Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Refueler™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Men's Refueler™ Short

Refueler™ Short
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Refueler™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pair of shorts

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
crabtree598
Location: FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PROS: Good pair of shorts, quality product, comfortable, everything they're advertised to be.
CONS: they fit pretty big. I have a 34" waist and these are almost too big. my next pair will be a medium (ordered large)
- they're 5" inseam but fits more like a 7". I have multiple pairs of 7" shorts and these fit about the same as 7" inseam. the crotch hangs pretty low. I'm about 5'7" and they fall right at the top of my knee but the crotch is halfway down my thigh. much longer than I was hoping for, and sometimes impedes movement when trying to do squats.
- it would be nice to have a pocket on the outside of the shorts, even a small zipper pocket on the back would be nice.
They're very comfortable, the "shark" color is great. I'd probably order these again but I would go down a size and hope the crotch isn't too low.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No pocket, but nice and lightweight

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
ORrunner
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For their size (L) these shorts do fit a little loose, but the elastic drawstring is nice. I do wish the shorts had one back-facing hip pocket with velcro closure. I have a pair of Nikes with that and its a great spot for a few bucks and my ipod.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No pockets, I like pockets

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phatt1
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like these shorts, kinda wish it had pockets
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best general athletic short

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tallmountainsshortlegs
Location: WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the best exercise short out there. 7" is great for someone under 5'10" of average/athletic build, comes to the knee but not below. Doesn't feel soggy when soaked in sweat, and dries quickly with airflow. Ideal for running, biking, or any climbing where you won't be dragging a knee. Buy more than one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good running/workout shorts

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
dsr1811
Location: USA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Ive got long legs so the 9" inseam keeps me from looking too much like Magnum PI. It has one small pocket inside the front right about the size of a credit card. A cell phone size pocket middle rear could be nice and the material could be a little more stretchy. But they are very light and dry quickly. Thanks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to short for nearly everything athletic!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountaindobes
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these shorts. I wear them for running, hiking, yoga and nearly everything else athletic. I am very happy with the light weight and comfort. At first I wasn't thrilled with the built in brief but once I wore them I was pleasantly surprised with the comfort. It says they have reflective trim but I have yet to find it....All in al the are great shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shorts for hiking, biking, workout, etc.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
txcaley
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are great shorts for any kind of exercising. Great quality, very lightweight and really really comfortable. The 7 is perfect length for 5'6 - 5'7 guys as they will stop just above the kneecap. The liner is just right, like an extremely comfortable pair of boxer briefs sewn into the shorts. My only complaint would be that the key pocket is extrememly small, almost non-functional, even for just a key. Also, the fit is a little weird in that, at least on me, they tend to ride down in the back. In the gym or playing basketball I find myself having to pull them up to my waist in the back. This isn't a sizing issue but just the cut of the shorts I think. I have a couple pairs and it's the same with both of them. Just a minor gripe...these are terrific shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best running shorts I have found!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
hikergirlie
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is super picky and he loves these shorts! He is an an avid trail runner and likes a longer short that is still super light weight....these are the only ones that he has not tossed after one run! He has been wearing them for several weeks now and I haven't heard one complaint.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Short

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
etotherock
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfortable fit, without chafing. Would like a slightly larger pocket for credit card/ID.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difference sizing based on color.

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kirkookie
Location: Germany
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a black and grey pair in large. The black pair are great, but the grey pair are loose. The elastic in the grey pair seems non existant. I have to tie the inside tie to keep the shorts from slipping off of me. I'm torn in recommending . . . one pair fits great the other is not so great. Of course, I only have two data points to compare.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shorts or air?

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jade
Location: St. Louis, MO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After much (likely unnecessary) deliberation on what shorts to wear for the long and sweaty Appalachian Trail thru-hike – these were the winners.
I went with the 5" and my parter the 7" and both of us are very happy. The 5" are not quite as short as running shorts but nowhere near the knee. The 7" are more of a standard "relaxed" looking length.
The internal mesh underwear are neat and comfortable and will likely be doubling as actual underwear on the trail.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great running shorts

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeff50
Location: Crozet, VA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually have 3 pairs of these shorts. They are my go to shorts for training runs as well as the ultramarathons I run. 'They' say you should never wear brand new things in a race, but I wore a brand new pair of the Refuelers for an ultra (50K) last week and had absolutely no issues with them. They were great on the trail. Personally I like the 5 inch but also have a pair of the longer 2 in 1 Refuelers which are equally great running shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shorts

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philamanjarro
Location: Friendsville, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first day I wore these short I had to look down to make sure I was wearing something. They are that light and great fitting. Material seems to be of top quality. I plan on wearing them hiking this summer, they seem to be perfect for higher temps.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Shorts Are Awesome!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Owen
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some of the most versatile shorts I own and a must have for anyone who likes to get into adventures. They work great as running shorts but I actually really love them for swimming while I am on climbing trips. They are practically all I wore (besides my other MHW shorts) on my honeymoon trip to Mallorca. I was able to bounce around from swimming, climbing (epic deep water soloing), strolling the city, and riding bikes without having to switch up clothes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Refueler Shorts

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mpone
Location: Madison, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very lightweight, well made, breathable shorts. They're perfect for running. I just bought two more because I liked the first pair so much. Absolutely no sign of wear after 6+ months of use of my first pair. No pockets - so if you've got to have pockets, buy something else. I'm 5', 6.5", 170 pounds and the large with 7" inseams has been a good size, though I might be able to get away with a medium.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Miss the trunk-style liner!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ultrafreaks
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Excellent construction. Great fabrics. Good fit.
I purchased the 7" inseam Refueler. I have some older MH running shorts (also the Refueler I think) that have a longer, trunk style (like a bike short) liner which I prefer over the brief style liner. It provides better protection against chafe and eliminates any tendency for the shorts to ride up in the crotch.
Only other comment is that the fit could be improved by using a differential cut on the waistband - a bit higher in back. For me anyway, the Refueler tends to work its way down in back while running.
Otherwise a great running short. An excellent choice for ultra distance running or as an alternate, light weight pair of shorts for thru-hiking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for what I wanted!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
volcanovaulter
Location: Asia-Pacific-Americas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I wanted in an all-around activity short. I will buy several more pairs!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
kplazencia
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a lightweight pair of shorts for functional physical training, and decided to try these. Nothing I hate more than skimpy runner's shorts or long basketball style shorts. I got the 7" inseam and these were perfect. Just the right length for running and intense gym activity, and great wicking material. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Refueler and UltraRefueler

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
TF78
Location: New England
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I own several pairs of Refueler and UltraRefueler both are good shorts. I have worn the ultrarefueler for several 100 mile races in 2012. They are a super light, quick drying breathabel short. The one area of improvement that I think Mountain Hardwear can make in the area of running or trail running shorts is to have a split short similiar to a what other brands do have and to have a pockets on the hip areas that are deep. The pocket that exists on a UltraRefueler is ok but can be significantly improved. Most people with stash a bar, gel, scaps and the pockets need to be deep so the items do not bounch out and not many companies understand this concept.
Getting back to the review both types of shorts are functional and do what they need to do in the world of trail running shorts but Mountain Hardwear can improve these shorts significantly with the suggetions above.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Refueler™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fit

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam44
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own several different types/brands of running hiking shorts. I love the fit and the cut of these shorts the most. I have a 33" waist and bought the Mediums. I went with the 9" inseam and love how it's not too short and not too long. Very light and quick-drying. I just wish they had pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.