me once. You haven't seen a rainstorm until you have been in a South American rainstorm. The only thing I don't like, and this is a pretty common complaint for MH jackets, are the pockets. There are zero comfortable positions to put my hands in those pockets. The angles are ridiculous. I don't think that is something that will be changed anytime soon, so this is probably a useless complaint. Good jacket, worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality lightweight shell

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snowboarder
Location: Wyoming
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works great for keeping dry. I used it with a pretty light fleece for spring snowboarding and kept warm and dry in much colder temperatures than I expected. Has pit zips, packs tight light as well. Overall I really like it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very breathable, but would upgrade velcro

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mirla13
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recommend this jacket, with a couple of caveats.
First, the good stuff: light, breathable, will keep you warm or cool depending on the temperature. Truly waterproof. Love the multiple pockets, exterior deep and interior great for your iPhone, wallet, etc.
Now what could be improved: the lining is white, which means that it gets dirty very quickly. Also, the velcro is pretty much useless and more of an annoyance. Before I even wore it, it had lint and other stuff. It won't fasten well, yet everything clings to it (dog leashes, purse strap, etc.) It appears the lining is glued right at the mid-section and it has already come apart just above the interior pocket, after one month of using it. I use that pocket for my iPhone, nothing else.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Shell

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tand
Location: San Diego, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am allergic to polyester and wool so it was very difficult to find a jacket without this requirement because almost all the materials made, especially soft shell, contain some form or another. This was a pure nylon shell with some polyester mesh pockets on the inside which I removed easily. I wore this jacket in Seattle for the four rainy days that I was there and it kept me dry. I was most impressed with the hood design. It contoured my head perfectly keeping the brim above your eyebrows and sides from obscuring my peripheral visions. At 35°F and a 10 mph wind with just a shell and a thin long sleeve cotton shirt, I did feel a slight breeeze but this is expected of just a shell and with no insulation.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellent product but not happy with trims color choice

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sanjay
Location: NY
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought this jacket in color shark/shark. I am very pleased with functionality of this product but not happy at all with the choice of trims color. Velcro, zipper, zipper tab and sewing thread. They are not matching at all- are greenish- grey tone. In my opinion these should be close to shell color.
I would recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Rain Coat

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
TimC
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a Mountain Hardware jacket of this construction in the past. I'm referring to the Nylon outer and waterproof liner with taped seams. My previous jacket served me well for upwards of four years as a lightweight, packable, raincoat. However near the end of its life the waterproof liner began flaking off in high-wear areas. Mountain Hardware told me this is a manufacturing issue and they would be glad to replace it however I had long since lost proof of purchase and didn't bother.
With this new jacket I am saving my receipts and tags to hold them to that offer. I expect this new jacket to work the same way; excellent protection for several years and then I'll replace it. Basically, the quality of this construction is not permanent.
That said, I love the form, fit, and function of this jacket. The jacket fits just to my belt line and the cuffs falls right on my wrists. It is tailored to fit with a thin sweater underneath and this makes it a great everyday rain coat. I use it daily for commuting. The waterproofing is thin and breathable, I don't feel clammy after running for my train.
Bottom line: buy it, love it, use it, but expect to replace it after a few years of heavy use.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
tlaugh
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket after having an almost identical one from a competitor named after a mountain rodent lifted from my indoor soccer facility. For roughly the same price, this jacket has a better fit, better build quality, smarter features (the full velcro on the wrist closures is nice and makes sense, and the fully adjustable hood is mandatory for me) and is an overall solid value. It's a perfect minimalist shell - light, good feature set, super pack-able, tough and sheds water like crazy. It's not the most breathable shell but it performs well at the price point. Get one of these for your golf bag, fishing bag, backpack, rocket ship or hall closet. It's a workhorse.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable lightweight jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
estroud25
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a lighter, packable jacket to take on hikes and camping trips so I decided to order the Versteeg. Sheds water very well and breathes rather adequately. Fits very well, not constricting. Overall I am very pleased with it and is just what I was looking for
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great buy

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
mangoman
Location: Denver CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I recently sledded right into a clump of rose bushes, and the jacket came out fine. Very durable and nearly completely windproof. This jacket works great as a shell over middle layers.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shell.

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
jd2002
Location: Newark, DE
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lighter than I thought it would be. Requires at least one long sleeve layer underneath.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a champ

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blacky
Location: Smyrna, TN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Needed a rain jacket after my old one finally just wore out. Spent a week in Guatemala during the rainy season and it shed water like a champ, kept me warm while not smothering me to death. I am 5'8" and 155 pounds and a small fit me perfectly. Zippers worked smoothly and all stitching was perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute great jacket

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matthew
Location: Sparta, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time I picked it up I was astounded how light it was and I also like the way it feels... Almost like your naked but waterproof,lol, lucky for me it rained the next day so I put on a tee shirt with the jacket and went out, because you stay dry and the water rolls of like beads of mercury your always gonna be warm... It was bout 40-45 when I went out and was out for probably 30 mins and I stayed fairly warm, like room temp feel. So when I came in I shook around a little to shed of some of the water on the jacket and it was like rain never hit it already dry! In colder weather I would say a fleece under will keep you nice and toasty. The only reason I said it was a bit large is because I am only 14 and pretty small but for an older man it would fit great. so final word is I'm astounded with this jacket and look forward to buying from Mountain Hardware soon!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
HeadWoundHarry
Location: Richmond, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great light weight rain jacket. I used it once in the rain and the water just beads up and rolls off. I was a tad disappointed in the color. The green looks lighter than what is displayed on the site.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versteeg is the Best Shell I ever Owned

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
harrickg
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I skied 22 consecutive Mogul runs at Glenn Plake's annual bump competition in this jacket in 45 - 65 temps (F). This jacket is incredible. Kept me dry and let me sweat. It can hold tons of stuff in the pockets without restricting your movement. This is because of the tapering on the sides that causes a form fit. Front pocket is perfect for an ipod or phone. Absolutely love this jacket and can't wait to test it some more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lightweight rain jacket

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
11rusty11
Location: Ashland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. For such a lightweight jacket, it has a remarkable number of details, such as inside pockets, underarm vents and so on. I often fluctuate between XL and L and the large fit me fine, with room for a lightweight fleece as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal lightweight jacket

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
AvidTraveler
Location: Ohio, USA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this specifically because I needed a lightweight packable rain jacket for an upcoming overseas trip. In the short time I have had it, it has served me well in light and heavy rain. It is breathable, and has pit zips for venting. The deciding factor was the inner pocket with zipper. Ideal for concealing valuable items and keeping it dry.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Versteeg™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Outdoor Shell -- But Get One Size Larger

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
VandyCurt
Location: Memphis, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shell is extremely versatile and lightweight. I have used mine as an outer shell for alpine skiing and as a raincoat. This jacket is extremely well made -- the zippers and seams are all well done. The pockets, pit zips, and velcro sleeves are all great features and it is very easy to pack. My only problems were the overly tight fit (I own a XXL from an earlier year that still fits perfectly. MH clearly changed their sizing in recent years.) and the attached hood (detachable would be much better although the hood does roll up nicely). Overall, if you can get the correct fit, this is a great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.