Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Piero™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.426 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
49 out of 53(92%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Piero™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So comfy

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
NKrader
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got these for hiking, amazing fit, so comfy they are like wearing sweatpants but they are not too warm or too cold just perfect for hiking around and so far seem very very tough
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First impression: superb quality, some doubt on fit

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
choco
Location: New Mexico
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
First impressions don't mean nearly as much as a review written after a year of active use. But since a lot of reviews seem to mention fit (too big in the waist), I'll post a review saying that the fit in the waist seems only a little on the large side--which I regard as a plus if you'll be outside and active. The inseam is just right. The construction of the pants appears to be very high quality top to bottom. I am a fairly light build and regard the pants as just a little more tailored than I'd like them to be for active use, with the rise just a bit on the short side (good by current fashion standards, but not perfect for active use), and the legs a little on the trim side. The fabric is very nice (and hopefully tough since it's 95% nylon) and has some give due to the 5% elastane--but if you're busy outside, you don't necessarily want to feel your pants having to give. I've seen a number of remarks about the odd location of the single zippered pocket (too bad there aren't two!), but having it just slightly toward the back of the right thigh is a good location if you want to keep whatever is in the pocket out of harm's way as much as possible, and avoid having a bulge either on the front of your thigh or sticking out on the side. The knees on most of my real-life pants are almost always giving out before I think they should, but the double fabric on the Piero looks like it will hold up for a long time. Bottom line: these pants are very well made, built to last, and look good. But their good looks might take a little away from active use. The reviewer who advised getting a second pair of another color is right.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pants...if you can keep them up

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
FreedomindaHillz
Location: SF, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Summary - buy them if you can find a pant that fits you (order 1-3 sizes smaller than your normal size)
-durable -works great against rocks, brush, -off trail travel
-cuts the wind
-breathable (somewhat)- gets swampy around 70 F+
-The waist fits HUGE!
I'm 5'10" 140 lbs and had to get the smallest size, 28. (normally I wear a 32 or 30). Even with this small size and a belt the pants won't stay up while hiking. It may be from the off trail nature of my hiking/mountaineering or perhaps that I wear a pack, but these just don't stay up. Another member in my party has these pants and complains of the same issue. We were both sagging constantly (while wearing tight webbing belts)
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big at the waist and too small elsewhere.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kittens
Location: Portland
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently got a pair of the Piero pant, the sizing says it is "true to size" but clearly it is not at the waist (33x32 measures approx. 36x32; 32x32 measures 34.5x32; and 34x32 measures 37.5x32)).
I am begging MHW to consider a looser fit to accommodate more athletic builds (thinner waist, larger seat and thighs). I am wearing the 33x32 piero, but I feel like there is little or no room (especially for any base-layer) in the seat and thigh, I have tried the larger sizes to see if it helps but the waist becomes WAY too big. Even with the 33x32 the waist is too big but it is bearable, just so it can somewhat fit otherwise. On top of that, they also feel like semi-low rise, which is a big no-no for someone with a athletic build like myself.
I been looking for very durable pants that are not cotton for my upcoming Search and Rescue training but it seems all manufacturers are missing the mark as for fit goes and accommodating the tight pants fab. Which leaves out your actual athletics and active costumers out in the cold.
MHW, please consider making Piero pants for real people.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant. But not true to size.

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joshoward
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are awesome. But I found the waist to be much larger than most in the same size. Length was great. I love the loose fit, articulated knees, the stretch and felt lined pockets. They actually look a little dressy and I could wear to work - which is great for me. I haven't gotten them in a harness yet, but work well everywhere else.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MountainDude
Location: MT
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Pants are amazing. Stretch material wears like denim "comfort wise", pockets are wide/deep and well placed. I ordered a size up from my normal 34 waist as most pants seems to run small. I ordered a 36/32 and they are prob exact to that size as the waist is just a lil larger. I'm 5'10, 190 pounds. The leg length was prob a lil long so I think a 34/30 would fit me perfect/comfortably. I'll be buying several more pairs in that size. I've used on the trail and in town, order to your exact size IMO. Awesome pants MH!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pants!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wickett
Location: MD
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pair of all around adventure pant I have. Very durable and water repellant. The stretch feature is great for those weird leg angles when climbing. They still look new after a week on the rock and trails.
NOTE ON SIZE. I wear a solid 32 in the waist. The 32" waist that I ordered fits more like a 34"
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
KKeen
Location: Squamish, BC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable, look good, and what else do you need? Oh ya - super comfortable as spoken by the husband who wears them. Thanks M.H. for making nice looking and functional stuff.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest work pants ever!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
TWoess
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most durable work pants ever. I wear them in the toughest environments and they stand up to it all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants Ever

