Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket

Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Try it before you buy it!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
pete101
Location: san fransisco
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have nothing against the jacket itself. I think it’s a great jacket for mid-cold environments. My only complaint is that the MHW outfitter recommended that I buy a large even though I mentioned that I have broad shoulders and I always buy X-large. I went with the outfitters recommendation. I had to order the jacket, so I bought it without trying on the large or X-large. When I received it I found that it was tight in the shoulders. Now MHW will not replace it (for X-large) because I wore it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Puffer

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Palmer
Location: Farmington, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Of course when you get something of this quality half price how can you go wrong! Great puffer. I love the color, style, size. I like that it is a bit heavier than the really light weight model I was going to get.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
JL17
Location: Parker, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super lightweight and very warm. Perfec tlayer for high altitude climbs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mid-Weight Down Jacket

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidG
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I ordered this jacket, I was worried that I didn't need it because I already owned the Nilas. I'm so glad I went ahead and got it. There are several reviews that say that the Phantom and Nilas are almost the same jacket, only the Phantom is cheaper. With all due respect, I completely disagree -- I believe you need both. I have three down jackets: Ghost Whisperer, Phantom, and Nilas. I used them all in varying temperatures and climates. The Phantom is perfect for 30-40 degree range when there isn't any precipitation or much wind. The Nilas has more down and is also warmer because of the wind-proof material, Air Shield Elite. The Air Shield Elite also allows you to wear it in many situations when it is snowing without having to add a shell). My Nilas is so warm, I can't use it in temperatures above freezing. This Phantom is a must have, even if you have the Nilas.
I purchased a large, as I usually do. I'm 6'0" and 190 lbs. It fits perfectly. The only thing that I notice right away is that the arms seemed slim to me. I have an athletic build, so maybe it's just me. The slim arms don't bother me, if anything it will keep me warmer -- just an impression I had.
Overall, this is an awesome jacket that is warm and lightweight.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
DDaws
Location: Lake City, Co
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the phantom jacket a little over a month ago and have not been cold since. I am living in the mountains in Colorado and the temperatures have already dipped into the negatives a few times, but no problem for this puppy. Being a naturally cold person, I have tried it with various layers and it is great with all of them. I am 6'2'' but thin, so I ordered a medium to make sure the sleeves are long enough. They definitely are, and there is room for plenty of layers if needed underneath, but it still fits under my rain jacket- which I haven't used once yet b/c the DWR finish has been great for the snow we've gotten so far (hasn't been a blizzard or anything, but I have worn it out for over an hour in steady snow more than once). I have warn it on a few short hikes where temperatures were in the mid 20s and it was almost too warm with a long-sleeve and t-shirt underneath, so layer intentionally if you are going to be exerting yourself much. Super light weight as well, and very useful that it stuffs into it's own pocket. Hood is awesome, cinch-cords are great there and on the waist.
The ripstop shell has also held up well. Though I haven't taken it through a thicket or anything, I have had a dog jump on me twice and expected his claws to have left at least a snag, but nothing so far. Exceeded expectations.
Here are the only issues I have with it:
-No fleece-lined pockets. My hands get cold easily and they felt pretty exposed inside the pockets, even with the waist drawcord cinched down. (I remedied this by purchasing some fleece fabric and folding it into the pockets- works great).
-(This is getting pretty nit-picky, so please excuse me)- As I have kept my hands in the pockets a lot, the filling in the 'elbow-pits' has been pushed to the back. Then when I straighten my arms, there is almost no down in the 'elbow-pits'. Now, this hasn't been an issue yet, but I can see that area getting cold over long periods of time outdoors. Adding another baffle right there would prevent that, but perhaps they did it on purpose since that is a high-heat area during exertion.
-Oh, I also would have liked a greater color choice. On the blue, there are some yellow accents you can't see which add some nice color to it.
All in all, amazing jacket. Highly recommended by this user.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is amazing

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
FroznNorth
Location: Alaska
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because I was looking for something that would stand up to the extremes of the Alaskan climate. Shortly after getting this jacket, I had to spend an extended period of time outside at -25 and this jacket kept me toasty. Amazing performance and lightweight to boot! Love it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooded Phantom

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fitzer
Location: Durham, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Jacket has a very nice fit ( I am 6 foot, 170 lbs with long arms) and can even fit it under my soft shell (though I don't know why you would want to do this). It is extremely warm, probably too warm if temperatures are above 45. The hood is bar none the best one I have ever worn, it never dips down over your eyes and it follows your head movements with ease. Some reviews comment on it being short in the torso. I think they added an inch to the length since my 2012 version was perfect in the torso (even with hood on). I have only three minor complaints: the color selection is bad (in my opinion), I want an external chest pocket, and I am not a fan of the wrist cuffs. I know they put the simple elastic band on there for layering purposes, but many times my down jacket is my outermost layer, so I want a real cuff to be able to put gloves over.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is extremely warm for the weight

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vav12
Location: Greenville, Maine
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the coat. Really warm.Light weight. Fit is true to size. Not oversized at all. Hood gives you plenty of coverage and still allows the use of a headlamp without blocking the beam at all. Would recommend this coat to anyone who wants to stay warm with not a lot of weight to it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth to weight masterpiece

