Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka

Mountain Hardwear Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka

Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Review 1 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sun in a jacket!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Colorado1
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off this jacket fits me 6,4 and 280lbs muscular body perfect as I like room in my clothes.. I wore this jacket at negative 10 with one base layer and I was burning up! not for the high temps like -10 its most definitely for -30 and below, just an idea to Mountain Hardware for a better jacket would be......ahh heck they all ready built it! good job guys!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parka

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
chuckie3
Location: bend or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this wonderful parka, but did not check closely the size information you offered, as this parka runs very large. MY fault! I normally require an XL, but this one was far too large, thus I have had to return it for a L. It is well -constructed and visually appealing, for the very cold situations one might encounter.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Zero Down

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chicago7
Location: Pana, ILlinois
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the Absolute Zero down last year and all I can say is, Wow!!! This parka is, without question, the warmest parka made today. Whether on a polar jaunt or scaling the world's highest peaks, the MHW Absolute Zero Down is the coat you need. Don't consider the many pretenders. This coat delivers warmth at 50-60 below zero with ease and wind is not a factor. I have the red and shark and would like the orange and sharks but can't afford two coats, but color aside, if you want the warmest coat in the world, but Mountain Hardwear's Absolute Zero Down.!!
Phil Jacobs
Pana, Illinois
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lloydie
Location: Calif.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of pockets in the right places. Tons of down.
It's big. Surprisingly light for the bulk but if you run cold or are going to a place that can get well below zero, this is the jacket. After a long day I can get depleted, dehydrated, cold and I need to warm up before I begin to shiver. This jacket allows me to recover immediately. While climbing, at breaks, or around camp. It has become my friend under tough conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Warmth

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
kvharker
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Recently purchased this parka for a Denali climb in May 2013. I have used in 3 times now, in temperatures ranging from -15 to 30 degrees. Within moments of putting it on, you can feel the incredible amount of warmth. Several large pockets help keep your hands warm and stuff items inside to dry out and warm up.
It's big. It's bulky. It's pretty heavy. But I was willing to sacrifice weight--so far I am glad it did. My only complaint is that I wish it came with a compression sack.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dematson
Fresno CA
 
Please wait while more information about dematson is loaded.
Additional information about dematson could not be loaded.
Compression sack
Posted October 10, 2013
Mine came with a compression sack
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you Mountain Hardwear

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Supafly
Location: Oklahoma City
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this parka for over 10 years and it is still warm and comfy.
I dedicate this review to the Mountain Hardwear repair folks.
Almost as soon as I got my parka I tore through the woods with it and tore two or three huge holes in the lower section. I guess I thought the ripstop was thorn-proof (stupid).
I taped up the jacket with duct tape and sent the jacket in for repair. I asked if the jacket could be repaired and if a thicker nylon material could be sewn around the lower 8 inches instead of the lighter-weight ripstop. A few weeks later I had a custom jacket in my hands for a super-reasonable repair charge!
Happy happy!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The hood ruin the great parka

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
WinterTraveller
Location: Hong Kong
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The parka is warm as expected like all other down parkas that cost $500+ I like its pocket layout that are very handy and length of the parka that cover my hip. I also love the Shark color that is much better than those expedition-look yellow or dull black on other brands. Besides, the parka has many fine-tuned feature such as tuck-away velcro part of the hood. In general, the parka is well-built.
I always expose to ambient temperature -30+C for 1 to 2 hours for slow pace activities. I have a few warm parkas and none of them is perfect. Having read good reviews on Absolute Zero parka and I thought it might help.
While its baffle construction are well made on the front part of the parka, the baffle divider is not wide enough (only 0.5" to 1") on the back that make it cold spot on extreme weather. Anyway, it's minor to me as I always carry a daypack on my back. I found no such problem on other baffled parkas that cost $500+ though.
The biggest flaw of the parka is its low profile hood. The hood is not deep enough to protect your face from side wind especially with beanie on. This is bad when you're at -30+C. In fact, this is major reason that I kept my NF Himalayan in the closet rather than outdoor.
It also renders the adjustable hood non-adjustable. Tighten it made it even shallower and expose more of your face to the environment. Keep it loose would made the rim of the hood wide open. I have to drop 2 stars due to this interesting design. It's a shame since it's a real GREAT parka other than this serious flawed hood design.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Murph1000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is a true "freezy" cat! For example, he sleeps with a down filled cover and two extra blankets at night....we live in Missouri where the average winter temperature at night is in the teens and 20s. It is the first time I have ever heard him say that he was truly warm in the winter while wearing this coat out and about. He loves it. Has a nice fit and looks good on his 5' 10' build. I'm sure he would even be warm in much lower temperatures out on the ski lift.
This coat was the perfect Christmas gift. Well worth the investment!
I would recommend this product.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
capkirk91
St. Louis, MO
 
