Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket

Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Fleece

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRHut
Location: NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got this yesterday and already I love it. It's great by itself to wear around town or under a shell for hiking/skiing. I wore this as a stand alone in 30 degree weather and was perfectly comfortable. My only complaint is that MHW doesn't make this in more colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great ...but

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Richard111
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have three of these jackets. Why? They are warm and comfortable. Very comfortable. The medium fits me snugly. I would recommend them highly but I am docking one star because one of the jackets has a poorly sewn seam inside. It is right beside the zipper so when you zip the jacket up or down it gets caught in the zipper and then I have to wrestle with it to get it open. Its a clear QC oversight and very, very annoying. My black one has this issue. The green one and the blue one have no such problems and deserve 5 stars. In a nutshell its an expensive light jacket but worth it for comfort and warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very warm fleece, so soft on the inside

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
dweb
Location: Savannah, GA
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very happy with this fleece. It is very warm. I love the thick monkey fleece on the inside. Very soft feeling. I am 6' 0" and skinny, 145 pounds. The medium fits me perfect if I am wearing a t-shirt underneath. A rain coat over this will keep me warm and dry all winter long here in Georgia.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is one warm fleece.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
JackShellac
Location: Beaver Dam, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the athletic fit and I am glad that I didn't order a small with my thinner 5-9, 145lb frame. With the medium, the arms are definitely long enough and not saggy with too much fabric, but maybe a bit snug and the fit is just right in the shoulders. The monkey fleece on the inside is warmer than and the outside tight fleece blocks the wind better than my 200 weight fleece. I thought the panels on the inside of the arms and torso would cool the fleece down too much in the wind, but the micro fleece inside the panels help make it a non-issue. It's a great looking jacket with simple, clean details.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fits perfect!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dcrux
Location: California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit, style, and comfort are great. I am 5'9 150lbs and the medium fits like it was tailor made for me. Just a little disappointed to see that its made in China-
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy is Cool!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
NewEnglandMountaineer
Location: Boston
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have gone through a number of fleece jackets and this is by far the most "cozy". This is basically Monkey Man on the inside but a tighter fleece on the outside which is great since my shell slips over it a lot easier. Pulling this guy on is like an embrace by a big furry bear, but in a nice way!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monkey Jacket Without the External Fur

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Budge72
Location: Plano, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the original Monkey Man Jacket. In fact, I have 2 (the jacket and the pullover with stretch sides). But honestly, I use the Monkey Man mostly as a layering piece under a shell or another jacket for added warmth. When I do wear the Monkey Man without a shell, I get some very interesting comments from people. :) I also notice that the Monkey Man isn't very windproof on it's own.
So I was very surprised when I received the Dual Fleece Jacket. It has the "monkey fir" on the inside, but a super soft fleece on the outside. I haven't gotten to wear it in the cold yet, but it seems that it would be a bit more wind resistant due to the solid exterior fleece.
I'm 6 ft tall, 170 lbs, 40 reg chest and the medium fits me very well. This is much more of a jacket to me than the Monkey Man. It hangs nicely around the waist as well. I can wear it around town and around camp.
The only dislike I have is that there is no monkey fir underneath any of the black areas on the jacket. So the two flanks and the insides of both arms have only the one layer of fleece.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite fleece

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
bentleyfor3
Location: Kansas City
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this fleece/jacket to replace a full zip from another company. Absolutely love it. I wear it skiing, outdoor and general casual. Wore it skiing in CO last weekend over a base layer, the MHW microfleece and under the MHW Girdwood jacket. I stayed warm, comfortable and ease of movement was terrific. Weather was between 5F-25F with wind gust up to 30mph+ - no issues. I also wore it out to restaurants at night with temps < 15F and was quite comfortable for short stints outside and too/from car. May get a little toasty once inside. Styling in my opinion is very nice. Functional with hand pockets, interior and front zip. I have the black. Highly recommend this for versatility, functionality and style. L size is perfect at 6'2" and 180 lbs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm Jacket, just needs a little more