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jgicklhorn
Location: Eastern Sierra, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a non-hooded down jacket last winter but found myself not using it, so this winter I upgraded to the Hooded Phantom Jacket and am using it almost every day!
I really needed a jacket that was super warm, but that also goes from bouldering in the Buttermilks mid-winter to being a key insulation piece in the mountains, and I think the Phantom hits that mark. I have so far used it in ~15F temps with just a t-shirt in Bishop, and in <0F temps combined with the Hooded Compressor Jacket in the mountains and been toasty. In fact I find that the jacket is actually too warm in >60F temps! The Phantom is cut nicely for layering (roomier than a down "sweater"), has a short enough back-length to actually be useful when active, and has only the features, such as fleece-lined hand warmer pockets and adjustable hood, that you really need. After also trying on several other MHW jackets (Kelvinator - not warm enough/no adjustable hood, Hunker Parka - warm but too long, Nilas - too expensive/I'm not Uli Steck) I decided that the Phantom was the way to go, super warm and priced in the middle of MHWs down line.
All around great jacket, and I'm looking forward to staying warm for years to come. I am 5'11", 165lbs with a climber's build and the Medium fits like a charm.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JohnnyDanger
San Diego
 
Please wait while more information about JohnnyDanger is loaded.
Additional information about JohnnyDanger could not be loaded.
Looking for the perfect fit!
Posted December 19, 2012
Was wondering about sizing until I saw your comment. Thanks for including your H and W and the jacket size that was right for you. Very helpful!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Sleeping Bag for your Torso

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
BooBoo2011
Location: Portland
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After much debate between the Nilas and Hooded Phantom, both arrived side by side, and the Hooded Phantom won out. Should I be climbing Denali, the Nilas is likely the right jacket, but as a piece with versatility, and beau coup amounts of loft, the Hooded Phantom is my new favorite MHW piece. The material feels extremely luscious and exactly like wearing a sleeping bag. With the 850 fill, and at just over 1lb, while the Ghost Whisperer is like wearing hot air, the Phantom is like being hugged by friendly bear.
As someone looking to have more and more non resort winter adventures, the Hooded Phantom will fit nicely
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than I Expected

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam44
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I put this jacket one for the first time when I received it in the mail at my house. I was starting to sweat almost immediately. It is light as a feather, very warm, and the fit is perfect. It is puffy, but not baggy. The MH description says it is made with ripstop fabric, but looking at the jacket and feeling how light it is, I must admit that I am just a little skeptical. However, it is still a tradeoff I would gladly take any day. I love it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finest jacket I have ever owned

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
daalek
Location: PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does what it says on the packet. Brilliantly warm and the lightweight nature of it makes it perfect for travelling. Hard to imagine how it could be improved.
Bought a different model MH jacket last winter but the sizing didn't correspond. Would suggest that MH standardise their sizing across their range.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Hooded Phantom™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid jacket and better than the Nilas!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JAB0321
Location: SLC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After trying on the Hooded Phantom as well as the Nilas, I must say that I prefer the Phantom. The reasons are as follows:
1. I wear a large in all tops and jackets MHW makes and the fit of the Nilas did not seem very athletic with a lot of excess room around the midsection, whereas the Phantom fits just right. The Nilas was, however, a bit longer which was nice. The hood on the Phantom also fit much better. Not a knock against the Nilas but the Phantom just me fit better.
2. The amount of down and loft of the Nilas seemed to be seriously lacking for such an expensive cold weather jacket, especially in the arms where it seemed like there were definite portions of minimal or missing down. The Phantom, however, has an incredible amount of down fill and loft in all areas of the jacket and is very equally distributed throughout the baffled sections. Although I did not wear the Nilas outside in the cold, even in the shop, the Phantom really did feel much warmer and since I was looking for the warmest and lightest jacket, another point for the Phantom.
3. The Nilas is heavier than the Phantom by a noticeable amount. The Nilas does have a more durable body consisting of the Airshield Elite material compared to the Phantom which is just the regular lightweight body material. If you are going to be wearing the jacket as an outside layer, I would assume that the Nilas would be more durable and tear resistant, but I will be wearing my shell over this jacket so that is not an issue for me. Plus the weight savings and warmth of the Phantom is more important.
4. The Nilas has extremely thin draw cords and while they didn't seem to pose any issues, I prefer the standard size and double draw cords that are found on the Phantom.
5. I did like the thumb holes on the cuff of the Nilas, but the standard elastic ones on the Phantom work just fine.
6. Finally, price. The Nilas is $500 and the Phantom is $300. It was pretty much a no-brainer for me since there was nothing about the Nilas that I preferred, and many things that I did not particularly like.
Conclusion: The Phantom is an incredibly lightweight and warm jacket and the build quality is excellent as I have come to expect from MHW. The design is spot on in all aspects and it just works exactly as it is suppose to (it is VERY warm) at a price that is definitely worth it. I highly recommend the Phantom to anyone who is looking for a super light, super warm down jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.