Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Goodtogo
Location: Central, KY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The jacket is surprising light and warm. I've worn the jacket for about 2 weeks now. I realize it's not a shell but the cuffs are starting to show some wear already. Would like to see a little stronger material.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great application of new down technology

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
RanchG
Location: Pittsburgh
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giving the shell fabric and down filling hydrophobic properties makes this a very versatile product. It can be worn in moist environments without fear of loss of insulation. Also, it is the lightest jacket imaginable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schwipples
Location: Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this for around town or wearing as an under layer on bitter cold ski days (-25 last week!)
Kept me warm in single digit temperatures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Insulation Machine

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rickster
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a hard time not wearing this jacket every day since I purchased it. It fits well enough, with some relaxed fitment in the abdomen and arms that I usually experience with outdoor gear. Having a cinch at the waist is helpful, but nothing of that sort at the sleeves means wind penetrates while riding a bike; they're slightly too short for me, so gloves often don't seal that gap.
But honestly, the amount of warmth this jacket delivers is incredible. On top of that, it's so packable. Fitting into the pocket is impressive, though I haven't ever found myself utilizing this feature for any practical purpose (yet). It makes for a great midlayer below a shell or softshell, or a top layer over just a t-shirt on even very cold nights.
Some very impressive engineering.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
fraitguy
Location: minnesota
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find this to be a very versatile coat. I wear it alone or sometimes under another coat for extra warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice jacket, cheap cuffs

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bryan1
Location: Squaw Valley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket, but I expected the cuffs to be better. This is an expensive coat and I would have liked to have real cuffs. The rubber band for a cuff doesn't cut it for me. I think mountain Hardware is one the best outdoor equipment builders in the world. I mean that. So...I have high expectation for your products too. I hope you respect my comments. By the way, I recently commented on the cuffs of a ski jacket I bought and they were GREAT. If you would like, give me a call.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Outstanding Lightweight Jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RSC10
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second "micro-puff" style jacket from Mountain Hardware, and I am still impressed with the warmth to weight ratio of this jacket. I am 5'8" 185 lbs athletic build and a large fits well. The jacket is a bit flashy (shiny) out of the box, hopefully it will fade. The new design with the rip-stop style fabric has been upgraded, with smaller squares for maximum isolation of any tears sustained. The jacket is compressible to within the front right pocket. There is a separate zipper to close it when used.
Overall this is an ideal jacket for layering, lightweight warmth and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sized large, otherwise awesome.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
lancho
Location: SF CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trying to accomodate my need for longer sleeves for my tall, lean frame is always a bit of a problem but, this was pretty severe in terms of sleeve length on the XL being just about right but, the body being very baggy and excessive. Exchanging for a L in hopes of resolution.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is light!!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
greenmeanie
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I couldn't believe how light this jacket was. It does a great job doing what it is supposed to do: keep you warm in cold weather. The only concern I have with this jacket is that it looks extremely delicate and may tear easily: Time will tell.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Puffy Coat

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
NPeifer2308
Location: Allentown, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The title says it all, I work at a large corporate store that sells outdoor gear and clothing. The Ghost Whisperer down jacket is far superior than any other technical down jacket on the market. The ripstop nylon is very durable and it weighs next to nothing which is great for backpacking. I personally love the jacket and wear it all the time for bouldering and hiking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slightly overpriced but great quality.

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
sushiboy200
Location: Greenbrae
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super lightweight down jacket, feels honestly like a feather. Breathable hence the fact that I wore it in a multitude of conditions but there are a lot of feathers poking out which is slightly worrisome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is too expensive for what it is.

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buzz
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A very decent piece of clothing, this jacket is well made although it fits on the large size. It is very lightweight and packs down to a small size. However, in my opinion it should cost half of what it costs, it is WAY too expensive and not a good value
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

incredible

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a jacket, use mine in alpine conditions of the Austrian alps. Could not be thinner and warmer.
Well done, will look into the other items to stock up my winter clothing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Like Sunlight

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
dgriffith21
Location: Elkton, Md.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the most effective layer I have ever purchased, but it sizes a little large so keep that in mind when buying yours! The warmth to weight ratio is off the charts for this jacket. On a windy or rainy day i'll throw it under my shell, but where this really stands out is when it's being worn by it's self. On a cool day this jacket weighs so little and provides so much warmth, it feels like sun rays hitting your back and nothing else.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
samthebrit
Location: Denver Co
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't tell you how much I love this jacket. Light would be a heavy word to use. A great layer that is SUPER light weight.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely light weight

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Photodude
Location: Lancaster, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took this jacket with me to the Grand Teton National Park while leading a photo tour at the end of September this year. It performed extremely well keeping me warm on those cold Wyoming mornings. To be honest the colors are pretty bright and I took a beating from our group all week about where I stored my batteries for the jacket (LOL).
Bottom line: I'd highly recommend the jacket. Although it's lightweight it shed down very little.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs VERY large

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
acmissteen
Location: Sacramento, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got a Medium size, which is always my size, but the jacket was enormous. The arms were too long, the body too baggy. Although it is great quality, the jacket was immediately returned.
I would recommend this product.
-13points
4of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CaptainObvious
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about CaptainObvious is loaded.
Additional information about CaptainObvious could not be loaded.
Posted October 3, 2012
That would men you should try a smaller size, seems obvious
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Men's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the best. Period.

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grasshopper1
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work in the outdoor gear and apparel industry and I have never seen a jacket so plush as the Ghost Whisperer. It has a higher fill and lighter/stronger shell material than any of it's competitors' ultralight down jackets. AND it stuffs into it's own pocket, rather than just including a cheap stuff sack that could easily be lost. All this means that the MH jacket is lighter and warmer than anything else on the market. I haven't had a chance to take it out into the back country but the fit is perfect for me (5'11" x 160lbs). Construction is impeccable, as is to be expected, but it's the attention to detail that makes it such a fine addition to my gear closet. I was really hoping to get it in the Cloud color, but black was my next choice, however it'll probably show less signs of dirt. PS, I got a small and it weighs exactly 6.8oz. Thanks Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.