Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Nilas™ Down Mitt

Mountain Hardwear Nilas™ Down Mitt

Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 8(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Review 1 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept me warm in Yellowstone Winter!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
BraddockBayGirl
Location: Upstate NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore these paired with polartec mitten liners to Yellowstone Park for 2 weeks in February and my hands were incredibly warm as toast. These were truly like down sleeping bags for your hands. These kept me totally comfortable in below zero temps and gusty winds while outside for hours at a time.
I used these for x-country skiing, snowshoeing and hiking and I couldn't be happier with how they performed. In addition, the quality is excellent and I love the fact that they are windproof, waterproof and have good grip on the palms.
My only complaint is the sizing for woman. I had a terrible time getting the right fit as the sizing charts and customer support were not correct or helpful. I finally wound up ordering multiple pairs to get the right fit. I normally wear a men's small (I am a woman) but these run large. The men's XS fit but even these were roomy. With the polartec liners, they fit fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm, but bulky

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick75
Location: Nashville, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These mittens kept my hands warm from 2 to 20 degrees Fahrenheit. Below 2 my hands were cold, and above 20, my hands started to sweat. At -6 degrees (in Canada), my fingertips became painful. Though they kept my hands warmer than other mittens, their bulkiness made it difficult to get my hands through the straps on my cross-country ski poles.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This item lived up to its expectations

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Superbowl48
Location: Michigan
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Originally bought these mittens for me and my husband to wear at the Super Bowl. With all the forecasted cold weather for an open air Super Bowl I wanted to make sure we had proper protection from Mother Nature. I did not end up using my mittens but my husband did and they did their job. When we got home we had 6-8 inches of snow and I used my mittens for shoveling the snow in 19 degree temps and they did not let me down. Nice and toasty warm,
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm. So dry. So light. Brilliant product.

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
OutdoorMatt
Location: Ontario, Canada
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've worn these mittens in some truly freezing conditions, and they stand up to the test. It's currently -40 C outside and the wind is blowing hard. Inside these mitts, my hands are toasty warm and dry. You don't feel any wind, rain, snow or cold - your hands are in a warm cocoon of their own inside these mitts. I must also add that I have extremely sensitive hands when it comes to the cold; I've had frostbite on two occasions and it is not pretty. I've tried various other mitts and gloves in the past, and they are nowhere near as good as this product. The first thing you will note when you take them out of the pack is how light they are. You almost don't even notice you are wearing them, which is a great sign for any outdoor clothing. They are totally windproof and totally waterproof. Even when wearing them in snow and rain, nothing gets through. The OutDry material is amazing, and breathes as well as it keeps you dry. They are generously packed with down - more than any other mitts I have worn. The surface that covers your palms has a nice, dimpled texture that enables you to have good dexterity and grip even though that you are wearing a mitt. Although these mitts have stood up to some pretty extreme outdoor adventures, they also look simple and clean enough to wear on my daily commute to work. The draw cord mechanism works smoothly every time, and is cleverly designed so that you can operate it with your other hand even when wearing a mitt. The only slight negative is that they fit a little on the large side. I went with the Large, as per the sizing instructions, but I think a Medium would be a better fit for me. Overall, another great product from MH.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely BIG Very Disappointed

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
xcski
Location: Chadds Ford, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a women, I generally can buy a XS Men's mitten and it fits fine. I ordered the extra small and when it arrived it was more like an XX Large. My husband usually wears a size Large but they were even too big for him. I was very disappointed since I had been looking for a warm mitten for backcountry XC Skiing. The product itself looks great just what I was looking for.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, warm and lightweight mitts!!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
OBie
Location: St. Louie
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these mitts! They are super light weight and compress down way small. Would not think twice about throwing them in my day pack for a winter hike. These things are like a light weight sleeping bag for your hands. The are super warm. The fit is such that they are a bit bulky on your hands, so these are not for doing tasks that require fine dexterity or small tasks. These dudes are for keeping your digits warm.
Super great construction and materials. Over all a great piece of cold weater gear for your kit
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Light

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
PNWphotographer
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great mittens. I used them in the Artic and they worked great with light liners under them. Very light weight and compressible for travel. These mittens did the trick at -15 degrees.. They are toasty warm.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new mittens!

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom4
Location: Boulder, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these mittens! I have been looking for the perfect pair of down mittens for years and feel like I finally found them. I use them for everything. The are light weight warm and cozy . I am an older, very outdoorsy, female. I know these are men's mittens but I could not find any female ones anywhere.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nilas™ Down Mitt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Down Mitten but...

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Price25
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a wonderful down mitten for the cold Alaskan winters, but I was perplexed to find that they stapled right through their Dry-Q fabric near the cuff to attach the product tag. It's not a huge deal but as we all know, down escapes all holes, no matter what the size. They should inform the employee (or alter the machine) that attaches the product tag, to attach it to something else other than through the mitt itself.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.