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Midwest
Location: Central Illinois
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been looking for years to replace an 11-year-old MH windstopper fleece that had perfect blend of warmth and windstoping power. Thought Dual Fleece might be it despite lack of windstopper. Love the low key exterior (MH monkey man fur is a little much for my taste) and its warmth. Very soft jacket and comfortable and warm in moderate temps. Except for the stretch panels. My outdoor work sometimes becomes more stationary than active. Wind cuts right through the stretch panels and even under a shell, doesn't retain enough heat to keep me warm. Hate to return it but I need a warm layer.
I'm 5'10 about 150. MH mediums are sometimes too long in the sleeve and w/ a lean build, a little bulky in the middle. I thought I'd try a small - this fit was snug on the arms and a litte tight across moderately broad shoulders.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Missed the mark

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeBe
Location: Portland Or.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Wish there was more of the duel fleece. The stretch panels on sides and under the arms are not warm, and what's up with the extra seam on the inside of the stretch portion of the arms. A small zipper vent in the pit or a small gusset with the stretch material would be better. The size of the neck is to small and I do not have a huge neck. I like a collar to cover the back of my neck and I felt that it could have been taller. I do really like the the duel fleece material. I wanted a super warm fleece for layering but ended up with a jacket that just doesn't have enough warmth in the core. This a nice jacket, and over all a good moderate wether coat and fits nicely under a shell.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fleece jacket

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jg27
Location: Bay ARea
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and good quality. Snug fit. Only drawback is that the collar doesn't want to lie flat. Keeps popping up . Maybe over time it'll settle down...Overall a good casual jacket for a mild climate.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
JonathonT
Location: Northern CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket. The monkey phur on the inside feels great but I think this jacket is much better looking than the one with monkey phur on the outside. Very warm, easy to move in, nice weight, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and Warm

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DaveR
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a stellar jacket as either an outer layer or insulation. The fit is true, but athletic (fitted). The material has good stretch and allows for ample movement. This jacket works well as an outer layer for a high tempo activity like snowshoeing and also makes for a great insulating layer under a hardshell.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Present for boyfriend

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
jessica367
Location: tumbuktu
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I wanted the North Face version of this jacket but after reading reviews, I purchased this one. It's built well and has clean lines and my boyfriend wears it every day. I would recommend it for anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as expected

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
JimG
Location: Quantico, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Soft fleece with fur-style lining; stretch performance fabric along the sides allow this jacket to be worn as a sub-layer during active events. Size, color & quality were all as expected.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just plain warm

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Timbiac
Location: Henderson, Ky
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
\This is my favorite Mt. Hardwear piece of outdoor wear I have. This meets more than I was prepared for in warmth and quality. Just another great product from this company. the jacket is true to fit i am 6' ,210lbs order XL no issues at all with fit. The jacket is super soft and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JRBO
Location: Lansing, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The absolute smartest design for a base layer fleece jacket ever!!!!
Warmth and extra fuzziness where you need it (back and shoulders) and thinner throughout the inside arms and ribcage - brilliant design. Super comfy and warm. Throw a shell over it and your are good to go in 90% of conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT JACKET

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikenyc
Location: New York ,NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket!
Very warm!
I have worn this jacket in NYC when the temp was between 40F - 45F . Fully zipped up with a basic tshirt underneath and I was warm!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fleece

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
KerryQ
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super fleece jacket. Medium fits my 5'8" 155lb frame just fine. Like the slight tail on the back hem so it doesn't ride up when hiking, wa;lking, etc. Fuzzy inside is just right on cool days. Very functional jacket. Great to layer or stand alone. Use it for commute to work (walking many blocks from the train) and for weekend exercising in cool mornings.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Dual Fleece™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Infinity722
Location: Bowling Green, OH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best Fleece Jacket I have ever worn. The fit is absolutely perfect. I'm 6'1" 170lbs, a 32" waist, and I went with a medium. With how wide my back is, I've always struggled finding jackets that fit my chest/back yet aren't baggy around my waste. This product solved all my issues. With the stretch panels on the side, The fleece fits perfect and not too tight. This fit allows the jacket to do what it's designed to do, keep you warm. The Monkey fleece on the inside is the softest, warmest, most plush fleece I've ever seen in a jacket. I wore this in 45-50 degree weather as an outer layer and was more than comfortable. For rainy, windy, and much colder days, I wear it under a large MH Ampato jacket for unsurpassed comfort and protection from the elements. Stop thinking about it and buy this jacket; you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.