Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Piero™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.377 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
63 out of 68(93%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Piero™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The material and fit are awesome!

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
Dude
Location: USA
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are awesome…I usually wear 32x32 but go with 31x32 for these pants in particular at 6ft and 180lbs. The DWR finish holds up well when things spill on them and they work well in any condition…bouldering or hanging out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flexible/Comfortable Piero pants

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Gman
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These have a slimmer fit around the thighs and calves, with 1 less cargo pocket. So if you're looking for a replacement or substitute for the 'go-to' 5.11/ Propper / Tru-Spec khaki cargo pants, these aren't it. The slimmer profile looks more professional (in my opinion) but it also means less space in the only thigh cargo pocket. The added flexible spandex material allowed me to perform multiple kneeling and dynamic moves with comfort and ease. Time will tell how well the material around the knees will hold up. I haven't/nor do I normally examine stitching since they are "working/training" pants, but I did notice a loose piece of stitching by the zipper area. The felt-like material around the waist helped keep my undershirt tucked in during most movements. The inseam length seemed a little longer than what I normally see for this size, but that's my only irk about these pants ( it's not a big enough issue for me to call it a 'complaint'). I'll definitely be getting another pair in different colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but...

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
lsjdflskdjf
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My new favorite, for hanging at home. One issue: the back right pocket does not hold a wallet very securely. I need to turn the wallet sideways and jam it into the bottom of the pocket, to assure that it stays put. The top of the pocket needs to be slightly less wimpy and slightly tighter against the butt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great material ... but bell-bottoms!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
MacGyver
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Waist is true to size. The material is solid and seems like it would hold up well. The pocket liners feel great too.
...but the pant leg openings are simply too wide for me. I laid these pants up against my MH Mesa v2 pants -- the leg opening more than an inch wider, and those are on the wide side themselves. I'd keep these pants if the ankle openings were about 3-4 inches narrower in circumference. But I'd prefer if they were even narrower than that since in a hiking/climbing pant I'd rather err towards narrow so as to avoid getting caught on anything.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Tough Yoga Pants for Dudes

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
OROutdoorsman
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough as nails on hiking trails and around camp; comfortable as what I think yoga pants feel like.
I've used these in the Oregon Cascades, Columbia River Gorge, and Central Oregon Dessert. They've provided comfort and durability in all these environments.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants EVER!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
bugboy152000
Location: Jay Peak, VT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seriously the best pants I own. Like wearing pajamas. Durability is great but still comfortable to wear. I've purchased 3 more pairs. Sheds water well after washing many times. Simply the best pants EVER!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to rate this product higher

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
oyaji
Location: PDX
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using a pair of these to commute to work in and initially liked them so much I bought another color as well. I loved the stretchy fabric, the shaped knees and the chamois waist. They look good for the office.
However, I have become disenchanted. Know that these are dress pants. Period. They are not appropriate for the backcountry and the reason is fit. I have to wear 2 sizes smaller than my normal waist size, and I still need to cinch them tight with a belt. The waist/crotch is very low. (Think hip huggers, on prepubescent boy bands). The pocket rivets are like daggers under a pack belt. Several other people have mentioned fit issues and I concur. Hardwear can't seem to fit people with a thin, athletic build like myself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better sizing now

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
DerekAK
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I bought two pair of these pants 2 years ago. They are my favorite pants, however as described by others, too large in the waist. I had to have the waist taken in quite a bit to fit.
I ordered another pair recently (Dec-20140, I was pleasantly surprised to see the waist seems to fit better than before. Perfect. Most comfortable pants I own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durability without sacrificing comfort

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigpoppa
Location: Asheville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really stoked about the fit and function of these pants. The heavy fabric has just enough stretch to take away the stiffness that durable pants tend to have. From jeans to Carharts to slacks, my standard size is a 34 waist. I had to opportunity to try on both 32s and 34s in a retail store but they had no 33s. Took a gamble and ordered 33s direct from MtnHardware....Perfect!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but sizing very inconsistent

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
K7TY
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love these pants - long-lasting fabric, nice features, comfortable. My one complaint is that the sizing is all over the map. I normally wear 34x32. My first pair needed to be 30x32. Since I really like the pants, I ordered two more. This time the 30x32s were way too small. Frustrated, I measured them. The waist size on the 3 different pairs (all 30x32) varied by over 3" when actually measured. And all 3 pairs were different. Don't order these unless you can try them on. Recommended with a "Yes - but...."
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent except for belt loop placement.

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
BT1956
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These have been one of my favorite pairs of pants. The styling is great, they have good range of motion and they are very comfortable. The only shortcoming is the placement of the two front belt loops; they should be a couple of inches closer to the middle of the front (that, or two additional belt loops would result in a solid 5 star review from me). Tightening my belt results in the belt riding above the top of the front of the pants. Perhaps if I had bought the pants with a one inch smaller waist size this may have solved this issue. Overall, I am satisfied and will likely order another pair in the future.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality, with a stylish aesthetic.

