Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Warlow™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Warlow™ Pant

Warlow™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warlow Pant in Alps

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarkNYC
Location: New York City
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It has only been used for one trip but I wore them for 5 days around the Monte Rosa in the Alps and they were great. Functional and comfortable. Kept me dry during a mist and light rain. Dried quickly. Warm in 20 F degree mornings and not too hot in the blazing sun.
Wish it had more than two front pockets. A zipped back pocket and another front pocket on thigh would make this an ultimate hiking/climbing pant. I would also like having a built in small belt.
Size of waste is larger than I require (34) but the long length is great. I bought a large.
All in all, very happy with them after this first set of climbs.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A highly technical pant

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theman
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pant was bought for xc skiing. The design gives ample room for unrestricted movement, the stretch of the fabric facilitates comfort. the fabrics are also windproof and light weight.
The fit is good. Recommend to purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Salig
Location: Bloomingotn, IN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
These pants are awesome. I took an alpinism course through the American Alpine Institute last summer and the pants held up just fine. I take these pants rock climbing, hiking and caving. They will last through some abuse. They will stretch slightly, but I think that is to be expected. I am also very skinny. I have 30 in. waste and wear a small. Totally worth it - if you wait for a sale :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hiking pant?

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
scoi89
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
After I purchased these I was a little skeptical about how they would perform in mildly wet conditions reading other people's reviews. I can attest, they are an amazing hiking pant. First time I wore them was also my first time up to camp Muir on Mt. Rainier, it was November 10th so there was a TON of snow up there already. It became white out conditions and snowed all day long but I didn't have to put on my shell pants or gaiters, my legs not only stayed very warm with just a base layer, but very dry as well. These pants are also very comfortable (I'm 6'3 and 175lbs, athletic build) I'm almost tempted to wear them as my everyday pants now. Yes, they are a little spendy but in the long run if you hike or climb a lot like myself these are totally worth it!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pant, one weakness.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
AARosie
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Good:
-Lightweight
-Super stretchy
-Fairly wind resistant
-Good fit
-Minimalist
-Belt loops
The Not So Good:
-Not very water resistant
I recently experienced some adverse weather on the Wattzmann traverse in southern Germany. I understand that softshells are not supposed to be waterproof and I don't expect that they will be. That said, I was surprised at just how fast my legs became completely soaked. I might as well have been wearing cotton pants.
This is entirely different than my experience with my MHW softshell jacket (model is no longer made but is comparable to G50 or Brono). The jacket is very nearly waterproof. Granted it is not as light weight, but I feel that a good softshell item should repel water well and only become saturated with prolonged exposure.
I am giving these pants an overall good review because I think they got the design aspect completely right. However if I am going to shell out this much for softshell pants I'd like to see more water resistance. Otherwise I'll just roll with a less expensive cotton pant and drag along a hardshell.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

solid design with room for some improvement

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
stric
Location: pdx
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Finally outdoor pants for us tall people. I tried these pants in their regular length and determined that - like so many similar outdoors products - they were too short. I decided to order a pair in long size (about 34”) and they were a perfect match. The design is minimalistic so there are only two front pockets and it would be nice if one side pocket on either left or right leg existed. So there is nothing hanging around, no straps, bulky pockets etc. Straight to the point, slim, stretchy and with adjustable leg opening to accommodate boots. Another nice feature is belt-loops. I don’t like outdoors pants that come with integrated belts (those belts are generally weak, don’t hold well and are rather annoying). You can use your own belt but beware that you cannot use wider belts. So if they could make belt loops a bit bigger so that wider belts can pass that would be great.
Color is charcoal gray, which is nice and neutral but a couple of other color options would be nice as well. Finally the price. At $150 they are a about twice as much as equivalent competitive products (for example by REI). Given that they are not convertible pants I don’t see how they can justify such a high price. Overall these are very good pants that can be great with a few small improvements and lower price.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product (though not fully tested yet!)

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Padvinder
Location: American living in Europe
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these specifically for an upcoming August trip to undertake the Fjallraven Classic in Sweden. Finding a pair of technical pants that I can get in a "short" (30" inseam) is tough but the ones I ordered (Med/Short) fit PERFECT. The materials and workmanship are top quality, and the "stretch" makes them non-restrictive and comfortable to boot.
I'll follow up after the trek and let give a more complete review after they've been fully tested (Function review is "good" only because I haven't really tested yet) - but I figure if they're good enough for Ueli Steck, they'll work great for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Warlow™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No frills

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Location: Mo
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This is nice pair of pants. tailored legs with zips are really nice. i like the new gusset in the crotch that MHW used. It just extends from the crotch to the knees and not all the to the cuff. its a heavier weight than most soft shells and is quite durable on rock and easy to move in. shells snow well also, even though i'd like a pocket on the leg, these are sweet
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orchid1
Napa, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Orchid1 is loaded.
Additional information about Orchid1 could not be loaded.
Awesome Pants
Posted July 28, 2012
Incredible stretch fabric. Best pair of outdoor pants I have ever bought. Hands down beats everything else I have ever tried. I am size 35 bought the medium and wear long johns underneath and they still fit. Glad I ordered one size less than I normally would. Normally I buy 36 but the large goes all the way to 38 and that's too big. I figured I would loose some weight but I didn't have to. I weigh 207 now and these work perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)