Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket

Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit, Lightweight

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bungalo
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is awesome. Super light weight. The hood adjusters are tricky at first but once you learn them their functionality becomes apparent. Perfect with or without a helmet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KingofSpain
Location: Paris
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket does everything you could ask. While I think you can probably get cheaper jackets with all the functionality, they might not have the quality. I get the feeling this jacket will last a long time. The only small change I would make would be to offset the zipper at the top like the minimalist version so it is more comfortable when totally closed. Overall great jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Durable Ski Shell

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
SkiHound151
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased the MH Snowtastic shell in a Mens large. It is well-made, and well-designed, with only one feature drawback. It fit true to size, as I am 5'11" and 185lbs. Overall, it's a great jacket, made of a pliable soft outer fabric that is tough, waterproof, and extremely breathable.
Inside, all seams are taped and a brushed fabric keeps the jacket from feeling cold. In fact, during a week of skiing the trees, back bowl, and groomers in Colorado, I always felt comfortable, and never felt cold, hot or sweaty inside, because the jacket breathed so well. As long as I layered sufficiently, I seemed to be very comfortable and able to move my arms and body easily. In fact, I wore MH's synthetic fill puffy jacket inside the Snowtastic jacket and over a thin wool base layer. This kept me warm during single digit temperatures on the slopes and in the wind.
The jacket has an ample number of outer and inner pockets, with zipper or elastic closures. The outer zippers are the expected waterproof type, which all work well, except the main zipper sometimes is hard to pull with one hand due to friction with the rubberized zipper flaps and the inside wind flap. One appreciated feature is that the zipper is two-way, so that you can zip up the bottom part way to allow for better range of movement when bending over or high stepping your legs.
The only major annoyance in my opinion is that the hood does not detach and does not synch close enough to prevent snow from gathering in it when it snows. I suggest a detachable one, especially since most people are wearing helmets these days. However, all in all, I really like this jacket, and I expect to use it for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lscott

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lscott
Location: St. Louis, MO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is constructed well. The mid section allows for too much belly and the arms are slightly long. I am not slim by any means.
I think the jacket would be the perfect size if I were 8 months pregnant. I did wear this jacket on my last ski trip and I was dry and warm. The jacket performed nicely. This is one problem with shopping on line. Just a bummer with such a pricey jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fully Functional

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
williedoka
Location: Hood River , OR.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sheds rain like a duck's back. Shaped cuffs cover gloves nicely. Offset hood covers my helmut and moves independently when turning my head side to side.Breathes well when I'm burning calories.Plenty of pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket on market

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
JonathanMills
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket because it feels like a soft shell but acts like a hard shell. So glad they offer this model with the snow skirt. The feature in the wrist area of the sleeve is great and not bulky. My only complaint is how large the collar is. It will be perfect for a windy day on the chair lift while skiing, but way overkill around town. I love the fit and feel and expect it to last a long long time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Fit

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheBrain
Location: Frisco, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
As other reviewers have stated, the fit is not good. Great in the shoulders and arms, and huge around the waist. I'm 6'2'' 170lbs and there is no size in this style that fits correctly. I was really hoping the jacket I ordered would fit as I purchased the Snowtastic pants, and they fit perfectly. What style should I look at given that I don't have a sizable protruding gut?
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zamascus
Minneapolis, MN
 
Please wait while more information about Zamascus is loaded.
Additional information about Zamascus could not be loaded.
Posted October 11, 2013
Agreed, 6'1, 205 and medium fit great, but too short, especially to be for snowboarding. Large was a tent on me. I tried on the snowzilla 2, half the price, medium fit perfect, much longer. $500 is absurd.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Adapts well to changing conditions

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
AK49
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket provides a durable, resistant outershell with a comfortable and warm inner feel. In the cold, maintains heat. Snow, changing to sleet, snot, and rain...highly resistant to all and breathes. Great pocket placement, especially the slot on the left arm to accommodate ski pass. Just for good measure, I keep a pair of latex gloves for quick access to deal with accidents. I first had a XL which fit nicely but no room for layering in Alaskan conditions. XXL allows for that but then it is quite bulky in the lower trunk. It would be nice, when investing in such a product, that tall sizes be available. Longer lengths are critical in outware. This is always a tough sizing problem for those of us outside of the one size fits all. I have tried to address this problem with other name brand manufacturers with no success. With additional length, then would have the perfect outer shell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premier backcountry jacket, as advertised

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ryan2001
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit is great, and the material feels great. A true hybrid between a hard and soft shell. I got it for alpine skiing, and perhaps my favorite thing about it is the "turtle" collar, allowing me to duck my entire chin down into the jacket when screaming downhill. Pocket locations and pit zips are great. I haven't had a chance to really get it "breathing" yet, but I imagine it performs well in that category. Love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well fitting and water proof.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmbonfire
Location: Taos Ski Valley, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket, it fits well. Your sleeves won't pull up when your bombing the cord or the pow. The only complaint is the neck and face portion of the front will slap you silly at higher speeds if they are not fully zipped up. I'm considering installing some snap buttons over the clavicle section of the jacket and the face shield to hold them down when not needed. Other wise its great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great waterproof/breathable jacket

