Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Nitrous™ Vest

Mountain Hardwear Men's Nitrous™ Vest

Nitrous™ Vest
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Review 1 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everyday Go To Jacket

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
jaxshuds
Location: south carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this vest almost every day its lightweight and packs down great. Fit is a little tight in chest and big in stomach. But other then that great buy for the money
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Fit and Low Loft

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Budge72
Location: Plano, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This review is the same I gave for the Nitrous jacket. The cut and fit was very poor, with a box cut that has no taper from the chest to the waist. In fact, the chest was cut tighter than the waist. I'm a perfect medium in most clothes (6 ft tall, 170 lbs, 40 reg jacket, and 32 in waist). I tried a Patagonia down vest and the cut was better, the loft was thicker, and it came with DWR. So I returned the Nitrous.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Piece

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
sawboywv
Location: WV
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice piece, stand alone or insulating. Nice fit & very warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

800-fill goose ?

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
GUDI
Location: LA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the product is suppose to be 800-fill goose . i can't feel it yet. i have had other brands where the point 600-fill goose and its way warmer than this one.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ed1524
Location: San Diego
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this for my upcoming JMT treck. As the owner of many Mt. Hardware pieces I love the brand and expect a lot for the prices they command. I own the technical fleece vest and expected the Nitrous to fit much like it. Not even close. To tight in the chest, to wide in the waist, definitely to long. Returned it and bought the Patagonia; all fit issues resolved. The Patagonia even had more loft in the down fill.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check Size Before You Buy

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spee
Location: Burlingame, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I liked this vest a lot, and I tried on a similar MH vest at REI before purchasing this one online. I bought the large -- the size fit well in the store. When I received this and tried it on, it felt like a full size too big. Huge. Needed to return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matt4891
Location: California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually wear Medium in all the Mountain Hard Wear gear I get, but this vest fit a lot larger than all the rest of stuff I have. It's the first time I've had to get a Small. Good vest, but just larger fit than I had expected.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Nitrous™ Vest Style #OM4809

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mosu09
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as a gift for my Fiance and he LOVED it. I was nervous because he is tall and fit so a lot of things look too big or ill fitting on him. I bought a Medium and it fit perfectly! I have several items from Mountain Hardware myself but I would definitely recommend the Men's product as well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice fit, function&style

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RoaringFork
Location: Colorado Rockies
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This vest fits true to size over my Ibex Indie wool base and a flannel or wool shirt, or lightweight fleece half-zip, etc. Its thinnish 800 fill down is ultralight, warm, and very comfortable. Its arm holes are close-tailored holding in heat and adding to its good looks. It has a high collar that lies back in a stylish way until needed; fully zipped it surrounds my neck in a ring of toasty insulation. Its pockets are right-sized and angled. This vest's lack of bulk allows me to throw my GTX shell over all three layers for max warmth and weather protection and yet not compromise freedom of movement. It's a versatile outerwear or layer piece and I find myself reaching for it because it delivers the goods while being practically weightless. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Nitrous™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I want to be paid like Michael Jordan

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sisyphus
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product, very well made, very well designed, perfect for my needs. This would have gotten 5 stars if the company logo was on the inside of the product instead of the front and back. While the logo is rather small, I feel I should have the choice of acting as a public billboard or just buying and enjoying a product.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.