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
tm1331
Location: Ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved these pants from the moment I put them on. Fit great, and are also the most comfortable pants I own. I work in the apparel business and have access to every manufacturer. I have Columbia, Kuhl, North Face, you name it, but these are far and away the most comfortable and durable pants I own. I mentioned great fit, I have long legs and with most pants after a few washes the length and fit isnt as good as when the pants were new, but not so with the Piero. You will be happy with the Piero pant.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Second Pair

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJSINCALAB
Location: Northern Rocky Mountains
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these pants so much I bought a second pair. The Piero is made of a tough stretchy fabric with a loose fit that permits great freedom of movement for most outdoor activities. The zippered side pocket keeps your smart phone or wallet secure. The comfortable "jean style" design also makes them great for casual wear. A good solid pair of pants for exploring the outdoors and the city.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

duable - wind resitstant

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Topper20
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used these pants for windy wet days at the beach golfing. Works great to keep you warm and dry with a lot of flexibility.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick52
Location: Georgetown, KY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Fit is slimmer than most tech pants, and material is thicker, great fit and feel. Couldn't find any 32 x 34 in the khaki or I'd have ordered a pair or 2 of those too!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too small

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daveman
Location: Berkeley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I loved the previous pair of pierros you guys made, except when the stitching blew out pre-maturely. You've fixed that with this pair, but now they are way too tight around the thigh and crotch area. They used to be a lot looser - I could roll them up without the cuffs becoming constricting - but now they're almost skin tight and even restrict my movement a bit which is not ideal for a climbing pant. Also the previous generation of leg pocket on the right was a lot better in my opinion.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite Possibly the best pants ever

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Discoian
Location: Anywhere and Everywhere
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I am writing this review while wearing my Piero pants. Incredibly comfortable, incredibly stretchy, and also super rugged. I own 2 pairs of these pants, and have put them through the tests. I've slid down scree slopes, gone rock climbing, and even played in the desert. These pants always standup!
If i had to say one thing, they do get a bit warm when it's super hot outside (90+) but i'll take sweaty knees over a lesser product any day of the week.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pant

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
SSCO
Location: CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a skydiver by trade and jump/ land in all types of conditions due to my work and these pants are unbelievable. Wicks dew and light moisture away very well, warm yet breathable, one of the best all-around pant I have ever owned. You can also where them out on the town.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice balance of style and function.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeffS
Location: Minneapolis
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are comfortable, tough, and stylish. I use them on remote canoe trips in the Far North and for outdoor trips in national parks across the US and Canada. Only thing that would improve them is more zippered pockets to keep things secure in the bush or city.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

she ain't what she used to be

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kame
Location: California
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MHW has changed their country of manufacturing and it shows. Why Why Why change it... These pants (my old pair) haven't failed me yet. I bought two new pair in different colors to add to my collection.
However the waist sizing is now way off and is to large. I typically wear 32" waist in Designer jeans and ordered a 32" w in the Piero pants. Well the waist on the new Piero pants are just as large as another pair I own which are 33" waist and were a gift. The Belt loops are now half the width on the older pair which makes me suspect to the durability of these new pants. Whats with the main button snap being so cheesy compared to the original, I hope it doesn't fall off from use.
I'm sending these back for 31" waist, I pray that they fit and that they hold up to the same abuse I put my old ones through, otherwise MHW just lost a repeat customer.
My old pair have been through a lot, I've worn them through all seasons from +95 degrees to 17 degrees Fahrenheit, they shed rain well enough and I stayed dry when kicking around in the snow.
I hope MHW gets it right soon
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joshj
Location: AZ, Gilbert
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got the pants for my outdoor hiking and climbing adventures. I tried them on and they were so comfortable that I wore them all day and loved them. I even wore them to work the next day with a dress shirt and they looked really nice for work. I love the pants. They do fit a little big but not much. I will be ordering a few more pairs in different colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRitch
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally wear size 34/32. But in these pants i Wear 34/30. I bought the pants to be able to wear to work and have a nice pair of tech pants for hiking or casual wear. I have two pair, one in khaki and one in grey. Good buy, worth the money so far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.