Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant

Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Review 1 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not that trim-fitting

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juticalpense
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a pair of "athletic" / "trim" / "slimmer" fit hiking pants and I thought these would do it. The stretch fabric is great and knees above fits well, but knees down they're too loose for my taste. Even if they were to trim-up the lower part of the pants legs you could still wear long underwear under them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect except for baggy hips

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
LakeNomad
Location: Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are superb, warm/hot weather hiking pants. The integral, side-pull belt is a unique, useful feature that makes the pants much more comfortable. Bear in mind, these are not what most of us think as "softshell" pants. The material is thin and light. Strong enough to last, but not for cool/cold weather. I wear them in the desert, in summer. One suggestion for MH: These pants are true to size except for a noticeable bag at the hips. This is true of all three pairs I have. It would be easy to tailor these to be more form fitting. They'd look much better and lose no functionality. As it is, I'll have to pay to tailor them myself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I expected

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
OregonSkier
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting, durable and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Travel pant

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
AuntiB
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and attractive. My husband got them for a safari and they were perfect for that type of travel, and they will also be his new, improved hiking pant. With 3 lengths to choose from, they are a perfect fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy 2

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
KJ84
Location: Okinawa JP
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought 4 of these pants for a trip with work and they performed perfectly. Out of all of the things that they could have gotten snagged on during the 2.5 mile hike in and out of our dig site they didn't tear. They dried off almost immediately after I stopped digging and repelled rain as well as could be expected. They are perfect pants for what I needed. They out performed several other brands that were present. I have recommended them and the brand to all of the digging team.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great climb/trek pant, pockets meh

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Drewbles
Location: Birmingham, AL
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had these pants for a few weeks now and I've put them through the paces. Mostly climbing and hiking as well as casual wear. They are very light weight, comfortable, and durable, but the only problem I have is the pockets. They are all zipper pockets(which is rather unnecessary) and there locations are somewhat strange. No back pocket.
That aside they are really good pants
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Lightweight Trail Pant

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeeper
Location: Breckenridge Co
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very ligh fabric great for warm weather. True fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Hiking Pants

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheDude34
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got back from a backpacking trip up to Mount Whitney and these pants performed perfectly! These pants are awesome. I have been searching for pants like these for years and I have finally found the perfect hiking pant. The stretchiness makes them super comfortable to wear all day in any activity. They breath very well and keep you pretty cool but also block wind and help keep you a little warm when the temperature drops. The fit is excellent and these are the first pair of hiking pants I have found that actually look cool to wear. They are more of an athletic fit (not to tight, not to loose) and the ankle opening is big enough to fit over boots. The material seemed to hold up well while hiking in the rugged eastern Sierra Nevada. I definitely recommend these pants...they are well worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pants, but maybe a quality issue

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
JMMM
Location: NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had these pants for 5 months now and I love them. They're super lightweight and comfortable, BUT the pocket on the right thigh has came unglued.
On the plus side, I called customer service and within a few minutes got a return authorization to have them repaired, so we will see how they hold up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent hiking/climbing pants

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
irar
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've worn these pants twice now which is not much but does give me a good feel for how they perform. The first time I wore them was bicycling in the rain. I was pleasantly surprised at how fast they dried on me shortly after I came inside. I didn't take them off so they dried very quickly while wearing them.
The second time i wore them was on a snow climb in the cascades. We were going up and down some very steep snow and climbing up rock at times. The stretch in the pants is excellent and the pants were very comfortable for the entire day.
Now the one thing I think could be improved is the size of the openings for the pockets and the fly. I have small hands and the opening is still a bit tight for me. This is particularly annoying for the fly. Just don't understand why they have to be so small.
Overall, i really like the pants and they will become my summer hiking pants when it's not warm enough for shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Trekking Pants

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric5
Location: Bishop, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are fantastic trekking pants. I spent two weeks traveling around Peru and trekking in the Andes. They are very durable comfortable, and lightweight. They resist stains and dry quickly. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative to jeans

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorf
Location: Minneapolis
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband wanted some pants that were a good alternative to denim. These pants are exactly what he wanted. Fit good, look great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fav MtHardWear Bottoms so far

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Theophilus
Location: N Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As an avid MtHardWear user, these are by far my fav pants yet! Very light weight, sturdy, and the 4-way stretch is fantastic! Love them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Rifugio™ Trek Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not What I Expected

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
cornellb20
Location: Menomonie, WI
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting these pants to be much like the Ridgetops and they were in fact nothing alike, I was very sad to see the ridge tops go. The fabric is not very stretchy and is also paper think. It feels like a pair of Mesa's. The side pockets are very shallow. The pants are comfortable but for the material and lack of function, they are not worth the money.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.