Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Maximalist™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Maximalist™ Jacket

Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maximalize Yourself

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ian013
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, this jacket is ridiculous! In a good way! Incredibly solid construction, as to be expected, great materials, awesome look, the list goes on and on. My only problem is that the helmet compatible hood is not as comfortable as others when it's cinched down to your head without anything else on, but with a hat it's fantastic. We've been having some pretty nasty weather lately, but it's been in the 70s, so I threw on this baby, never felt any wind, never felt a drop of water, and never felt too hot. The breathability on this is incredible. I've already used it on a short (3 mile) hiking trip/picnic/bonfire with my Mountain Hardwear Paladin backpack and did not see any indication that the material will wear from abrasion any time soon.
I can't wait to take it skiing next season, the gigantic hood should be perfect for my gigantic helmet. I will say, I bought the black, and the blue color on the zippers looks more like a baby blue or sky blue in the pictures, but is really a solid teal color. It's a pretty subtle difference, and I like it more as teal anyway, just a heads up. Overall great jacket that I know will serve me for many years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Maximalist is to the Max is Size

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peiter
Location: Crested Butte
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I just got this jacket so I have only used it once for a quick skin. The quality of the fabric is extremely high and the jacket seems like it will last a very long time. It's light and tough! That being said I am disappointed with the fit of the jacket. I am 6'1 and 170 pounds. I got the XL and I probably need another 150 pounds to make this jacket fit correctly. A little too much like a mumu. I've had three XL MH jackets and love them. This jacket is like kissing your x-girlfriend at a bar, it's a mix of good and bad, but should be avoided. I would not recommend this jacket to a friend.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic four-season shell.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
kerberus
Location: SF Bay Area
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair of DryQ Elite snow pants (see separate review) and loved them, so decided I had, had, had to have a jacket.
Maximalist, bought at a recommendation of a MH employee is fantastic -- wore it doing moderately strenuous activities and I never got wet (and I sweat a lot), in fact at least once I got wet without wearing the jacket, put it on and dried out. All the pockets just where you need them, love the thumb loops (OK, I don't love them though I do like them... they're a bit too tight and pull back on my thumbs, but I know why they're there), and the asymmetrical sleeve end – kudos to MH for being thoughtful. Thought the neck zipper was dumb ‘till I zipped the full zipper and then unzipped the neck zipper and was covered with good ventilation and mobility.
One item I wish they did include, a minor point and could be user error – I wish they allowed me to cinch the hood back – I can cinch it sideway, I can pull it down, but there appears to be no control to pull it back and set it there. Not an issue if I’m wearing a helmet, but without it makes the hood into a parachute and once it drops down, makes me look like a ninja…
Fantastic jacket, love the design, the fit, the material! Thank you MH!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely water and windproof

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
PianoMan
Location: SF Bay Area
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you need a lightweight yet sturdy outershell, this is the jacket for you. The design is completely waterproof and windproof. External zippered pockets are located where your hands natually reach...a very sensible design. The left sleeve has a handy ski pass pocket at just the right spot. I highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
smwest99
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking along the Washington coast all day Wednesday stayed perfectly dry and comfortable. Is the perfect weight for our weather here!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Maximalist jacket

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abraham
Location: New Mexico
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sweet jacket, bitter that i had to return it....
I ordered this jacket in XL hoping it would be a good alternative to an XXL Alakazam jacket that was too big... The torso was the right length, it almost was a great fit.... but the arms and shoulders are cut too tight for my build.(stocky) I will have to deal with the XXL being too baggy and long because i cannot have limited range of motion in my arms and shoulders. I would like to see XL size fit a larger range of people that arent NFL lineman big but are still stocky.
The materials and design otherwise are top of the line. it has an overabundance of features (thus the name) but it is a killer ski jacket. the second zipper just expands the collar, to accommodate a neck fleece, so thats nice, but not necessary if the collar is cut comfortably large to begin with. the zippers are a little sticky, but seem pretty bomber. the hood fits snug to tight over a Smith helmet, but seems to work well with good ROM and visibility (in my living room). the hood cinches take a minute to figure out cause they are hidden inside the fabric.
All in all i am disappointed the arms weren't cut a little more roomy because this jacket would have been a really nice hardshell option. I would have kept it for sure and rocked it for years...
it is a quality product that did just not fit me... :/
OH and I wasn't in love with ANY of the color choices that repeated through the catalog this year....Orange,black,& teal, or
....orange, black, or teal.....
I would love to see some GOLD/Marigold color options... (vs. CANARY.....) or Sand....
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Jacket

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnboy
Location: Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this jacket. I spent a lot of time researching jackets and am very happy with my choice. If you layer appropriately, you will stay dry and be comfortable all day long
The neck collar is one of the better parts about the jacket. Having the offset zip and expandable neck collar makes it very comfortable to ride in as well as being great for riding the lifts.
My only complaint on the jacket was that it was too tight in the armpits, however this can be avoided by simply opening the pit zips a small amount.
I am 5'11" and 165lbs and a medium jacket fit me perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeRoy541
Location: Southern Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing! I have used it back-country skiing fro this season as well as just for the general wet weather in my area. its amazingly comfortable in most any condition. it breaths well and is very waterproof.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Jacket Rocks

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
SkiDad
Location: Truckee
Experience: Core
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ski jacket I've ever owned! Light, absolutely waterproof and warm. Great pocket configuration. Allows beautifully for layering. Just feels really comfortable and great looking, too!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maximalist shell and fleece

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mickey
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my son as a Christmas Present. He is an avid skier and was totally impressed by the quality. He absolutely loves the jacket and fleece.
I would recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Maximalist™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

solid shell

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location: New Hampshire
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is everything I am looking for in a shell. It is sold stiff, windproof and I am certain windproof. This is the jacket you want on the top of a multilayer system. The hood is large enough. The two zippers in the neck are a bit weird. It does not cover my neck as well as some jackets. The inside pockets are well designed. The fit is too large around the waist of a skinny person. The sleeves are too long and too big at the wrists. The medium is too tight all around for a 170 5' 10" person.
I would recommend this product.
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.