Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Piero™ Pant

Piero™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
74 out of 80(92%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Piero™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Regrets

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
thatnatureguy
Location: East Tennessee
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own several pair of various MHW pants, but the Piero pant is the most versatile. These have been great for hiking and backpacking, and are really durable in rough vegetation (think briars). I've wore these for free-climbing as well, and the articulated knees work great. Although the articulation is obvious, they have been suitable for casual wear, actually getting favorable remarks. Not quite as stretchy as some of the other pants, but still the most versatile overall. My next pair of pants will undoubtedly be the Piero. Truth is, I'm wearing them now...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backpacking or kayak Pants

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
SheperdsPass
Location: California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much more rugged than other nylon Pants I've used. They don't wrinkle when washed, pull warm pants from dryer and smooth with hand. They look great after days of hard use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to like, but flawed

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Arteks
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs very large. My actual waist (measured with a tapemeasure) is 34" -- I ordered a 31" and it was still an inch too large!
I liked the cloth material -- would have been great for my fieldwork (field biologist). Stylish design, for the most part. Would have kept it, but I couldn't handle the bell-bottom legs.
Returned, sadly.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adventure pants.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
docsabo
Location: Naples, Italy
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After buying three different colors, I decided to write a review. I own khaki, green, and black. The pants are tear proof, water resistant, and are very comfortable to wear. I have worn them small game hunting, hiking, and even during a couple alpine ascents. I have recommended these pants to at least 5 of my friends. The best adventure pants ever.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants Poor fit

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
Nick365
Location: Ventura, Ca
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I usually wear 34" waist, these pants were very baggy, so I measured the waist and found them to be more than 38" not even close to true sizing. If you can try them on and get correct size, material and workmanship appear to be excellent. Would recommend only if you can try them on before purchasing.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Piero Pant

PostedJune 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
Amack
Location: Memphis, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants fit perfect. They have a design that supports dynamic movements.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Stricky
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Love the pants, durable and stylish. My only complaint is that they run a little on the big side. Other that then that I highly recommend them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Pant But Could Use Tweaks

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
strongplum
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The material is pretty stellar. I live in Seattle, and as advertised, these pants beautifully bead the light rain off. They keep my legs warm and resist the wind. Style-wise, I love the grommets, the deep soft-fabric front pockets and fabric on the inside of the waist. The angled zip pocket on the right leg is marvelous of my phone and wallet. For sure, it's a great pant for hiking and traipsing on urban terrain with less predictable weather.
However, as a climbing pant, the large, bulkier fit make it a less appealing option as the additional fabric shifts around or outright impedes on the full range of motion for the legs. I would suggest a few things so they are equally a great climbing pant as they are hiking pant:
1) Lower the rise. The waist is a little high and since the pants run big, it necessitates a belt for cinching, which is not a welcome additional accessory. Even with a belt, the pants will tend to ride lower and displace the crotch from where it should be, impeding on the full range of leg motion
2) Change the leg cut from boot to straight leg or at least make the flaring less drastic.
3) Slightly narrow the seat and thighs so it's a little less bulky and thus lighter. These great pants should have a more contemporary fit which would make them more attractive as a wearing option even off the trail or the rock.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent outdoor pant

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
AC1990
Location: San Antonio, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a big Mountain Hardwear guy and needless to say the Piero pant didn't disappoint. Very comfortable and flexible. Used them at the Ranch this past weekend and seem to hold up just fine. I would highly recommend this product to anyone that enjoys the outdoors!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Some of my favorite pants for years

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
TheRocketeer
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Many reviews of these pants are spot on - they're awesome quality, great materials and construction, and offer excellent comfort.
I ordered the Chockstone at the same time, exact same sizing (33 x 34) but different color. The Piero has a bigger waist than the Chockstone measured at just over 1/2" larger circumference, and the length of the Piero is longer as well. I lined them up on the floor and the Piero was a full inch longer, so much so that I had to hem them actually, as they dragged behind my shoes.
Additionally, the knees are "articulated" which is nice when you're out hiking a technical section of a trail (high knees and lunging steps), or when you're sitting, but I find that while just standing or walking around town the knees bulge out. Maybe I notice more so because I'm looking directly down on them, but they puff out a bit.
Despite my criticisms, I will be buying more of these pants because I'm very happy with them and they're sure to last me for many years.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Pants are Great.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Roninatlanta
Location: Atlanta,GA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great pants. They only hiking/climbing/outdoorsy pants I've owned that are not totally geeky looking. They fit very well and with the lycra content, stretch enough to allow serious bending, striding, climbing or whatever activity you have in mind. I photograph many of the dogs and cats at our local Humane Society and wearing these pants allows me to bend down or get on my knees to shoot at eye level with my subjects.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Material!

