Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Winter Wander™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Winter Wander™ Pant

Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants for cooler temperatures

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MadMotts
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice light/mid weight softshell pant. Heavier than a regular hiking pant. These pants have a decent amount of stretch so I think going about 1" waist size down is right- I'm a 33 and it feels like a 34+. If you want to put an extra layer then maybe true to size. They have a funky draw cord at the bottom of each leg. I haven't had them for too long to determine the durability, but softshell material is generally pretty rugged.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable Tech Pants that work

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ShreddyMcGhee
Location: Richmond, VT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these out of a need for a decent winter hiking pant. The fit is decent and the gussetted crotch is very helpful with mobility in the mountains. The small bit of lining seems just right for 20 degree days moving. Possibly a poly long underwear layer on trips that require stopping for any longer period of time. I have not had a long history with them yet but so far they are great. The quality is like all Mnt. Hardware products. I expect to use them for many years
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely tough and utilitarian

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tifoso
Location: Maryland (Appalachia)
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for cold weather runs in rough terrain. Made of a heavy, durable softshell-style material. They will handle moderate to thick brush with no problem. I wear them right through the thicket with no snags or thorns poking through. The tuck-away draw cords at the bottom of the cuff are great!
In very cold weather, a base-layer is worthwhile underneath. But they are my go-to pants for rough terrain. Only point of caution is the size. Had to go a size down on the waist. But, the smaller size fits like a glove. If you are considering these pants, take the time to call MHW and get specific sizing information on them. (Lastly, if you carry a pocket/ EDC knife, expect the thumb or finger flipper to wear a slight mark on the inside of the pocket where it rubs above the clip)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, shape-keeping pant

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bob4HWF
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants. I have both a black and a gray pair. They are sturdy, non-wrinkling and fit well in all regards. They can be worn from outdoor activities to casual dressy. They feel great. They've already become my go-to pant.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just shy of the Ultimate pants.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
NewEnglandMountaineer
Location: Boston
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second pair of the “Winter Wander” which tells you something. These are pretty rugged pants I have used for going commuting to the office as well as for ice climbing (with some pretty good thermal underwear of course). They have a nice stretch and I love the draw cord cuffs to keep the snow out but they are hidden so in the office they do not look like outdoor pants. My old ones had zip back pockets which I love. Unfortunately the new ones don’t but the side zip pocket is placed at a better angle. All around great pants for wearing a business shirt or in full ascent up a mountain. I am going to only 4 stars though due to the loss of the zippers in the back, if they added that back, they would be the ultimate pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable and great quality

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bobby44
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a trecking pant for an upcoming trip and found these to be exceptionally comfortable and very true to size. Being able to order specific waist/inseam measurements was a real bonus and yields all day comfort. Although most of the pockets are open limiting their usage, they're great for warming your hands or pocketing an mp3 player. The combination of an athletic cut and stretch material provides great flexibility without any extra material getting in the way. I'd definitely recommend these and will likely order a second pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most-Greatest-pants. EVER.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Matt5000
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these pants in black. After a day, I got online and bought them in titanium as well. They stretch enough to be comfortable, but still feel trim and stylish. I wear them around town with a light 3/4 base layer. On mountain days I wear a powerstretch tight under them. On resort days I just put my gore shell on over them and hit the snow. I have never felt restricted in movement, and they have held up to 15+ days of skiing as a "mid-layer". At the end of the day, I take my shell off and drive home; and if I stop for apres, I don't look like a gaper in my shell.
I get lots of compliments on the looks of the pants while "on the town", and I wear them to work without even thinking about it. If you are required to wear a suit to work, your mileage may vary; but in my case, business-casual, these pants are good-to-go.
They are also quite good at winter-hiking, and shed water "well-enough" that I wear them with confidence on extended hikes in the PacNW, knowing that a little rain won't get me soaked. All-in-all, my favorite pants, and I'll probably buy another 2 pair to keep around until I wear through the 2 that I already have.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants I Own

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gladson13
Location: St Louis MO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are my favorite pair of pants. They are really comfortable and warm. I use them for hiking along with every day usage. I will be ordering the black pair as well. Thanks
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new pants

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
urge19
Location: gem village, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these are some rad pants. i want another pair. put them on the day they arived, didn't take them off for 8 days. like not even when i was sleeping.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Size Down for better fit

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
txcaley
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm with the previous reviewer, these pants are good but could've been great. They are certainly warmer than an average pair of softshell pants, and I love the built-in stretch and soft waist liner, but there is too much stretch built in, in my opinion. Within an hour of putting on what feels like a perfect fit, you'll be pulling up on the waist band or tightening your belt or both. It's a shame because they go from a perfectly comfortable "snug on your butt" fit too "baggy-assed wallet flapping." For best sizing, consider ordering down a size in the waist...length is normal. Also, as with all pants of this type, they are noisy when you walk.
Other than that they're great though. Super comfy, sharp looking and perfect for going about town in cold weather.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be great

