Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket

Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Athletic Fleece

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
Hirsch
Location: Jackson, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This fleece jacket makes for a great winter mid layer or a warm fleece in the fall. Obviously, it’s not going to do anything for you as outerwear in a rainstorm. Also, it’s not wind resistant at all. However, what it lacks in outwear protection it gains in breathability. This piece truly shines as a mid layer. It’s thin, warm, breathable, and has a trim athletic fit. You can wear it for days at a time without having severe odor issues. I'm 6'3 and 180 lbs and received a Large, but believe an XL would have been a better fit for me (or rather Large Tall if it existed). While it fits my shoulders and torso well, I can't use the thumb loops for more than a few minutes without feeling them digging in (common problem for me, I'm just tall, skinny and gangly, which is why I still say it fits true to size). Zipping up with the hood on would also probably be more comfortable for me in an XL. The pocket arrangement is basic and well organized, but with the athletic cut of the jacket don’t expect to store anything larger than you’re phone or iPod. The fleece material has a great texture that makes for a very comfortable feel to the jacket.
Other than my personal sizing issues I'm stoked on the jacket. I think it's great for cold weather running, fall outerwear, or a mid layer on cold winter days. With a nice base layer underneath (or maybe two) I'm comfortable using this jacket as outerwear down to around 25 degrees if it’s not windy, maybe around 15 degrees if I'm going for a run (take note that I'm used to living in Vermont, Fraser Valley CO, and Jackson… I’m accustomed to cold). I’d recommend this product to anyone looking for a light fleece for active cold weather use!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good monkey

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
aiRNout
Location: West Chester, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As I was about to purchase another monkey man, I decided I should probably write a review. This is the end all mid-layer. I used to wear a regular monkey man jacket and it was just too hot! I found the grid and never looked back. Hood goes under my helmet, length tucks into my pants, and thumb holes keep the sleeves in my gloves. Many brands make something similar so do your homework! Yes this piece fits tight, but it is intended to. That said, the arms and length are more than generous. No messy bulk, just warmth where you need it and ample stretch where you bend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and breathable

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
SkiPatrolDude
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, great fit, super breathable, but super flammable like an ember hit my arm and now there is a hole the size of a silver dollar.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT AT ALL WHAT I HOPED FOR

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
RandallFlagg
Location: Adirondacks of New York
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was truly hoping for a warm and comfortable mid-layer for winter endeavors. It appears to be geared more towards spring and fall activities where you have little chance of getting wet and/or sweating.
It is comfortable, as advertised. It is stylish, as shown.
It is absolutely devoid of any odor resistance. It stays wet considerably longer than you would hope.
I will no longer wear it under my MH winter climbing shell because it CONSTANTLY climbs up my back under the shell and bunches up about three inches below my shoulder blades (infuriating). I think this might be due to the directional nature of the high loft "monkey fur" grabbing on the lining of the close fitting shell.
It's a great "jacket" for hanging around camp, or maybe in the perfect conditions where you could use it as a top layer, or as another reviewer stated, for watching a football game. It almost seems like a cozy style piece to me, but with a purpose built hood that counters the lack of real world functionality of the rest of the "jacket".
All in all, to me at least, it seams like a confused full zip hoodie at a very steep price. I would return it for something more functional if I hadn't already given it two chances (and two washes- did I mention it gets SUPER stinky, SUPER fast?) in the field.
Disappointed with this purchase. Did not need another hoodie. Needed a functional mid-layer.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket, just know what you want it for...

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
avidhiker
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The monkeyman is a great fuzzy piece of comfort as a base layer or a cool morning or afternoon. Just don't expect more from this jacket than a counter to cool weather. It is not water / wind resistant. I have yet to test it enough to be able to opine on the resilience of the sewing around the zipper as other have commented. As is MH style, the jacket is a little longer than traditional sizing, but less so than the comparable Desna jacket. If you are looking for something a bit more coverage oriented (albeit a bit heavier) go for the Densa. The hood is close fitting and, as marketed, a great layer under a helmet in lieu of / addition to a hat. Overall, good for cool weather with no precip, comfort by the campfire or an extra layer to sleep in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
mjg2
Location: park city,ut
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i find this piece to be a bit lightweight for a stand alone, but i'm expecting it to be perfect for layering. and it fits very close to the skin, it's challenging to fit anything but a polypro underneath.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Back to the drawing board

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
georgeand
Location: Whitefish, Montana
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I want to like this shirt. It is warm enough but breathable for cold active pursuits. I use it as an outer layer with a wool t-shirt while ski touring/mountaineering in NW Montana. and as mid layer under a shell, maybe with a down vest, while skiing.
The design is on its way to being great, but falls short in a few ways. particularly given the cost.
The stitching along the zipper began to snag and pull out the first time I put it on... The fit is snug, which I don't mind, but the thumb loops are not really usable. They are slits in the sleeve, not loops in an extended cuff. So wearing them is pretty uncomfortable .
I wish the hood zipped up higher like a balaclava.
I am 5'8 135lbs a small fits just right.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for its intended use

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
970ah
Location: Michigan
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is pretty awesome. I'm picky when it comes to filling my gear needs; I don't just purchase the first thing that has the features I want. I had been looking for a mid-layer to go under my windproof/waterproof shell for skiing/snowboarding, and this is it. I like the slimmer fit, I like the look/texture of what I'd call a 200-weight fleece, I like the location and angle of the chest zipper and pocket, but I especially like the hood. While the hood isn't perfect, as I'd like it to be a slimmer fit than what it is, it's hard to find a product this simple with a slim fit hood in the first place (or a hood at all). Most jackets I've found with a slim fit hood also have some form of synthetic fill insulation (at least across the torso) with a couple layers of nylon material, which I'd think would hinder breathability during higher levels of exertion. I like that this is as much fleece as possible, with the added benefit of a hood that can go under my helmet.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thin fleece, tight fit, shoddy stitching

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wally
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very thin fleece, not a quality work piece but should work well casually. I like the texture (wife hates it), snug fit, sleeve length is good. Stitching along the zipper liner has unraveled in four places already.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lightweight jacket I've ever owned

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BFish
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I owned the first version Monkey Man jacket and others since, and this is by far the best one ever made. The "grid" spacing and use of the stretch fabrics makes it lighter and more breathable than previous versions, and the hood is a welcomed addition. It's not waterproof or wind-repellant, but that's not what it's for. If you're looking for a lightweight, warm jacket for cold days, this is the most comfortable and functional one I have ever had.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Monkey Man Grid™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fleece

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
habbro
Location: savannah, ga
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure about this "jacket" when I placed my order. This thing is phenomenal. It is much wamer than I expected (I live in South). I wish it were a little more windproof. Great jacket for football season.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.