Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Piero™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
55 out of 59(93%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Piero™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but sizing very inconsistent

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
K7TY
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love these pants - long-lasting fabric, nice features, comfortable. My one complaint is that the sizing is all over the map. I normally wear 34x32. My first pair needed to be 30x32. Since I really like the pants, I ordered two more. This time the 30x32s were way too small. Frustrated, I measured them. The waist size on the 3 different pairs (all 30x32) varied by over 3" when actually measured. And all 3 pairs were different. Don't order these unless you can try them on. Recommended with a "Yes - but...."
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent except for belt loop placement.

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
BT1956
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These have been one of my favorite pairs of pants. The styling is great, they have good range of motion and they are very comfortable. The only shortcoming is the placement of the two front belt loops; they should be a couple of inches closer to the middle of the front (that, or two additional belt loops would result in a solid 5 star review from me). Tightening my belt results in the belt riding above the top of the front of the pants. Perhaps if I had bought the pants with a one inch smaller waist size this may have solved this issue. Overall, I am satisfied and will likely order another pair in the future.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality, with a stylish aesthetic.

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dmlauzon
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants as a work pant, considering i work in an outdoors store and have since found them to be very durable and comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned the waist comes just a little large and you will need a belt to wear these properly, though i found the rest of the pant to be true to size. In all honesty the extra room in the waist has not bothered me at all as it makes tucking in a shirt very easy. The pockets are made of a very soft material so it is comfortable to warm your hands in them and the side pocket goes just to the rear lateral side of the thigh and i have found it to be an excellent place to keep a cellphone safe and easily accessible regardless of position. Overall these are every bit a Mountain Hardwear product in quality and performance.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with one exception

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cpjRVA
Location: Richmond, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i've loved these pants for years. i had the previous generation that had an axe holder loop. the newer version has many great changes - longer zipper, deeper pockets and overall improved fit. the one reason i can't give these 5 stars is due to the decorative brass-colored grommets on the back pockets. they do not seem to serve any particular purpose, and they have completely destroyed my wooden kitchen chairs. when i sit down and move in the chair, they have made huge scratches and chips in the wood of the seat. i ended up removing the grommets on my own so i could continue to wear these pants without further damage to my furniture. i hope these are removed in future versions of these pants.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants for a rainy cold climate

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
PDXjohn
Location: portland or
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made of a heavy weight synthetic fiber, they repell the rain and hold out the cold. The knees are reinforced and assembled so there is extra flexibility. A great product, but I did find the waist was larger than a normal fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants. BUT WAY TOO BIG!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
jtalbot
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These are great pants. Solid. Well built. But way too big. I'm a 30 inch waist. Every other pair of pants I own are 30x30. But these things are huge. Especially if you're looking to climb or hike/backpack without having to have a belt on.
Do yourself a favor and either size down or try them on before buying.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So comfy

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
NKrader
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got these for hiking, amazing fit, so comfy they are like wearing sweatpants but they are not too warm or too cold just perfect for hiking around and so far seem very very tough
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First impression: superb quality, some doubt on fit

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
choco
Location: New Mexico
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
First impressions don't mean nearly as much as a review written after a year of active use. But since a lot of reviews seem to mention fit (too big in the waist), I'll post a review saying that the fit in the waist seems only a little on the large side--which I regard as a plus if you'll be outside and active. The inseam is just right. The construction of the pants appears to be very high quality top to bottom. I am a fairly light build and regard the pants as just a little more tailored than I'd like them to be for active use, with the rise just a bit on the short side (good by current fashion standards, but not perfect for active use), and the legs a little on the trim side. The fabric is very nice (and hopefully tough since it's 95% nylon) and has some give due to the 5% elastane--but if you're busy outside, you don't necessarily want to feel your pants having to give. I've seen a number of remarks about the odd location of the single zippered pocket (too bad there aren't two!), but having it just slightly toward the back of the right thigh is a good location if you want to keep whatever is in the pocket out of harm's way as much as possible, and avoid having a bulge either on the front of your thigh or sticking out on the side. The knees on most of my real-life pants are almost always giving out before I think they should, but the double fabric on the Piero looks like it will hold up for a long time. Bottom line: these pants are very well made, built to last, and look good. But their good looks might take a little away from active use. The reviewer who advised getting a second pair of another color is right.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pants...if you can keep them up

