Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Drystein™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Drystein™ Pant

Drystein™ Pant
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great function, terrible quality

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ElTigre
Location: Vermont
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are almost perfect from a functionality perspective. Comfortable, super-breathable, super-waterproof. I broke every single zipper within 2 months, including several which were crucial to the structural integrity of the pant in the middle of a 6 day ski mountaineering trip in the Sawtooths. If you can't trust a piece of gear to not catastrophically fail when you are deep in the backcountry you can't call it a piece of gear.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Country Skiing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
AKfirefighter
Location: Kenai, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My MH Exposure bibs have served me well over the years, but it was time to replace them. I had my eye on the Drystein bibs for quite some time and wish I would've pulled the trigger sooner. Fantastic quality, fit and function. Lightweight and durable with plenty of zippers for ventilation and the occasional call of nature. I use them back country skiing, high alpine climbing and fishing in the Alaskan rain. I am 6'5" and weigh about 230 lbs. I ordered the XL Long and they are a little loose without layers, but fit well with insulation. The length is perfect for climbing and skiing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ATV Ride

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dan88
Location: Detroit, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product works very well at repelling wind and water. I was able to ride all weekend in ~0 degree weather without ever experiencing wind chill or wetness.
Fit in the legs is perfect. I was able to comfortably apply a base layer and jeans underneath without restricting movement.
The torso is a little tight. I could comfortably wear a base and midlayer underneath, but anything thicker needed to be worn over top.
I am 6'0" 190# and a moderate build. If you have a beer belly you may consider a size up!
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
AFGuy
Location: Germany
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are insanely comfortable that being said you have got to be the right size or these things won’t work. They fit me just right but if anyone out there looking at these is a bit large around the mid section then look elsewhere. I am an average to athletic build at 5’11’’ 185 lbs and these things kicked butt for me. I’ve used them Snowboarding and I could hardly feel them on, I can’t wait to try them Ice climbing. Oh two things tho, the zipper won’t stay up on the chest, it will unzip to the snap then stop and the fly won’t unzip far enough to let you handle business. The chest zipper isn’t an issue but the fly could be a problem on a long expedition.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bibs, small improvements would be nice

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountaineermusician
Location: Skagway, Ak
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a mountaineering guide in Southeast Alaska and have become a huge advocate of MH's new Dry Q material. I will likely never buy Gortex again.
The DryStein pants are great, but I have used these pants a number of days in the field and have 2 concerns. First, I think integrating a button at the top of the bib would be more than beneficial. The more active you are, the more frequent the zipper on the bib simply comes undone. I'm 6' 0" and 160lbs. Not a huge dude, and according to the size chart, I would wear a S/R, and they fit perfectly except the fly zipper is exceptionally high when wearing a harness. This makes it difficult to take a leak when wearing these pants. I would recommend getting a waist size larger than you would normally get.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Complete Set!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmoulton
Location: Valdez, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the Drystein Jacket for about a year and loved using it last winter. I live in Valdez, AK so all my skiing is backcountry, 95% of it hiking. This fabric works great, although I wish the jacket had pit zips, but was pleasantly surprised when the pants arrived with full length zips.
Only draw back is the tunnel for the bibs, I'm not the skinniest guy in the world, but at 5'5" 145 I'm not that huge either. The bib portion of the pants are a bit snug on my belly. But length of the regular is fantastic, which is hard to find for a guy my size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Pants!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wore these pants for an extended ski tour in AK. When I first got these pants, I thought they were a bit on the light (construction) side, but as I've worn them more and more, I have grown to love them. They also passed the durability test during a rather nasty willow/devil's club slog from the high country down to the ocean. On the last ski tour, my pack was around 50 lbs when climbing with my skis on my pack and I never felt any discomfort from the bibs interfering with my pack.
The only reason I don't give these bibs five stars is because of the top of the bibs from the waist belt up. I could not get the front vertical zipper to stay up. I think this is because I am between a small and a medium and I was wearing a small. It was more annoying than anything. It made me feel like I had a beer gut. I am 5'9", 165# and 30" waist and 30" inseam. From the waistbelt down, the pants fit perfectly. The full zip around bottom worked flawlessly and made some of the less glamourous tasks quick and easy. The leg zips also give you unlimited ventilation. The leg pockets were the perfect size for beacon (tracker 2) in one side and compass and ski straps in the other.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit, excellent function

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
kvharker
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these bibs in November 2012. I have skied and climbed in them about 20 times. The fit is incredible, with excellent stretch and range of motion. On warmer days I have worn them with no insulating layer. On colder days with a thin underlayer they provide the perfect amount of warmth.
Only issue was one of the pocket zippers recently broke. Just sent them off to MH warranty for repair.
Highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Drystein™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great, feels great, need snow

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
tom888
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this pant to replace 10 year old MH bibs. Tech looks great, fit is great. Love the pocket locations on the pants. Now if we'd only get some snow is So Cal.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mountaineermusician
Skagway, Ak
 
Please wait while more information about mountaineermusician is loaded.
Additional information about mountaineermusician could not be loaded.
Good stuff, needs a snap though
Posted October 12, 2013
These pants are excellent for all alpine purposes. I'm a mountain guide in southeast Alaska where it rains all summer and dumps all winter. The Dry Q fabric is far superior to gortex. My only concern is that there is no button at the upper end of the bib. It's an easy fix, but to be honest, I'm a little surprised they don't integrate a snap. The zipper does (very easily) slip open as you actively climb/ skin/ hike/ etc.
Other than that, the Drystein pants are great
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)