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
rico
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is bomber jacket! I ordered a large which fits my 6'3" 200lb frame just fine. My only complaint is that the thumb cuffs seem a little to short which causes me to not use them, but I didn't buy the jacket for that feature. I ski in North Idaho and we can go from cold to warm in the course of a day or two so I wanted a jacket that is versatile. This jacket breathes very well and sheds water like mad with plenty of room for me to layer which seemed to be a problem for other reviewers. I am very happy with my purchase and hope to have this piece for a long time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Buckminster
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket - wear it around town and wear it skiing. I was concerned about it being too big around the waste as someone else mentioned but I am very happy with the size. It's not a "slim" fitting coat - which is what I was looking for - it's a shell and is easy / comfortable to add layers underneath. And it's not too baggy without the other layers.
I also wasn't sure about the sleeves but have grown to really like them. They have the tight fit underneath with the thumb holes and the outer sleeve has an angle to it that really works well for warmth and glove fit when skiing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WEAR IT EVERY DAY

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
KAYAKWEIRDO
Location: ASPEN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LOTS OF POCKETS
FITS GREAT
PIT ZIPS
STYLISH
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
EarnYourTurns
Location: Spokane, Wa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, this jacket is absolutely awesome. The fabric feels great, it's really really waterproof, blocks out the wind well, and moves with my body when I'm skiing. Did I mention waterproof? This jacket doesn't know what water is. Incredible beading that's still lasting after a couple trips up to the mountain (one in the rain...). It's impressive. The fabric is definitely more of a soft shell than a hardshell, but it's better that way in my opinion. It's unbeatable for mobility.
I'm 5'9", 145lbs and I wear a medium in this jacket. I have room for my phantom down jacket (quite lofty, 800 fill) and a base layer, but it's full at the arms and shoulders, I could probably get another small/medium layer on but it might compromise down loft). I intended for this jacket to be an athletic fit while still having room for adding a big down jacket underneath, and it worked out well!
My only complaint is the sizing in the torso area...the jacket is a great fit everywhere besides the stomach. I'm not sure why, but there's a tremendous amount of fabric in the front of the jacket from the chest down. I can fit my ski helmet in the jacket zipped up without the bottom lifting up much at all. Now I'm a lean guy, but so are a lot of back country skiiers...and this is the "premier backcountry ski jacket" from MHW. I'll carry my skins in my jacket when I'm doing laps in the back country, but I can fit mine and 3 of my buddies' skins in there too. I wish they would have made this jacket with more of an athletic fit in the stomach, because it seems like the arms and shoulders are the limiting factor for layering. I cinch the waist down and this jacket does a great job at blocking wind so it doesn't affect the functionality of the jacket at all, and I ski with a pack on normally so it's not visibly big when I'm skiing, so it's not a big deal, but something I was surprised about when I got it.
The hood is awesome, and I really like the permanent collar design, as well as the thumb loops at the wrists. The jacket definitely doesn't get stuffy like other jackets I've had, and the pit zips help if you're really working hard. I've been super happy with the jacket up on the mountain, and look forward to using it for a long time to come. The awesome features and build quality far outweigh the fit in one spot of the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

restrictive fit

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightning11346
Location: Rhode Island
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The styling, fabric, and detailing are great but I returned the jacket as it was too tight under the arms.
For reference, I am 5'6", 150 lbs, wear a sz 40 sport coat, and sz Medium in most everything from MHW (and on the MH size chart).
By definition you should be able to layer under a winter shell; but all I could wear comfortably was a very thin Wicked T. Adding a mid-weight fleece, the cut was restrictive; with a Wicked T, thin long-sleeve shirt and mid-weight fleece (the minimum needed if cold out) I could not move.
It does not seem to make sense that a winter shell made for layering would be so tight under the arms; I am not a designer, but it would seem that enabling ease of movement in an athletic jacket would be an important criteria.
As I am swimming in a Large, maybe someone from MHW could recommend another jacket for me to try in size Medium?
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EarnYourTurns
Spokane, Wa
 
Please wait while more information about EarnYourTurns is loaded.
Additional information about EarnYourTurns could not be loaded.
Mislabled?
Posted December 13, 2012
Are you positive you had the medium? At 5'9" I can fit a large down jacket under mine and still have decent movement (wouldn't ice climb with that layering, but doesn't inhibit any actions you would do skiing or setting up camp), and I wear a medium. It's snug, but it definitely fits. If I were to just layer with fleece as you were I could (and have) easily worn a long underwear shirt, long sleeve shirt and fleece, and still have a good range of motion.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great all around ski jacket

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location: New Hampshire
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great all around ski jacket. I think it is will be more wind and waterproof than I usually expect from a soft shell. It is a bit thicker and warmer than the usual hard shell it might be just the right blend of both worlds.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Snowtastic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber jacket

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
shoots5
Location: Beaverton, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work outside in Oregon in some pretty awful conditions. After having multiple jackets fail me, this one has exceeded my expectations! It breaths so well that the first time I wore it when it was pouring rain I thought it was leaking but it was actually venting so well that I was cooling off rather than getting clamy! Love the hood. When not in use it sits nicely out of the way
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.