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Justntym
Location: Louisville
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was torn between the Yumalino and the Winter Wander pant. I was looking for a nice technical pair of pants with the warmth to get through a long winter. My wife ordered the Yumalinos and me the Winter Wander (after all they cost more so they should be better right?)
This pant is super comfortable but lacks the butter soft lining of the Yumalino. I appears the Yumalino is much warmer and more comfortable with the same amount of stretch. I am 5'9", 215lbs and wear a 36 waist. The size 36 is huge on me! Do yourself a favor and size down. The stretch in the waistband to drop you a waist size. They also do not look GQ like other posts say either. Like look like a pair of track pants. I will not be wearing these around town and my work would send me home if I wore them.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Step back from the last year's model

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
kkkk
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros:
same durable and wind resistant material, practical, stain-proof colour (titanium), comfortable stretch and tricot-lined waist, new thigh pocket (lower profile than the last year's)
Cons:
shallower and non-slanted side pockets as well as non-zippered back pockets are a step back from the previous version. This isn't jeans, you're meant to be able to actually carry something in your pockets and not have it fall out/dig into your midsection every time you bend your hips.
oh, and make sure to take longer inseam than you're used to with cotton pants
These stretch, but don't bind at the knees because the softshell material is slippery, so they ride up significantly whenever you sit down or make high steps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Best Pants I Own"

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ocmikeyb
Location: So Cal
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pant. I use them on the trail or in town. They are so nice I usually use them for around town. They have a dress (GQ) look to them. The four way stretch makes them functional and totally comfy. Front pockets are the right depth and side zip pocket is placed in the right location.
All in all these are the best pants I own. I have them in black and titanium (light grey). Not that it matters but you will get plenty of compliments on these pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Board room to the Backcountry

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
JP24
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my second pair of these after finally wearing out my first pair. That took 2 years of abuse and lots of wear. They are amazing for just about everything active and outdoorsy that I do in Portland. From hiking, disc and ball golf, fishing, snowshoeing, paintball, and biking - these pants hold tough, shed water/mud, and allow me the mobility to excel. I also work in a business environment and can dress them up a bit for that purpose. Lots of compliments from people at the office as well as random people I meet during my various outdoor escapades. Bought 2 pairs this year and know I won't have to buy more for at least a few years, but will probably have to check out next year's style changes when they come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

New pocket design disappoints

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nickk
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I have an older version of this product which I like very much. However, the new version has re-designed pockets which I don't like a bit.
Back pockets are much smaller, and have no zippers anymore. 'Cell phone' pocket is very awkward to access, even if may be bigger.
Side pockets have less comfortable feel.
Material seems to be the same, so the pants may otherwise serve as well as the old ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the BEST!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Krafty
Location: Denver, CO - LoDo and Breckenridge
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants for a trip to Spain which included sleeping on long haul flight, dressy occassions in San Sebastian to eat Pintxos and hiking in Picos De Europa. Whatever the venue these pants functioned well and looked good doing it - kinda like me:). I would highly reccomend for all occassions 4 star hotels to tents and backpacking. Hip, hip HOORAY!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent work pants

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Echinata
Location: Durham, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these to see if they could hold up to a few months of fall and winter timber inventory work. "Tech" pants I have used in the past tend to shred up quickly so I usually just stick to carhartts and a pair of long underwear. These are tough enough to hold up to briars, warm enough and water repellent enough to deal with the winter and soggy fall and early spring weather, and breathable enough for those days where it ends up being a lot warmer than you expected. I'll be picking up a few more pairs for next season.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Wander WONDER

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanderer
Location: Kansas City
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think these are the best constructed, durable and most comfortable pants I have ever owned. I had the last version... and liked them, but the new fit is great. I am 5'-9", ("slim 31" waist, 32-33 long, and these fit like a glove. Only warning... don't wear these on the airplane, as they slide in the seat. But I took them to Europe and they were worn nearly every day for a week... they are a fantastic bargain because of their comfort, fit and quality.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDPorstmouth
Location: Portsmouth nh
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants!. These are great for anything outdoors in the winter: Alpine skiing, snowshoeing, walks, sledding and shoveling.
These pants are a perfect blend of active wear and style. A great tailored fit. Bottoms flair a bit to fit perfectly around your boot. There is a draw string on the bottom of the pant - great for deep snow conditions. The pockets are perfect.
The pant weight is perfect for weather down to 15 degrees. Below that I throw on light base layer.
One of my best all time purchases for outdoor gear - I just bought a second pair!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Wander

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DJake
Location: East Bay, California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent elasticity, wind resistant, nice fit
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.