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
flashbaang
Location: Nashville TN
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I now have a new favorite pair of pants! From the comfort of the material, to the formed double knees, to the perfectly cut pockets. I took these pants on a three day hike, and would definitely recommend these for any activity. Especially backpacking. I just ordered another pair. They do run a little large, so keep that in mind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pant that runs slightly larger than expected

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
Cato
Location: Monterey, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this pair of pants. I'll repeat, I REALLY like this pair of pants. However, if you have not already purchased this style I would caution anyone purchasing these to try them on first in a local store. Mine run larger than expected. I picked slightly large on the review because I'm a 35 waist and I choose to wear a 36. On mine the extra size means extra gathering under the belt. I've also noticed it occasionally causes the button to slip out and the pants to come undone because of the gathering. This is avoided by keeping the slack at the back, but could be frustrating if dealing with a pack's waist band at the same time.
As for utility, oh man are they comfortable. So far the weight is great, no bunching while mountain biking or hiking (have not done a multi day in them yet), and I can recommend them with the size caveat above.
Another note, the leg opening on these are GREAT for hiking boots, meaning they are wide. The leg openings are not great for dress-type shoes where you can drag or step on the back of the pant leg. Keep this in mind if you are looking for these in a business casual environment to double as a bike commuter (in addition to your excursions) as I am right now. My hiking boots and shoes have no issues, but they do drag on the back when I'm wearing my sandals or work shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The material and fit are awesome!

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
Dude
Location: USA
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are awesome…I usually wear 32x32 but go with 31x32 for these pants in particular at 6ft and 180lbs. The DWR finish holds up well when things spill on them and they work well in any condition…bouldering or hanging out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flexible/Comfortable Piero pants

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Gman
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These have a slimmer fit around the thighs and calves, with 1 less cargo pocket. So if you're looking for a replacement or substitute for the 'go-to' 5.11/ Propper / Tru-Spec khaki cargo pants, these aren't it. The slimmer profile looks more professional (in my opinion) but it also means less space in the only thigh cargo pocket. The added flexible spandex material allowed me to perform multiple kneeling and dynamic moves with comfort and ease. Time will tell how well the material around the knees will hold up. I haven't/nor do I normally examine stitching since they are "working/training" pants, but I did notice a loose piece of stitching by the zipper area. The felt-like material around the waist helped keep my undershirt tucked in during most movements. The inseam length seemed a little longer than what I normally see for this size, but that's my only irk about these pants ( it's not a big enough issue for me to call it a 'complaint'). I'll definitely be getting another pair in different colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but...

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
lsjdflskdjf
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My new favorite, for hanging at home. One issue: the back right pocket does not hold a wallet very securely. I need to turn the wallet sideways and jam it into the bottom of the pocket, to assure that it stays put. The top of the pocket needs to be slightly less wimpy and slightly tighter against the butt.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great material ... but bell-bottoms!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
MacGyver
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Waist is true to size. The material is solid and seems like it would hold up well. The pocket liners feel great too.
...but the pant leg openings are simply too wide for me. I laid these pants up against my MH Mesa v2 pants -- the leg opening more than an inch wider, and those are on the wide side themselves. I'd keep these pants if the ankle openings were about 3-4 inches narrower in circumference. But I'd prefer if they were even narrower than that since in a hiking/climbing pant I'd rather err towards narrow so as to avoid getting caught on anything.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Tough Yoga Pants for Dudes

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
OROutdoorsman
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough as nails on hiking trails and around camp; comfortable as what I think yoga pants feel like.
I've used these in the Oregon Cascades, Columbia River Gorge, and Central Oregon Dessert. They've provided comfort and durability in all these environments.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants EVER!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
bugboy152000
Location: Jay Peak, VT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seriously the best pants I own. Like wearing pajamas. Durability is great but still comfortable to wear. I've purchased 3 more pairs. Sheds water well after washing many times. Simply the best pants EVER!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Piero™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to rate this product higher

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
oyaji
Location: PDX
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using a pair of these to commute to work in and initially liked them so much I bought another color as well. I loved the stretchy fabric, the shaped knees and the chamois waist. They look good for the office.
However, I have become disenchanted. Know that these are dress pants. Period. They are not appropriate for the backcountry and the reason is fit. I have to wear 2 sizes smaller than my normal waist size, and I still need to cinch them tight with a belt. The waist/crotch is very low. (Think hip huggers, on prepubescent boy bands). The pocket rivets are like daggers under a pack belt. Several other people have mentioned fit issues and I concur. Hardwear can't seem to fit people with a thin, athletic build like myself.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next ›