Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak

Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
10 out of 13(77%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
OldTimber
Location: Tabernash, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Large size fit too close on my in-shape torso to allow wearing even a vest underneath. A true anorak fits loosely and comes well below the waist which this one does not.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used on Kilimanjaro

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
siriuspics
Location: Los Angeles
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I gotta say how practical this Anorak is. I usually just keep the jacket in my camera bag or my briefcase for light travel needs. It's saved my butt on planes that can't regulate their ac properly, chilly days when I'm delayed outside or I just need a little extra if my body is exhausted from travel. But I took it on a trip to Kilimanjaro a couple of weeks ago and it proved the perfect breaker for the chilly winds under a blistering sun. I tried my North Face wind jacket and it was too hot for trekking, same even with fleeces. This was just perfect. In fact I wore a light fleece, this and a down jacket to the summit. I kept the down jacket unzipped and even in -15c I had my hat off, light gloves the 25 knot winds didn't touch my core. I'm a big fan. I am getting another just for my travel bag.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Expensive

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sucker4MagazineAd
Location: Bellingham, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Was hoping this would be a great windbreaker, but color "white" is really transparent. Not a good value for the price. Dissappointed that it looks like inexpensive rain jacket from discount camping store.
I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Insurance Policy

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
quartzmo
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm not sure this is a jacket so much as an insurance policy for surprises. If I actually think I'm going need a jacket, I bring the Patagonia Houdini or the Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket (see my review). Since I bought this jacket, I've been throwing it in my pocket or hydration pack when I DON'T think I'll need it, and once or twice it's saved me from a chilly wind. It appears to be waterproof (breathability doesn't strike me as great, if that's proof), but I haven't actually worn it in the rain yet. Note that there is no hood.
It wouldn't be my first investment for drier climates like Utah, but I remember a stretch of rock climbing in Switzerland with many wet rappels where it would have been so nice to have.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome so far

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigFish
Location: California
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was amazed at how light and thin this jacket is when it arrived. I've used it on about five bike rides so far to shied me from the wind, rain and cold. So far so good. has kept me dry and actually not too hot, meaning it seems to breathe well.
To put into context my rides have been 30-50 miles each in the Mid Atlantic. I will be using it in N. California soon where I expect it to great because it packs so small and is so light I can use it for all the different weather conditions I experience on a ride.
My only concern so far is will it hold up. Looks pretty strong and not a single issue yet. I have simply not had it long enough or used it enough to be able to give it a highest rating on quality.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightest shell I have ever worn

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Royrunner
Location: New Hope Pa
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shell is amazing, light as a feather and very comfortable. I run outdoors every day all year long. Even after a 1 1/2 hr run, this shell is still comfortable while sweating. Freaky thin and well made.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too minimal

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
crampon
Location: seattle washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
this one goes too far in the wrong direction. cuffs seem weak, fit is a bit small, overall quality seems too lack. it's over priced for what it is - should have had some better attention to detail such as stronger seams and or more substantial elastic at the cuffs. it's sleek and slim - packs super tight/small but is so thin i wouldn't expect it to last very long.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket rocks

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoke14
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use it for all kinds of activities here in the interior of Alaska and love it!!! I dont know that I would wear it under a big pack, but have used it under a day pack with no issues. I used it on Mount Healey the other day and the wind was blowing 20 with gust to 30 and it stopped the wind and chill right in its tracks I pack it on every trip I take!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a Second Layer of Skin!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JeffH
Location: Salt Lake City
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing jacket, fits in any pocket, super lightweight, waterproof, windproof. Amazing piece of technology.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing. Best trail running jacket out this year

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wired2Run
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this shortly after it came out this year. It's taken the place of many other running jackets. First it breaths VERY well. I've used it here in Utah during snow storms and rain early on this spring / summer. No problem over heating on long mountain runs and it's kept me dry even with a pack on. I've found it feels best with a very light weight long sleeve shirt but still feels great with a short sleeve T. The ability of this jacket to pack so small makes it the best. I can put it in a small pocket on my running pack and not have to worry about the weight.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
timoutwest
Location: Cortez, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great layer to have in your pack or pocket. (folds down to the size of a deck of cards) Not sure how I active I think I'll be in the jacket. I've ran in it and sweat builds up. It doesn't breath well. However, if you're not running / riding, it's a great layer if you're at camp and need to shed wind. I held my arm under water for 60 seconds and not a drop made it's way through. So I'm happy with how well it repels water. I'd recommend this product. Keep up the good work MH.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ghost Whisperer Anorak

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
TF78
Location: New England
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket as soon as it became available in early February. I have been wearing this jacket during evening runs in Massachusetts were it has been a mild winter. This jacket does an excellent job of retaining heat, but you do need to unzip as you become too warm. Sweat can build up and there might be some "stick" to your skin from the material. I have found that his jacket can be warm with a short sleeve layer underneath down to around 20 degrees if not very windy. The jacket is not noticeable while wearing and does fit into a pocket, hip belt, pack without any problem. The jacket fits into its own pocket, but cut the tag to make it easier. This jacket is excellent for running, key is to stay moving and you will be warm. I would not trust this jacket in winter conditions above treeline, but during evening spring, summer and fall runs this jacket is excellent. I only hope Mountain Hardwear keeps making the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Anorak
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Appropriately named

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Boone NC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for. Mega Ultra light but blocks wind and sheds light rain. For those days when you just might need another layer but don’t want the hassle of having to tie something around your waist or carry a pack. You’ll hardly even notice this in your pocket! Would be perfect for biking, good for hiking or throwing in your golf bag. (disc or ball).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.