Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Desna™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Desna™ Jacket

Desna™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but, not great

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ranger6
Location: Everett, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The size runs a bit large. I expected it to be similar material to the Densa hoody. I like the pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Running big

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ytjhguy
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This one is lately running big. I normally take a large in Mtn Hdwr tops, but had to switch to a medium as the large was just too large. I'm 6'1" 165 lbs. Athletic fit? At any rate, it's a basic "inside-out" light weight fleece. Fuzzy inside, and smooth outside, which makes a lot of sense.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Densa light hoody rocks!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dandy
Location: Southern Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I like my new Densa Hoody. It's perfect for layering and is comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SOLID jacket!!

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iceberg
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over a base layer, under a shell or as a stand alone piece, pick your conditions and this jacket excels everywhere: Spring bluebird days in the Rockies, summer ascents on Rainier, or just knocking back a couple beers after a day on the rocks, this garment is always on my back or in my pack.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purchaser

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeMama
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice lightweight coat. Approprite sixe for what I ordered.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A versatile workhorse

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
SawtoothScott
Location: Boise ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The previous reviewers have this jacket called right- it is a workhorse and it is an essential companion on all cool to cold weather activities. I have used my Desna on late season backpacking trips and as an insulating layer under my old MHW Synchro jacket skiing. The thumb holes are super but what rocks this jacket is the hood. It fits when fully zipped like a balaclava. Whether under a ski helmet or under a climbing helmet, the fit is close but not snug and it articulates pretty well. So far the jacket has seen a fair amount of use but it shows no wear and tear. The Desna is going with me in June to Shasta and I expect to wear it under a shell on the ascent.
I am just under 6' tall and 195 lbs and the fit of the large is spot on. This is a very versatile piece of gear and I hope you enjoy yours as I do mine.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very functional with the hood

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this last year - and wear it all of the time because I love snug fit and hood. It is awesome skiing - the snug fitting hood provides great neck protection and extra warmth under my Giro Seam helmet. When hood not required, with the zipper up all the way its a great neck gaitor.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome piece to add to your closet

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kilroy
Location: Warren, Vt/Circleville, Wv
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing piece of gear, great quality. I've had mine since last Feb. I wore it every day the weather called for a mid weight fleece while guiding climbing, so mine has seen a lot of use in that short time. Love the thumb loops, I wish more fleeces came with them. So technically I have last years model, therefore a few of my gripes with the jacket might have been taken into consideration with the new years model.
Anyway, a few gripes, please take with a grain of salt. The material around the thumb loops is a super stretchy polartec fleece, awesome material, i've just noticed a lot of pilling due to wearing while climbing. In no way do i think this will become a problem with the integrity of the material, just kinda irksome to notice it start a few months into owning the jacket.
Second issue i've had is the hood. I originally bought this jacket to replace my patagonia r1 hoody, the hoody on this jacket is just a little loose in comparison to the r1. still works great while wearing it with a helmet, you really cant notice it until a nice wind gust blows some cold air into the hood. It looks like the newer version of the jacket takes care of that issue though.
While I've mentioned it, this jacket is heavier than the r1, so take that into consideration, its a lot warmer than the patagonia, but also breathes a lot better imho.
Other than that, super well designed, good combination of materials, the pockets are in the perfect location to access with a harness on, and it actually moves with you! Looks like the newest version of this jacket is pretty much perfect!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket. Smaller than the Desna Pullover though.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sleeper
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket for all the reasons mentioned above.
I wanted to let people know that the fit is smaller than the Desna pullover though. My small pullover fits perfect and I bought the small jacket to match (without trying it on).
The jacket fits much smaller than the pullover. The arms are shorter, the body is more snug. I won't have a chanceto exchange so I'll make due but I should have bought a medium jacket I guess.
Try this jacket and the pullover seperatly to get the correct sizing on each garment. Although they are the same model the cuts differ.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I dig it!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bennett
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Desna as an athletic piece without having checked out the material prior to my purchase. I was unfamiliar with the type of Polartec fleece it is made of, but I ordered it anyways on a hunch. It is perfect. I love powerstretch, but this material is better. It is a more wind resistant face (even though power stretch is surprisingly resistant to wind) but not too hot for aerobic activities and the power stretch panels are great for breathability. I use it as a midlayer and a cold weather running piece. It will be great under a shell and the balaclava hood is perfect for if I forget a hat in the winter (I never grow my hair out to keep my head warm). It fits very well too. I am too broad in the shoulders for a medium but normally too short (5'8") for a large, but the length on the large isn't bad. If I use the thumb holes with gloves the sleeves are perfect, but they are a little long during casual wear. Someone taller (up to about 6 feet) will find the fit perfect. Overall it breathes well in the right places, is easy to slide into a shell, is just the right thickness and amount of warm, and looks good too. I hope that my boss at the shop decides to stock this piece and that Mountain Hardwear continues to produce it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent, needs tailoring for the musclehead

