Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Drystein II™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Drystein II™ Jacket

Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and waterproof but clammy

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJC23
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I tested this jacket on a month long hike through Italy where it rained on us about every day. It fits great and proved very weatherproof, but even with the vents open it felt clammy and didn't breathe as well as I thought it should. Also, the front zipper started to catch at about chest height after a week of hard use. I would have to run it up and down carefully a few times to get it to zip all the way up. I tended to overheat rather quickly ( but I tend to do this with most jackets) so it was all or nothing. Jacket on and dry or jacket off and get wet. The hood was a bit big and would fall forward and block all vision except what was directly in front of and below me. I do like the jacket, it just didn't seem to be all it was touted technology wise. I will choose a cheaper shell with more vents next time unless the price comes down on this one. The jacket is very waterproof though and will be a great jacket to wear around the town in Washington State, just don't exert yourself too much or it will get moist and hot around your middle
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

raincoat++

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
pdxnative
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welded seams, protected zippers, thoughtful cut, and easily adjustable. The hood moves with your head, which in my experience is rather unheard of. The jacket is light, thin, and seems to perform exactly as advertised.
I'm a large guy, 6'1" 300lbs. The XXL fights larger than I thought it would, most likely to accommodate a base-layer. For someone of my size it's refreshing that a jacket fits well without having to go up a size and deal with otherwise disproportionate dimensions (torso height, sleeve length, etc).
The build quality of the piece feels superb, time will tell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shell I've ever owned

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gearhed79
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many of the reviewers have it nailed (so many from Portland - my home town!) but nobody mentioned how awesome the hood is. When it's windy and the rain or snow is blowing sideways this jacket's hood is very adjustable and cinches around the crown of your head so that it moves perfectly with you as you turn your head side-to-side. I've never had a shell do it this well.
The Dry.Q.Elite material is fantastic and the face fabric equally awesome. I have an older Event shell but was annoyed by the face fabric wetting after about an hour. The Drystein hasn't done this no matter how long I stay out in the nasty weather.
So far I've used the shell snowboarding, hiking and as my everyday jacket when the weather is nasty. This has been a wet/windy/snowy winter in MN and the Drystein II has performed perfectly. Expensive, yes, but you won't find a more bomber shell.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drystein II tackles the Northwest

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first opened the package I was suprised how light weight the jacket was. After taking it on a few adventures through out the Northwest I can say it performs perfectly. I love the simplicity and design of the jacket. It has two jobs! Keep you Dry and block the wind. Which it does better than any jacket i've ever owned. I Love the flexible fabric that is placed in all the right places to allow mobility. I like this jacket so much I've talked my girlfriend into getting one, and she wanted the snowtastic. But after watching the Drystein perform in the rain, sleet, and snow. She's opted for the Drystein II. This shell will keep you dry and protected from the wind. The perfect compliment to the drystein jacket is a mountain hardwear Ghost Whisperer Hooded down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Rain Protection I've Found!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stevilone
Location: Portland
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to give significant thought to this purchase due to the $$. I've had many "waterproof" garments and they have all failed at some point on long wet trips.
I required something that would keep me dry for extended back country river trips. The Drystein II does it! It provides the best rain protection of any jacket I've owned but, it's the breathability that sets it apart. It's comfortable and moves easily without binding.
Last trip was four consecutive days in rain. I'd shake it out at night and put it on the next morning. It never soaked through.
Great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DryStein II, Great Shell

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billka
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shell. I purchase a new shell every 10 to 12 years while living in the Northwest where having a waterproof jacket is imperative. This is not a shell you'd buy every year (expensive), rather one that will easily last 10 years. Its lightweight and compact for traveling, waterproof, comfortable, breathes well. All zippers are waterproofed/sealed which is nice but takes a little getting used to as the zipper is tight/slow but not an issue. Its worn daily for roughly 7 months of the year and the material feels strong/tuff for daily use yet is also comfortable to wear. The shell fits really well, not too loose but enough room for layering for temperatures in the Northwest. Highly recommend the shell for serious outdoor recreation or daily use for 10 years.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the Northwest

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
SteveU
Location: Corvallis, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anyone living in Oregon or Washington needs this jacket. Great fit, fantastic rain protection and breathable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Shell

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnsGranola
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to update my shell and after much consideration and research I decided on the Drystein II jacket. The Dry-Q Elite fabric does better than my old gore-tex jacket. I tested this shell in rain, wet snow, and high wind and I stayed dry and warm. I have never seen another shell perform like this jacket. Congrats to Mt. Hardwear for raising the bar for waterproof shells.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mt Elbrus

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ClimbForFive
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Climbed the north face of mt Elbrus (18,510) this year and purchased this shell because I had a problem overheating in my old shell.
We got pretty nasty weather during the climb, horizontal rain , hail and snow with 40mph gusts . We were all carrying heavy packs and a few of the group started to over heat.. However I was perfectly fine... The shell stopped the weather and i was extremely dry under it all. At one point all I had on was a basic base layer with the ghost whisperer and this for a shell and it was amazing.
No overheating, No moisture buildup , and very comfortable.
my new must have piece of gear !
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
skyella
 
Please wait while more information about skyella is loaded.
Additional information about skyella could not be loaded.
Tajikistan
Posted January 16, 2013
Been through Russia and Central Asia, the Karakoram, Pamirs, and Tien Shan. Conditions can be extremely variable. Looking forward to getting a new jacket similar to this and heading to the Pamirs in March for some alpine touring.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men's Drystein II™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigRosey
Location: VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is incredible. Fit was perfect. Excellent functionality and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.