Please wait while more information about capkirk91 is loaded.
Additional information about capkirk91 could not be loaded.
Same way
Posted January 6, 2014
Well, he's gonna be glad he has that coat for the next couple of days when its down to -15 or whatever its supposed to get down to. Jealous, wish I could afford one!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Rainier testing in just over a week

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigJimSlade
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Headed to Rainier in late Jan for an Avi course and figured there'd be lots of standing around. Chances are good this will be too warm (duh), but will give it a try and report back. Although obviously designed with other layers in mind, sizing seems a tad big. In its stuff sack the size is comparable to my WM Versalite sleeping bag, so packability may be an issue if space is limited. Very cool cuffs with thumb hole. Still need to experiment with securing the hood when not in use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A keeper

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
VanDerGraaf
Location: Pittsburgh
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this one for trip to continental Antarctica. Enjoyed it very much. It allowed me to stay outside long hours sometimes just sitting on chair next to mountains. Very comfortable and practical with all pockets and hand warmers. Used it also as pillow during frigid nights.In Punta Arenas, before flying to Antarctica, windy and mild cold weather used it just wearing a T-shirt. I am 5'11.5" and 170 lbs and M fits very well. It's a keeper. As pants, I used the Nilas. Perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a sleeping bag you can wear

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
PJSINCALAB
Location: Northern Rocky Mountains
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
The Absolute Zero Parka is the penultimate cold climate insulating layer for high altitude alpine travel. I recently took this parka on a mountaineering expedition in the Cascades in some pretty harsh weather conditions. Stopping for the day at a high camp below the summit of Rainier, temperatures dropped rapidly below freezing and I put on the AZP to preserve warmth. It has tremendous insulating loft and superior wind resistance. Combined with a pair of down pants, it's like wearing a sleeping bag. The Napoleon pockets allow access to small items without opening the front zipper. The DryQ shell material provides good water resistance and breaths well. The hood is not detachable, but I can't think of too many situations where I would wear this parka without the hood.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Making Alaska feel like Florida

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
GoofyPilot75
Location: Jacksonville, FL
User submitted photo
I live in Florida, and when I decided to go to Alaska to photograph the Northern lights near the arctic circle, I decided to find the warmest jacket possible, especially doing something that doesnt involve much movement. THIS WAS PERFECT!!! While sitting outside from 8pm to 2am in freezing temperatures, while not producing any heat, this Parka made the Arctic feel like Florida!!! Thank you Mountain Hardwear for making yet another incredible product!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARM!

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location: Northwest Wyoming
If you are looking for unquestionable warmth at the possible expense of bulk and weight, this is the jacket for you. I started off testing the grit of this jacket with a 1 1/2 hr snowmobile ride in sub-zero temperatures in a blizzard with only a light base layer on underneath. It felt as though I had never left the comfort of my warm bed that morning! Cuts the wind, sheds the moisture, and keeps the warmth where it needs to be.
Day to day life traveling by snowmachine in temeratures as low as -40 has given me great appreciation for warm clothing innovations. Is it heavy? Yes. Is it bulky? Without a doubt. Extreme weather conditions call for extreme technical adaptation of clothing and that is exactly what the Absolute Zero delivers.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am finally warm

