Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket

Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for just about anything.

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruck30
Location: Pennsylvania
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second Principia jacket I bought in the past two years. I live in Pennsylvania where we get all types of weather and this jacket is great for the country or city especially in the "in between" seasons where my Ghost Whisperer is just a little too much and the Onata is too light - Yeah I'm addicted to Mountain Hardwear gear. ha!
I have one for work, and one for the outdoors - day hikes, camping, fishing etc... Great fit, great functionality, very flexible, and stylish. I wear an XXL am 6'2", 235lbs, perfect fit ,- if it helps 48L jacket, 18" neck, 36-37 sleeve; highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Do Everything Jacket

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
stoneyunit
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for skiing on warm days and backpacking. What I found is this jacket not only skied really well but it was so versatile that I could wear it right from the mountain to the office. I'm very impressed with it's fit and feel and I highly recommend this jacket for anyone looking for an alternative to a shell jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the Best Jackets

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bmays22
Location: Norman, OK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found this product on sale, and it claimed to be wind and water proof. It can support both of those claims. The jacket is used in Oklahoma, which is very windy, and it works very well. It is lightweight, but still gets the job done, just like it claims.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Mid-layer!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Khowe765
Location: Knoxville, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is the most perfect mid-layer/softshell out there! I tried the Thermostatic, but I wasn't impressed with the sizing (ran big and looked "frumpy"), nor the integrity of the outer material. The principia has the characteristic slim-fit, which I've come to love from MH, and I completely trust it's outer material, very tough and water-resistant. The Principia can be worn as a top-layer in sub-32 degree weather if you have good layering underneath, or can be worn as a true mid-layer under heavier jackets in super-low temps at high altitudes. I'm 5'7" 145lbs, and the Small fits perfect. The Principia is comfortable, stylish, functional, and warm - everything you need in a great mid-layer.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Khowe765
Knoxville, TN
 
Please wait while more information about Khowe765 is loaded.
Additional information about Khowe765 could not be loaded.
Posted January 28, 2014
Climbing in Tennessee in 23 degrees in the Principia. Perfect for those brisk climbing days. After the climb, on the ground, I would usually put a heavier jacket on over the Principia.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase for a light, suprisingly warm jacket.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
eriqo
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I thought would be more of a "shell-type" jacket is actually fairly warm and cozy with the fleece-lined interior. It's pretty well constructed, fits well, and feels good on. Quality material too.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Jacket

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
SAK799
Location: North Dakota
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As all other reviews said it is not as thick as one would think by looking at the pic online. I still love the jacket. It is very nice and looks great. I don't wear extremely heavy jackets in winter even though I live in North Dakota and it gets really cold here. I will probably buy a cheap fleece that matches to put under it when it gets really cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike2013
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket if you plan on layering, it seems to do really good to break to cold wind and the large hood fits perfect over my helmet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect all around jacket

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
dcshockley
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good technical jacket with a hood. It is increasingly hard to find jackets with built in hoods these days. Good fit. Not too tight or too loose. It is a little large on me but I have long arms and broad shoulders so I end up with stuff too big to fit my frame. Pack-able and full of functions. It is going to be my new all around jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
RockyMtnOrbea
Location: Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Jacket. One recommendation: Make the pockets higher. If I wanted to wear a pack, the pockets would be under the waist belt.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

principia

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Curtles
Location: AL
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket overall! Fit true to size, just a little snug under the armpits. Wear over thin mid-layer. Thicker and warmer than I expected. Would like to see the velcro cuffs be smaller and trimmer. For the price a GREAT Soft Shell!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
HolasG
Location: Houston, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A co-worker of mine recommended this jacket to me. He called it the single best article of clothing he'd ever purchased. I couldn't agree more.
It's light, but has held up the last several weeks to some chilly, windy, rainy mornings. I'm in Houston, and it's the perfect jacket for fall or spring. Excellent.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great mid-layer

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JaredBSA
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this jacket a little over a month ago, and have had no issues. I'm 6'1" 180, and a Large was a perfect fit, even with a couple lighter layers underneath. Climbing in this jacket is a breeze. My harness fit great over it, and could still move my arms freely. Hood just barely fit over a helmet, and I couldn't zip up all the way. We had temps in the 40's and wind gusts 15-20mph, and it cut the wind pretty well. I wouldn't have this by itslef in any winds much higher, though. Used it on a crack climb with lots of hand jams; the cuffs and arms held up with no scuffs or tears. Bottom line: I recommend this jacket as a great mid-layer on cold trips, and it looks great around town, too.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket.

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alan
Location: Yakima, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a nice jacket, I was expecting it to be a bit thicker and warmer but works great as a mid layer especially under a rain jacket.
My friends like it and one other has already bought one after trying mine on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decent but not great.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
kss04003
Location: Billings, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I ordered this coat online and ended up sending it back. A very lightweight soft-shell. Fits a bit small. I'm a size a L, 6' and the jacket was too short and would be unfuctional. Sleeves are a good length. Was looking for a shoft shell with a hood that would be a good outter layer and this coat was too light for me. Not worth it for the price for such a lightweight coat.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The "Can Hack-It Jacket"

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MJK3000
Location: Houston, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only had this jacket for a short while and have found it to be very versatile. I've used if for keeping warm in a cold conference room and for use outside on a cold wintry day. And it looks sharp too!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not quite perfect...

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amannamedmargrette
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been wanting a softshell for quite a while, and I recently had the fortune of receiving a friends and family discount, so I could not pass up the chance to do some power shopping for some new gear. I originally wanted the The Mercurial, but they were out of stock so I went with The Principia.
Build - It seems like it is a well built jacket with good attention to detail and had very minimal loose threads out of the bag. Time will tell how it stands up, but so far so good. My only gripe on the build, is the seams on the arms have been a bit scratchy when wearing short sleeves under them. Non-issue with long sleeves.
Fit - I am 6'-1", 175 lbs and a bit long in the torso. I ordered the M. The width is PERFECT to my skinny build, but the sleeve and overall lengths are a bit short for my taste. If I am standing straight everything is fine, but any strange movement such as a long reach while climbing tends to pull the jacket one way or another leading to exposure. A small helmet fits tightly under the hood, but then the jacket rides high at all times.
Performance - I haven't had it out in a hard rain or snow yet, but it sheds light sprinkles easily and cuts wind well. I am comfortable down to dry 25-30 degrees with just a medium base layer and some gloves as long as I remain active. The hood cinches work reasonably well, but they tend to pull loose after a few minutes if I am moving my head around much.
Overall - I would definitely recommend this jacket, but could live with an extra 1"-2" of length on torso and sleeves to cover builds like mine (which I would assume are fairly common to users of this kind of gear)
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
WillDerness
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I sought this jacket to fill a range of needs: wind protection for work, biking, wearing out on the town, skiing, etc. and it has filled every role beautifully. It's warmer than I expected for a softshell, offers good wind protection, sheds water, and fits well. Important for me, it doesn't catch nasty weed seeds when I'm working in grasslands. It's pretty lightweight too, and the hood is great. Basically I'm happy! The large fits my 6'4'', 180 lb body well, with a little room to spare.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket fit

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountainmarcher
Location: Washington
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i'm 5'9, 160. height of jacket is good, length of sleeves is good, along with the overall feel. however, the shoulders need some more working room. I'm a broad shouldered guy and it just feels like they are too tight. besides that its a pretty comfortable jacket. I could go with a large but then the sleeves and jacket height would be too big.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.