Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket

Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome bring it everywhere jacket

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
dawaves
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never write reviews for products but this one is an exception.
I've had mine for about 2 years now and still love it! The fit and function of the Compressor Hooded are perfect (I'm 5' 5' athletic frame and small fits perfectly). The Quality has stood up to numerous weekend trips, backpacking excursions, canoeing expeditions, and car camping trips. I literally bring this every time there is a trip of some sort. Looks good with just jeans for a night out too!
If and when this thing falls apart on me (or most likely I lose it or it gets stolen), I'll definitely buy another.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent synthetic insulation layer!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JFailing
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 2010 version of this jacket, and it was going strong until a month ago when I began having trouble with the zipper. Sent it to MH to be repaired and now it will continue to keep me warm for years to come!
It's suprisingly durable, considering how apparently thin the outer material feels. I've climbed many pitches wearing it - note that the hood fits over a helmet *perfectly*. There are maybe two or three small tears in the outer fabric, but are from scrambling around caves in J-Tree, but were easily patched.
It keeps me plenty warm at cold belays, though I add an extra layer or two when I'm hanging out at camp.
I'm 5'11, 185 lbs and bought a large - if I wanted to be a bit more stylish, Medium would probably be a more "snug" fit. For utlity though, range of motion was more important, and a Large fits great.
Excellent jacket - when my Compressor eventually dies, I'll most likely replace it with another one!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, still a bit of an odd fit

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
qmoto
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This remains an excellent jacket. The fit has been adjusted this year, but it still fits a bit differently than other brands. I am 5'10" and weight about 175. I wear a medium in EVERYTHING (socks, gloves, jackets, pants), but the medium doesn't fit quite right. Mainly in the armpits its just a little too tight.
The chest, as other people have mentioned, is also a little baggie; however I have found that this works really well with a down vest (which is what I wear most often under the jacket in the early spring).
I like the jacket and would LOVE it if the armpits didn't always remind me that the jacket is just a little too small. Besides that its a great piece and I recommend it, you just might want to try one on in a store before buying it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect active insulation

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zeph
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've owned two of these now and I've loved both. They work great as an insulation layer below my shell for trekking or skiing, or even around town as an outer. Plus there's a surprisingly resilient DWR on the exterior that has gotten me through more than a few surprise rain showers when I didn't have my rain shell handy.
A note on sizing: I originally owned a medium which fit me great at 5'7" 165-athletic, then an airline lost my luggage (including the jacket) so I reordered the same model and sizing. They redesigned the jacket some time in the past 8 months (adding the butter-jersey cuffs and redoing some of the paneling) and the new version definitely fits substantially larger. It fit my friend who typically wears MH Large perfectly. I ended up exchanging for a Small, which is much better through the torso, though the arm openings are a little on the small side if you have a muscular upper body.
All in all though, my favorite insulated jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love This Jacket

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
desertsage
Location: Bellingham, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I should begin by saying that I have last year's model.
My Hooded Compressor Jacket has become my absolute favorite. I use it on all of my hikes and backpacking trips in the North Cascades as well as my everyday winter jacket in the lowlands. It glides smoothly over underlayers, feeling silky and light. I feel a little silly, but I actually bought a second one.
This jacket keeps me much warmer than my previous poly fill jacket, even in sub-freezing weather.
Previous reviewers have said that the sizing is too large, but I find it to be pretty true. considering that there is room for an underlayer shirt or two. I wouldn't call the fit "trim". I usually have a tough time getting sleeves that are long enough for me, but this one seems to work fine, although a tad longer wouldn't be going overboard.
I have been so appreciating the hood on those cold and windy nights at camp.
I am hearing that the newer version is even better and plan to buy one in the future. The newer version may have this feature, but I miss being able to stuff it into its own pocket with a double zipper, like my previous jacket. Either that, or it would be nice if it came with a stuff sack. The new version may come with one. I haven't checked into that.
I highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing is a hard.