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
crewdoglm
Location: Northern CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the pullover version also so you can count that as a vote. The Desna fabric is fantastic for aerobic stuff. The cut of the hood and neck is well-thought out. This will definitely keep ice from going down your neck and it works with a helmet. The hardface finish provides some wind protection and the inside is luxurious - great for sleeping worn right against the skin although the zipper can be felt. The cut of the garment needs to be improved if it is truly an item for the athlete. Mine had be to tapered dramatically to get a snug comfy feel. I am wide (XL) in the back/chest and shoulders but about a medium (31) in the waist. The athletic V-shape is NOT how they cut this thing. It tucks into your pants well for wearing with a harness and the arms are free for overhead movement. Highly recommended although I hope they fine tune the cut.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great middle layer

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: mariposa, california
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice and light weight and warm. awsome middle layer and i love the hood.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mid Weight Layer

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JRHut
Location: NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got mine today and immediately put it to use to ward off the 60mph wind gusts. I layered it with my MHW shell and both did an excellent job of keeping me from suffering from the elements. I did have to venture out without the shell & this jacket did an excellent job of keeping me warm during 35 degree & 30-40mph winds. The hood is a great feature & I was initially concerned about the baklava style but it actually looks great unzipped. I can't wait to try this out in the Adirondaks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fullfilled all expectations.

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lazlo
Location: Northern California
Right out of the box, I was happy. I liked the color, I liked the texture, I liked the weight. I had high hopes and Mountain Hardware fulfilled. The jacket fit well. It doesn't bunch anywhere, it stretches nicely where it needs to. Warmth is great for such a thin layer. The hood is comfortable while worn. The balaclava doesn't scrape or ride.
The day after receiving the Desna Jacket I went for a backcountry rock climb. Several mile approach, bushwack through manzanita, 5 pitches (1000 feet) of climbing. The temperature was between 28 and 50 the whole day. The Desna Jacket worked as my base layer as we started our hike in the morning. Later on, it started to take the role of a belay jacket while we climbed and it got windy. And finally, it kept me warm during the hike out in the dark. The Desna Jacket even wicks well...especially for its' thicker nature.
I highly recommend this jacket.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ditto on THE BADEST HOODIE ON EARTH!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Outback
Location: South Carolina
Another reviewer said this is the "badest hoodie on the planet." Mega dittos on that. This jacket just plain ROCKS. The only product that comes close to this is the Rab Shadow Hoodie, however, that (very nice) piece is a bit heavier. The Desna is basically like MHW's Polartech Power Stretch weight with the added "Hardface" material. It's perfect for active use, or a mid-to-heavy weight fleece layer. The details abound...stretch in the sides, thumb loops, impeccable stitching...just plain NICE and the hoodie works like nothing else in the category. Sizing: think SNUG, but it's meant to be this way. I am 6'2", 205 lbs. and the size LARGE fits me perfect. I can wear, say, a silk-weight layer a mid-weight layer under this (think Patagonia Capliene 1 3) and it's a nice snug fit...and with this combo, I would be good at moderate activity down to temps in the 20s. Bottom line: BUY ONE!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muy perfecto for my needs

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
The hood is super functional and really maximizes warmth around your neck and ears vs a lower cut, looser fitting hood. I also like the snug fit main body of the jacket. I wanted a functional mid layer or jacket for light weight duty around town - thi s is it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
cmonster
Excellent fit, love the color (got the red) breathes well and actually sheds a light rain! This Jacket is my new best friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Desna's great fit, form

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Corey
User submitted photo
I just picked up a Desna Jacket for hiking/driving my convertable in Wyoming and work overseas. The fit is on target leaving just enough room for layering. It warmed up a bit today and the breathability prevented moisture buildup. I like it and glad to add it to my HARD WEAR ensemble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my favorite mid layer!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoshM
Location: Tahoe City CA
I use this 'jacket' primarily as a mid layer while snowboarding. The balaclava hood is so nice when sitting on the lift or when you want to protect your face when bombing it down the hill. Basically eliminates the need for a scarf/gator/whatever, really cleaning up the whole ensemble, and providing much more on the fly fly adjust-ability and versatility. I would say it runs snug. I am 5'10" and 200lbs, so a large is a bit snug through the chest, shoulders and arms...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Desna™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket ever

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Twap
Location: Berchtesgaden, Germany
I absolutely love this jacket! Its the perfect midlayer but also can be worn alone.
I am using it for everything from high altitude mountaineering to mountain biking and even ultra marathons.
Its just perfect
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.