Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 42(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps you warm

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
snurfer
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this jacket for just about a year now and love it. It performs well just wearing around town and while out camping. Construction seems very nice, it's held up great for about 11 months. My only complaint is that is isn't as tight as it could be around my mid-section. I am fairly skinny and I feel as though the jacket has a little bit of extra material around my stomach.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As awesome as everyone says it is!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mayanist2000
Location: Newton, NH
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket as part of my goal of packing lightly for the Inca Trail. This jacket is LIGHT, but packs a big punch of warmth. The jacket quickly stuffs into its own pocket for easy storage. It takes up virtually no space and weighs next to nothing. I wore this jacket with just a t-shirt on several occasions when it was in the 30s F and I was more than comfortable. I highly recommend the hooded version. I was amazed at just how warm the hood was. When I pulled it up, I could instantly feel the warmth wrap around my head. I usually do not like wearing jackets, but the Ghost Whisperer was so light and comfortable that I found myself wearing it as often as possible. I even wore it to bed on chilly nights in Cusco. I prefer my clothes slightly loose for comfort, and the fit of this jacket was perfect. I am 5'7 175lb with slightly broad shoulders for my size. The large fit me exactly as expected. I cannot recommend this jacket more highly, especially if space and weight are an issue for your excursions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
josephm
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket, I tested it in Denali during a winter expedition and it performed great. Mountain Hardwear never disappoints. I wore It comfortably to about -6 then it was time to add some layers and a shell. The jacket is easily compacted and is about the size of a small football when put in its included stuff sack. The hood is non adjustable which gets annoying at times, but is overall a great jacket and well worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Uberlight Puffy

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert5
Location: Denali, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ghost Whisperer was my “insurance” down jacket on Denali—an uber-lightweight jacket that I could pair under a hardshell to keep me warm during cold weather movement, or with a bigger puffy to keep me toasty at high camp.
It fits amazingly well, packs small, and doesn't leak down.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

first time shopping for a med weight jacket

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colorado1
Location: Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I am 6ft 4inch 280lbs. and the jacket fits super fine for me as I got the XXL do to the fact I enjoy the freedom and space. I use my drystein over this jacket with a expedition weight wool base liner and all is well.uses for the jacket are light mountain hikes,and ever day use as a med weight jakcket in winter.Thus far the jacket has met all the talks I have read here on the reveiws site,my only complaints are dull down the colors a bit! too shiny of a black color for me but function comes before glamour. I have not yet have had the chance to test the warmth factor at any thing lower than 40 degrees thus far but living in Colorado I feel my reveiw on this matter will be posted up soon.All in all money well spent! lives up to its name,very soft and yes you some times you forget you got it on if it were not for its shiny colors that remind you its still there.GREAT JOB MOUNTAIN HARDWARE! keep up the great work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado1
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about Colorado1 is loaded.
Additional information about Colorado1 could not be loaded.
Ok back with a up date
Posted May 2, 2013
had a chance to try this jacket in 29 degree weather with only med weight wool base liner, and and I was still warm, I had to unzip the jacket to cool down some and the water repellent on the jacket is light in heavy snow fall.keep in mind this was down town Denver so I was walking at a slow pace.I would recomend a water proof shell to go over this jacket in heavy snow.I will keep you udated on the jackets functions or just send me a line with a question.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patrickclimber
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Just used this jacket on a 6-day trip to the Utah backcountry. The jacket was light, warm and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the hood when sleeping. Definitely a great piece of gear.
For size: I am 6'1'' 220. Normally I wear an XL. I tried an XL on and it fit okay, but I chose an XXL because it gave me more room in the shoulders.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket Ever

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mkvolpe
Location: Canton, ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is absolutely the best jacket I have owned. Wore it this weekend to climb Mt. Washington and it worked to perfection. It is wind proof and very warm. If you are looking for a super light weight but warm and windproof jacket look no further. I am going to buy this for my wife and will purchase other ghost whisperer products to help lighten my load.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite new piece of gear

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight, compactable, warm, and comfy all in one jacket! Can you guys at Mountain Hardwear make me a blanket out of this jacket material? This jacket is a perfect compliment to the drystein II jacket. When you combine the two you have warm, dry, and windproof. Which makes me one happy camper:) When in doubt get the Ghost Whisperer with the Hood!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Light and Warm

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SS24
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Super light and warm. Sizing seems to be true. The only thing that would have made this jacket better would have been an internal pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top quality

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's amazing something so light can be so warm. In 20* F weather I've been able to stay warm with only a t-shirt underneath. I honestly don't have a single complaint about the jacket. The fit is perfect in length of jacket and length of sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

jacket has no equall

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
KBS2
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super light, great design. always designed for function , and exceeds expectations. I bet you can not find a lighter, warmer jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dream Jacket

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MariaR
Location: Greenwich,CT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this jacket for my son. He had another similar jacket which was 4 years old that he wore out. The fit was perfect- large( he is 5'9"- 170lbs , the color-Capri wasn't his first choice(he wanted black but they were sold out) but he loves it. The weight is out of this world- light and he packs it in its own pocket. It also keeps him warm especially on the cold, windy streets of NYC. I'm even considering one for me.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little too large in the Belly