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeardedCanadian
Location: Sutton, MA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I had this jacket for about a year now and before that had the hoodless one. I have several MH jackets and this one was totally confusing to me.
Let me start by saying that this jacket is pretty warm, and very durable. I had it in the field for about 80 nights and the only issue I had with it is a burn hole..come on MH you mean this jacket won't stop fire! Other than that it has held up very well.
It is light and compressable and a love taking it with me even on winter trips as a quick over my shell layer for lunch stops.
The biggest issue I had is the sizing. I am normally a Meduim with MH (5'9 185lbs) and ordered a medium in this jacket. Well it fit perfect in the body. (I have no beer gut and broad shoulders). The sleeves were a little short and the armholes at the shoulders were incredibly tight. I mean tight enough that I couldn't really move my arms. I felt like that kid from Christmas Story.
No biggie, I contacted MH and they sent me out a large. BAM problem fixed. Everything fit perfectly. That is everything if I was a 50 year old who lives in his mom's basement and eats raw cookie dough and plays video games all day. The shoulders, arms and chest fit perfect! The stomach, well I could fit a few small children in there. I am not sure what the intention in making it so "roomy" was. I can't wear this jacket under anything because it is just too bulky in the belly. I guess I could solve this issue by eating some cookie dough, but I am not into that so it has become my over the shell jacket.
Love the jacket, well made, but just not sleek enough to layer effectively. I don't want to speed skate in in, but I would like it to fit under my shell.
Maybe I am missing something....Don't be afraid to buy this jacket, just be aware of some of the drawbacks. Maybe with this years version they have fixed it.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tlaugh
Seattle, WA
 
Please wait while more information about tlaugh is loaded.
Additional information about tlaugh could not be loaded.
Much better now
Posted January 10, 2013
I had the exact same issue with the last version. In order to get one with sleeves long enough I had to go XL and the fit in the body was like a giant Hefty bag. Didn't stop me from wearing it all the time though. I just got the newest version (the one here) in L and it's awesome. The cuffs on the sleeves are a big improvement and the fit is much more technical/sleek. Kudos to MH for improving an already great jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket!!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CameronMT
Location: Bozeman, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I initially bought this jacket to wear underneath me ski coat shell and it works great for that! sometimes a little warm on the hotter days but almost all the time its the perfect temperature even in extreme cold. This jacket also works great as an outer layer when wearing casually around town in the winter. A+ mountain hardwear, great job! I am 6 foot and 175 pounds and i got the large. it is a slightly long fit but perfect in the sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than last version

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
tlaugh
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this jacket a couple years ago and have worn it extensively in variable conditions and activities. It's exceptionally light and warm, blocks the wind like a barn door, and sheds water far better than I'd expected. The fit on my first one was my only complaint - size L fit in the body but the arms were too short. XL was baggy in the body and even a little long in the arms. In the new version the L is perfect. Technical fit in the body and perfect arm length with some room for error with the addition of the cuffs. I look forward to putting this version through the same rigors of the last (which is now designated for fly fishing only). Nice job taking a great jacket and making it even better!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BeardedCanadian
Sutton, MA
 
Please wait while more information about BeardedCanadian is loaded.
Additional information about BeardedCanadian could not be loaded.
Thanks...
Posted March 20, 2013
Thanks for the update...you just cost me $200. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, with a few little exceptions

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reed
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have really long arms, and this jacket was baggy in the arms for a size that's usually just perfect. It's pretty baggy in the body too, but I'm a skinny guy. Also, the color is a very bright yellow, so make sure that doesn't matter beforehand. I love the jacket though, very sharp. Pleased with the purchase
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Hooded Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great lookin jacket

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Littlebean13
Location: PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is everything you could ask for. It has eye candy appeal, it is very warm and does great in a light rain. I also climb so i was thinkin it might make myself sweat to much, but its an even match.. not to much or little..the bad, look around before you buy it the day i bought it and looked it up somewhere eles big difference in price..big enough difference to kick myself !!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.