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alaska80
Location: Delta Junction, Alaska
As an engineer in the interior of Alaska I play and work in temperatures of -50 with winds sometimes in excess of 50 mph. This is the fisrt jacket I have ever worn that has kept me warm with minimal activity. Thus far I have tested it down to -30 standing for 6 hours, however I have some -50 temps coming next week and will update as to how it performs in that. It has excellent construction and is smooth against bare skin. It is the only jacket I have truseted to truly protect me when in the remote back country of Alaska. If I could give it 10 stars I would. The sizes are large, I am 6'0 175 and wear a medium.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puffy and warm

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark
This is without a doubt the warmest down jacket I've encountered. My down jackets and parkas from other makers feel like uninsulated shells compared to the Absolute Zero Parka. I had read various online reviews that stated it was too warm for anything but the most awful conditions but I've found it to be quite versatile. At camp in Winter it's nice to be able to sit around after dinner without having to dive into a sleeping bag to stay warm and merely putting this jacket on assures nearly instant warmth. As stated by others, it's makes for an incredibly luxurious pillow when you finally take it off to go to bed and the pockets (two inside, and four outside if you include the hand pockets) hold an incredible amount of items that may need to be kept warm to prevent them from freezing: water bottles, camera batteries, Etc. At 6' and 185#s, a size M fits perfectly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Absolute Zero™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Zero Parka

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
McKinley
Location: Rochester, NY
User submitted photo
Location: Argentina - Aconcagua - 22,851ft
Who: me and one other, unguided for 17 days
Pros: WARM, durable, VERY comfortable, windproof, water beaded right off it, good pocket placement, hood is well made and tightens easily to protect face, hood is able to roll up in coat, makes a great pillow at night if you bring a fleece pillowcase.
Cons: slightly bulky, little heavy... but then again what do you expect for such a great jacket!!
This jacket was just right for me, I used it all during my trip at camps and it was amazing. It is very warm and allowed me to wear the jacket without having so many layers on underneath. It is also very windproof.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Peter43
Sweden
 
Please wait while more information about Peter43 is loaded.
Additional information about Peter43 could not be loaded.
Difference in absolute zero parka 2013 and 2012
Posted November 25, 2013
I am a really fan of cold. I live in Sweden where temp ranges in winter from +5 to -15 degrees C, in middle of the country and down to -30 up north.
I´ve have to opportunity to own two absolute zero parkas. One from 2012 and one from 2013.
The latter is supposes to be an update of the former one. However I feel difference in both of them. I have uploaded photos of both jackets.
I like the hood in the 2012 model as it is intergrated in the front zip. That mean you only pull zipper up once and the last 10cm makes your hood come around your neck. In the 2013 model, you have two manouvers. One to zip the jacket and the otherone to strap the hood.
One other difference is downstuffing. The 2012 is more bulky in the front and over your upper chest. While the 2013 model has less downpadding over the chest and it creates a cooler spot. Last night I tried both of them in minus 15C, and wearing under just a short sleeve t-shirt to feel the difference. The 2012 jacket is really warm and once standing still in the cold, without movement, I felt after 20 min my body heat really heating up the inside of jacket, and no heat escapeing.
The same test on the 2013 model revelad that the less padding in the chest, gave a cooler spot and after 20 min standing still, I did not feel as comfortably warm as in the 2012 model.
The 2012 jacket is pitch black, a little shiny, while the 2013 is more graphite gray (shark) and dull. The 2012 is more bulky, a bit shorter in lenght. While the 2013 is a but longer and since there is less down over the chest, you dont look like a balloon over the chest. Yes but who cares how you look when its -15C outside.
The pockets in 2013 has a better placement as you dont need to bend your elbows to put hand in pocket, as in the 2012 model.
One strange thing is that the pockets in 2012 model zip from up to down and not the other way, meaning that you cannot have items in your chestpocket as the can fall out unless you zip it completely. One minus thing is that there are no instructions attached in either jacket of how the different straps and bands work in the hood if you are a novice in downjackets. The hood in 2012 model have som strange velcrostraps of which I cannot figure out how to use them. Same goes for 2013 model, the hood has two sidepockets with velcrostraps inside. No idea how this works.
When it comes down to the essentials. The 2012 model is thicker and warmer I would say. Unless I just received a defective jacket made in china where they missed to stuff it into 800fill over the chest. More info in differences soon. Happy reading.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)