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dmlauzon
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants as a work pant, considering i work in an outdoors store and have since found them to be very durable and comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned the waist comes just a little large and you will need a belt to wear these properly, though i found the rest of the pant to be true to size. In all honesty the extra room in the waist has not bothered me at all as it makes tucking in a shirt very easy. The pockets are made of a very soft material so it is comfortable to warm your hands in them and the side pocket goes just to the rear lateral side of the thigh and i have found it to be an excellent place to keep a cellphone safe and easily accessible regardless of position. Overall these are every bit a Mountain Hardwear product in quality and performance.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with one exception

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cpjRVA
Location: Richmond, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i've loved these pants for years. i had the previous generation that had an axe holder loop. the newer version has many great changes - longer zipper, deeper pockets and overall improved fit. the one reason i can't give these 5 stars is due to the decorative brass-colored grommets on the back pockets. they do not seem to serve any particular purpose, and they have completely destroyed my wooden kitchen chairs. when i sit down and move in the chair, they have made huge scratches and chips in the wood of the seat. i ended up removing the grommets on my own so i could continue to wear these pants without further damage to my furniture. i hope these are removed in future versions of these pants.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants for a rainy cold climate

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
PDXjohn
Location: portland or
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made of a heavy weight synthetic fiber, they repell the rain and hold out the cold. The knees are reinforced and assembled so there is extra flexibility. A great product, but I did find the waist was larger than a normal fit.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants. BUT WAY TOO BIG!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
jtalbot
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These are great pants. Solid. Well built. But way too big. I'm a 30 inch waist. Every other pair of pants I own are 30x30. But these things are huge. Especially if you're looking to climb or hike/backpack without having to have a belt on.
Do yourself a favor and either size down or try them on before buying.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So comfy

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
NKrader
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got these for hiking, amazing fit, so comfy they are like wearing sweatpants but they are not too warm or too cold just perfect for hiking around and so far seem very very tough
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First impression: superb quality, some doubt on fit

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
choco
Location: New Mexico
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
First impressions don't mean nearly as much as a review written after a year of active use. But since a lot of reviews seem to mention fit (too big in the waist), I'll post a review saying that the fit in the waist seems only a little on the large side--which I regard as a plus if you'll be outside and active. The inseam is just right. The construction of the pants appears to be very high quality top to bottom. I am a fairly light build and regard the pants as just a little more tailored than I'd like them to be for active use, with the rise just a bit on the short side (good by current fashion standards, but not perfect for active use), and the legs a little on the trim side. The fabric is very nice (and hopefully tough since it's 95% nylon) and has some give due to the 5% elastane--but if you're busy outside, you don't necessarily want to feel your pants having to give. I've seen a number of remarks about the odd location of the single zippered pocket (too bad there aren't two!), but having it just slightly toward the back of the right thigh is a good location if you want to keep whatever is in the pocket out of harm's way as much as possible, and avoid having a bulge either on the front of your thigh or sticking out on the side. The knees on most of my real-life pants are almost always giving out before I think they should, but the double fabric on the Piero looks like it will hold up for a long time. Bottom line: these pants are very well made, built to last, and look good. But their good looks might take a little away from active use. The reviewer who advised getting a second pair of another color is right.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pants...if you can keep them up

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
FreedomindaHillz
Location: SF, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Summary - buy them if you can find a pant that fits you (order 1-3 sizes smaller than your normal size)
-durable -works great against rocks, brush, -off trail travel
-cuts the wind
-breathable (somewhat)- gets swampy around 70 F+
-The waist fits HUGE!
I'm 5'10" 140 lbs and had to get the smallest size, 28. (normally I wear a 32 or 30). Even with this small size and a belt the pants won't stay up while hiking. It may be from the off trail nature of my hiking/mountaineering or perhaps that I wear a pack, but these just don't stay up. Another member in my party has these pants and complains of the same issue. We were both sagging constantly (while wearing tight webbing belts)
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big at the waist and too small elsewhere.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kittens
Location: Portland
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently got a pair of the Piero pant, the sizing says it is "true to size" but clearly it is not at the waist (33x32 measures approx. 36x32; 32x32 measures 34.5x32; and 34x32 measures 37.5x32)).
I am begging MHW to consider a looser fit to accommodate more athletic builds (thinner waist, larger seat and thighs). I am wearing the 33x32 piero, but I feel like there is little or no room (especially for any base-layer) in the seat and thigh, I have tried the larger sizes to see if it helps but the waist becomes WAY too big. Even with the 33x32 the waist is too big but it is bearable, just so it can somewhat fit otherwise. On top of that, they also feel like semi-low rise, which is a big no-no for someone with a athletic build like myself.
I been looking for very durable pants that are not cotton for my upcoming Search and Rescue training but it seems all manufacturers are missing the mark as for fit goes and accommodating the tight pants fab. Which leaves out your actual athletics and active costumers out in the cold.
MHW, please consider making Piero pants for real people.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant. But not true to size.

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joshoward
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are awesome. But I found the waist to be much larger than most in the same size. Length was great. I love the loose fit, articulated knees, the stretch and felt lined pockets. They actually look a little dressy and I could wear to work - which is great for me. I haven't gotten them in a harness yet, but work well everywhere else.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.