Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket

Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and versatile jacket

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hokie13
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this jacket (medium, black) now for about a month. It's designed well, has inner, outer, and chest pockets, and serves well as an outer layer in cool weather or as an intermediate layer in the very low temperatures. The pattern of the fiber stitching is a bit different than other fleece jackets, which I like. Watch out for cats or dogs clawing at it though, as the fibers will catch (just like any jacket of similar material construction).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philip
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love how this jacket looks and feels. Can be worn to work for a little sportier feel but the tweed look keeps it classy. Wind cuts right through it though so not the best layer outdoors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feel

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
lenny07
Location: san francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really nice & warm. doesn't look like the average sweatshirt/ hoodie & more comfortable than a coat
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Toasty Tweed

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris35
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really fell in love with this at another retailer and ordered it online from MHW (color was unavailable at the store at the time). When it showed up it was a tad larger than the ones I had tried on but that was fine. It's very comfortable and very warm. However, it pills up something fierce. I have to go over it about once a week now and I have had it since December. Since it's weave is what originally drew me to it, this is a big drawback for me.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm, well-made fleece

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
PeterV
Location: Northwestern Washington State
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm liking this new fleece! It's warm for its weight and is very well made. Nothing feels cheap, no corners were cut.
It fits bigger than I expected, that was my big surprise. I normally opt for XL for fleece, as they almost universally shrink a bit after the first wash. This one didn't shrink, and fits slightly larger than I'd have expected. It drapes a bit, in retrospect a L would have probably been more conformed to my shape (5'9, 200lbs, 45/46" chest).
The only other thing of note is the zippers are fairly stiff. They don't zip fluidly, occasionally requiring me to hold down the fleece with one hand while zipping/unzipping with the other. This isn't necessarily a negative, per se, just something I noticed.
But it's warm and soft. I think the next one I get will be the Large, since I like the fleeces to fit a bit more conformed to my body for insulating ability. It doesn't have quite the snazzy business casual look I was hoping for because of the extra material.
One last comment... I ordered black. In all sorts of light, it seems more of a dark brown than a black. Not sure if this is mine only or common to the style, but its noticeably not "black" as one normally would define it.
I still recommend it! Had the size fit like I thought it would (based on other MHW stuff), it'd have been perfect. Warm, soft, but classier than your run-of-the-mill fleece jackets. It's worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome (as usual MH) but runs large

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
doctorzero
Location: Durango, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, uptown medium weight jacket. Great for casual dress/ non-technical warmth down to freezing for me. Does run large though as previously mentioned. Normally, I wear XL T-shirts etc but the XL was like a big cozy sweatshirt. Still wearable but I ordered a large that is better IMO for a neater, date nite look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Other people have asked me for it

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
jeepbrody
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and surprisingly warm.
And the tweed cooler can be worn for almost any occasion.
Only drawback I have is not a lot of wind stoppage and is a little long in my opinion. I am 5' 9" and feel a little funny with the extra material at the bottom when zipped up. On a positive note the excess keeps you covered when doing activities (loading building supplies and reaching over head)
All in all still very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BD99
Location: AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fleece is exactly what I was looking for. Fantastic quality and fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket, but why mesh pockets?

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
outdoorguy
Location: Oakland
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great jacket. I was very pleased when I purchased it, as it seemed like a great fleece. It fits perfectly and I love the design. However, my main problem with this jacket are the hand warmer pockets. There are made of mesh, which doesn't keep my hands warm at all. In fact, my hands feel cold when I put them in the pockets. Since the material is mesh, cold air can easily get into the jacket, so in order to trap out all cold air, you really can't use the hand warmer pockets. This is my only problem with the jacket. Other than this I love it. But why mesh??
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Won't take it off...

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikki
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my husband a couple of weeks ago and since it arrived, I don't think he has taken it off! (That says a lot as we were replacing a fleece he bought on our honeymoon that he was very hesitant to part with).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Toasty Tweed™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall very warm jacket

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alex123
Location: ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicely made, warm. would have preferred a more athletic fit but otherwise awesome jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.