Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Short

Piero™ Short
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Piero™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The body may break, but these shorts never will

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Moose, WY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When hiking and climbing I get in the routine of bringing only the few bits of gear and clothing I can trust and know to be comfortable no matter the situation. These shorts will forever stay in my arsenal and I am going to buy another pair!
To me, these shorts are fitted and sorta styled just like a pair of Carhartt's work khakis (which I love!). The material is just as thick, but completely different and able to shed water and stretch. The crotch has a ton of room too and you can actually squat comfortably when building your campfire or when making those high heel hooks.
And they are so durable while not sacrificing breath-ability! I hiked and bushwacked for 2 weeks in Dolly Sods with these shorts and they still don't have a scratch or torn seam on them!
Incredible job Mountain Hardware, don't get rid of these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

#doublelegit

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Naples, Italy
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have three pairs of the Piero pants so I decided to test out the shorts for the upcoming summer in California. These shorts are wonderful. They are comfortable, water resistant, and durable. I am 5'10 and they ride right at my knee. Wish they were a little bit shorter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wrinkle free and comfortable

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whether it be the Piero shorts or pants if you like wrinkle free, comfortable, durable and nice looking you will truly like this product. My husband would wear only these if I would "let" him. ;-) Great product!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have...for the rough trail and rocky mt

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: South Korea
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The long shorts help when you need coverage going thru trees and the durability make it easy to maneuver up the MT. Is very water resistant and dry so fast.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shorts!

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Nashville TN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts fit a little large, however are perfect for the trail. Just got back from a three day hike with these and I must say everything is designed the way that it should be.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best for Casual Use

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Workmanship and Quality are first rate, like everything from Mountain Hardwear. Plus the pocket features, and unique Shark Color are great. However, even though the waist size was a true fit, I found the thigh to be a little restrictive, and would have appreciated a slightly roomier cut for the quad, since the product description does mention active use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Park City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought two pairs for my husband, and he loves them. The side pocket fits his Samsung phone, the fabric is sturdy and durable, and the fit is very nice. The additional zip pocket is very useful. Great shorts, only wish the Bone color had been available.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite shorts

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a pair of Piero pants for years, and I have been impressed by their comfort, function, versatility, and durability. They look good too. The shorts are the exact same, and are in fact cut with the same pockets, tool loop, and chalk-bag loop as the Piero pants from a couple years ago, before the style was updated. I bought the "Shark" color in size 31, and they fit great. (I normally buy size 31 or 32 waist.) I like the length too: I am 6'00", and they hit me in the center of my kneecaps, though I have shorter legs. I plan to buy more colors when they're in stock. My only grip with these shorts is that the pocket material is kind of fleecy-- it makes the shorts kind of warm, and my iPhone almost always has a damp screen when I pull it out of my pocket; this feature probably also makes the pockets ideal for NOT scratching up a cell-phone screen, so this is a win/lose.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to shorts

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Porltand, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these short. My only problem is that they don't come in more colors. Nice solid build and excellent fit for my lanky frame
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Shorts

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, rugged, durable and stylish...I bought my 1st pair at Dick's Sporting Goods and liked them so much I went online to buy the 2 other colors of the same short.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Shorts but a little too long

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Washington, DC Area
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would like these shorts much better if they came with the choice of lengths. The length is a little long for my taste but other than that these are a great pair of shorts. They seem like they will last a long time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Short lenght

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Dearborn Heights, Mi
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shorts fit great , I have 3 colors the length of the short is the issue. Per the add at mountain Hardware inseam length is 12" the short should be 10 or 11".I am 6' 2" and 210 lbs of muscle . By the way why did you up date only 2 color with a button at the top at the waist line. The other color have snaps button at the waist.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, except for the pockets

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: San Antonio, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are really nice shorts. I'm 6'3" 175 lbs.. I appreciate the 12" inseam and that MH offers them in a 33" waist. My only issue is with the hand pockets. They are a little small and they use the soft, felt like material that is used around the inside waistband. Around the waistband it feels nice, but in the pockets it snags on any sharp corner of your finger nails or pointy piece of dry skin along the finger nail.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit and comfort, bullet proof fabric, front pockets spill

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have both the shorts and regular legged version of these pants and absolute love them. They are my new "jeans". The fabric is bullet proof and extremely comfortable. The only negative is that if you sit on the ground or lay down, items will spill out of the front pockets.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too long, too thick

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
perhaps i didn't do my homework on these shorts but they are longer than i expected. I am 5' 11", 180, these shorts drop at or below my knees which is longer than i had hoped for. I was looking for a lighter weight stretch material, these are a fairly thick material, certainly durable but not as cool as I had hoped considering Las Vegas summer conditions. Good shorts, just not what i was looking for.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO WRINKLES

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves these shorts not only for their quality and fit but because they just don't wrinkle. He can wear them while drive for long periods of time and when he gets out of the car he is wrinkle free. I think these would be the only shorts he'd own if he didn't have others in his closet already. A fabulous product.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Piero men's shorts

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Location: Newburyport, MA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
The other reviews on this product were right on - especially when I read another review on these shorts before I purchased a pair about someone who has a 36 waist normally and the shorts were too big. So I ordered the size 34 for my husband who is a 36 and the 34 waist size in this pair of shorts was perfect. My husband is thin and 6'2 ''and the shorts look really sharp on him!!! I wish they had a pair like these for women!!!. Generally we love Mountain Hardware if there are plenty of pockets and zippers with shorts or pants since he bikes and this way wallets and money don't fall out. I wish it came in more colors too!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of Shorts

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Location: BK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent, solid pair of shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super comfortable and look really good too.

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Location: OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super comfortable and look really good too.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Piero™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peiro

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Location: KY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own several pairs of the Piero pants and was excited to get a pair of the shorts. I will say that the shorts are just as nice as the pants. The side poscket on the shorts are slightly larger than on the pants. The sizing feels like it is one size bigger in the shorts. I would like to see them in Forest.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.