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEHi
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pro:
Since purchasing this jacket I have used it for backpacking, car camping, and traveling all over the bay area during winter. I can attest to it keeping me toasty with a light rain shell when temperatures fall a few degrees below freezing. The fabric is much more durable than I would have expected. Obviously: incredibly light, takes some getting used to before you can trust that something so light can keep you that warm. Part of warmth we're used to is weight, of which this has practically none.
Con:
I'm a big guy (6'2", 190lbs) and got the large which is perfect for length in the arms and torso but there is way too much room in the belly area. I can pull out the stomach almost twice the diameter of my waste . This isn't ideal for style or keeping warm. It seems like a company focused on supplying athletic people wouldn't put all that extra space in the stomach, or at least offer a "tall" size. Again I'm by no means a skinny guy, but it's definitely too roomy.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket Ever

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackalope
Location: Princeton NJ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I thought that I was taking a chance on this jacket when I purchased it: how warm could it really be, given the weight and amount of fill? I've just spent a week with it in Stowe, VT, wearing it in town in temperatures down to about 10ª with just a merino base layer and a cross country ski shirt (wind layer and very light fleece). But it is unbeatable as a lightweight packing item. It is incredibly warm, incredibly comfortable, and incredibly versatile. Stuff it down, put it in a fanny pack, and off you go.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is amazing

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
TMI1
Location: California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received the jacket a couple of weeks ago and have worn it in -2 to 12 degree temperatures with only a base layer underneath. The jacket was amazingly warm considering it's light weight. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest Bang per ounce!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn84
Location: Brooklyn
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Jacket per ounce is the best I have ever experienced.
Riding a Vespa around New York with this Jacket and a t-shirt underneath at 40 degrees F is comfy! My lower half gets cold in jeans before my torso and arms!
I do get a little nervous if a dog jumps up on me because the fabric seems frail, but havent had any snags yet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARM and DURABLE!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigRosey
Location: VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My fiancee and I both have the hooded version. Incredibly light and warm. I wear mine alone or as the insulating layer under my drystein II. Incredibly outstanding combo or alone. Just finished the Old Rag hike in VA Sunday. Lots of minor to moderate bouldering and sliding across granite and there was absolutely no sign of tearing or chafing at all on the Ghost Whisperer. I was very shocked at how well it performed slding on granite for 45 minutes. I'm 6'4", 215 and purchased the large and it fits perfectly. The Radiance color is amazing and matches perfectly with my black Drystein II. I couldn't be happier with a jacket. Even collapsing it down into the pocket is quick and easy and incredibly convenient to stuff in my small camelback.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
kc1111
Location: Flagstaff, Az
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Although the jacket was much thinner than I expected, it was amazingly warm as a final layer in very cold weather. The very best feature is the ability to stuff the entire jacket into one of the front pockets and easily stow it into a day climbing pack. Whether I'm ice climbing or rock climbing in cold weather, I'll have it with me.
KC Baum
AMGA Certified Rock Guide
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best lightweight jacket for any weather

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jbsweeney
Location: San Antonio, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how light this jacket is. The fact that I can be in freezing temperatures and have a t shirt on underneath while still keeping warm is awesome. Then once I go inside to a place that is normally kept at a regular temperature all i have to do is shed this one layer and I am back to comfortable. Awesome product for most any climate.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent jacket

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
shon
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was first surprised by how shiny the jacket was out of box as well as how lite it really is. I laughed when I read a prior review that they thought MH had sent them an empty box, but then had a similar experience. Not a fan of the excessive shine to the material but I am getting used to it.
Fit: true fit. I am 5’11’’ and 180 athletic build and large fits great. Nice fit with room to layer. The hood fits snugly around the face with no brim and no drawstring. Comfortable but in high wind the hood may not stay in place. Haven’t tested that yet so for me it has been excellent so far.
Warmth: Again I was surprised at the jacket. I tested it several time in 29-30 degrees. I don’t like to be cold and I get cold fairly easily. I wore only a tee under the jacket and it kept me warm. This was right at the edge of my comfort zone. I was not cold but could feel the chill outside the jacket. I think it could easily work at much colder temps with a light fleece shirt under.
Packable: Not much needs to be said here. Yes its light and yes it packs into its own pocket and yes I am a huge fan of both. Every time I take it to somewhere cold in the morning and pack it up people are always shocked and asked to check it out. They can’t believe how lite it is.
Durability: I was pretty skeptical about durability due to the lightweight fabric. Keep in mind I have worn it carefully but here are a few things it has gone through and still no tears or sign on wear. I wear it hiking and around town regularly but I have also worn it in the rain, jumping out of an airplane (with a parachute ☺ the jacket does not make you fly, but it does keep you warm at high altitude and in high wind) and have also deployed with it to Kuwait. So far it is holding up great and no sign of wear. It also does not show the typical signs of shedding down. I have seen one or two pieces of feather come out the whole time and that was within the first few days of use, none since then.
Overall: I love this jacket. It works great. Getting used to the shiny material but it is definitely bright. Performance is better than I expected. Great piece of kit.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.