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
FreedomindaHillz
Location: SF, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Summary - buy them if you can find a pant that fits you (order 1-3 sizes smaller than your normal size)
-durable -works great against rocks, brush, -off trail travel
-cuts the wind
-breathable (somewhat)- gets swampy around 70 F+
-The waist fits HUGE!
I'm 5'10" 140 lbs and had to get the smallest size, 28. (normally I wear a 32 or 30). Even with this small size and a belt the pants won't stay up while hiking. It may be from the off trail nature of my hiking/mountaineering or perhaps that I wear a pack, but these just don't stay up. Another member in my party has these pants and complains of the same issue. We were both sagging constantly (while wearing tight webbing belts)
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big at the waist and too small elsewhere.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kittens
Location: Portland
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently got a pair of the Piero pant, the sizing says it is "true to size" but clearly it is not at the waist (33x32 measures approx. 36x32; 32x32 measures 34.5x32; and 34x32 measures 37.5x32)).
I am begging MHW to consider a looser fit to accommodate more athletic builds (thinner waist, larger seat and thighs). I am wearing the 33x32 piero, but I feel like there is little or no room (especially for any base-layer) in the seat and thigh, I have tried the larger sizes to see if it helps but the waist becomes WAY too big. Even with the 33x32 the waist is too big but it is bearable, just so it can somewhat fit otherwise. On top of that, they also feel like semi-low rise, which is a big no-no for someone with a athletic build like myself.
I been looking for very durable pants that are not cotton for my upcoming Search and Rescue training but it seems all manufacturers are missing the mark as for fit goes and accommodating the tight pants fab. Which leaves out your actual athletics and active costumers out in the cold.
MHW, please consider making Piero pants for real people.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant. But not true to size.

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joshoward
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are awesome. But I found the waist to be much larger than most in the same size. Length was great. I love the loose fit, articulated knees, the stretch and felt lined pockets. They actually look a little dressy and I could wear to work - which is great for me. I haven't gotten them in a harness yet, but work well everywhere else.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MountainDude
Location: MT
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Pants are amazing. Stretch material wears like denim "comfort wise", pockets are wide/deep and well placed. I ordered a size up from my normal 34 waist as most pants seems to run small. I ordered a 36/32 and they are prob exact to that size as the waist is just a lil larger. I'm 5'10, 190 pounds. The leg length was prob a lil long so I think a 34/30 would fit me perfect/comfortably. I'll be buying several more pairs in that size. I've used on the trail and in town, order to your exact size IMO. Awesome pants MH!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pants!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wickett
Location: MD
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pair of all around adventure pant I have. Very durable and water repellant. The stretch feature is great for those weird leg angles when climbing. They still look new after a week on the rock and trails.
NOTE ON SIZE. I wear a solid 32 in the waist. The 32" waist that I ordered fits more like a 34"
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
KKeen
Location: Squamish, BC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable, look good, and what else do you need? Oh ya - super comfortable as spoken by the husband who wears them. Thanks M.H. for making nice looking and functional stuff.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest work pants ever!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
TWoess
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most durable work pants ever. I wear them in the toughest environments and they stand up to it all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants Ever

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
tm1331
Location: Ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved these pants from the moment I put them on. Fit great, and are also the most comfortable pants I own. I work in the apparel business and have access to every manufacturer. I have Columbia, Kuhl, North Face, you name it, but these are far and away the most comfortable and durable pants I own. I mentioned great fit, I have long legs and with most pants after a few washes the length and fit isnt as good as when the pants were new, but not so with the Piero. You will be happy with the Piero pant.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Second Pair

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJSINCALAB
Location: Northern Rocky Mountains
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these pants so much I bought a second pair. The Piero is made of a tough stretchy fabric with a loose fit that permits great freedom of movement for most outdoor activities. The zippered side pocket keeps your smart phone or wallet secure. The comfortable "jean style" design also makes them great for casual wear. A good solid pair of pants for exploring the outdoors and the city.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

duable - wind resitstant

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Topper20
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used these pants for windy wet days at the beach golfing. Works great to keep you warm and dry with a lot of flexibility.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick52
Location: Georgetown, KY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Fit is slimmer than most tech pants, and material is thicker, great fit and feel. Couldn't find any 32 x 34 in the khaki or I'd have ordered a pair or 2 of those too!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too small

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daveman
Location: Berkeley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I loved the previous pair of pierros you guys made, except when the stitching blew out pre-maturely. You've fixed that with this pair, but now they are way too tight around the thigh and crotch area. They used to be a lot looser - I could roll them up without the cuffs becoming constricting - but now they're almost skin tight and even restrict my movement a bit which is not ideal for a climbing pant. Also the previous generation of leg pocket on the right was a lot better in my opinion.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.