Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™

Mountain Hardwear Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™

Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Review 1 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rad Jacket, but more pockets would've been nice

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Quicksilver878
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight, waterproof, wind-resistant, well-insulated, great fabric, only thing I would've added to the jacket were an inside pocket & two pockets for your hands...Other than that it serves its purpose well. Cheers
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5½ Stars!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Criminal
Location: Puget Sound
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this…. shirt…er…jacket...Shacket! This is absolutely perfect for Seattle weather. Button it up and it’s very warm, wear it open and it’s just right for that 50° to 60° temperature range of which we see so much here. It sheds the mist and drizzle enough to keep you dry, although I haven’t worn it in any kind of steady rain yet. It’s very lightweight so it packs easily- just stuff it in your pack if you don’t need it. It’s now my springtime going-to-work jacket.
SIZING: The sizing seems right; you just have to decide how you want it to fit and buy the size according to that. Since I bought it more as a light jacket I went with a Large. I’m 5’8” medium build and the fit is perfect as a jacket and maybe a little big as a shirt. The length is great if you’re carrying a concealed pistol although its light weight might cause it to blow open and expose your sidearm- if that worries you. I found the sleeves a little long but cuffed them back to a perfect fit.
I won’t complain about the lack of pockets. Due to its very light weight I don’t think it would look right if you had your hands stuffed down in slash pocket- it would just stretch it tight around your neck. A cellphone in one of the top pockets can distort the fit a little because it’s so light. It is what it is, a shacket; so if you want a jacket with slash pockets for your hands, buy a jacket with slash pockets for your hands.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not a shirt not a jacket

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phranqe
Location: SW Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second shacket. First one vanished, stolen, I suspect. Hope thief enjoys the extra insulation, wind and rain resistance and can get over lack of hand warming and inside pockets. It is a hybrid after all that combines the best features of a cool season jacket and shirt... can tuck it or not..
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MNskier
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shacket...It works great as a shirt or light jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarineMatt25
Location: Afghanistan
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like everything I have ordered online, I read the reviews prior to ordering. Jacket is exactly as advertised. I use it under my fleece in the mornings here, which are usually around 35 degrees, windy, and it is perfect. I was a little weary at how thin it was at first but this jacket holds heat well. Very happy with comfort and fit as well.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this shirt, but it's not a jacket.

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MikeS
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is an excellent shirt. Some reviews complain that it lacks pockets, which is true, but I suspect if they just called it a shirt and not a shacket it wouldn't disappoint, because otherwise I love it and wear it all the time. I just put my wallet in the chest pocket, have to put my phone in my back pocket. Very stylish, nice fit, warm, etc. So high score overall, but middle score for functionality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Great

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
dadams
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm enough on its own for Chicago fall. It fits like a dress shirt or flannel, and fits well over a shirt. 5'8, suit size 38/39 and I ordered a small.
I like the lack of pockets actually, it keeps this a shirt and eliminates the waist-bulk of insulated pockets.
Fits well everywhere, not too tight when biking through the city. I'm a climber and it is fairly tight in the arms.
Haven't had the chance to test it in the wild yet but as a midlayer or fall layer its pretty perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Trekkin Insulated Shacket™
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

saw in Outside magazine

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
amee
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When I saw the "Shacket" in Outside Mag I thought it would be great for my husband. The shipping took forever and missed his birthday and then the shacket was a very boxy fit. The biggest issue we had w this coat / shirt was the lack of pockets. There are 2 breast pockets (nobody would use) and none on the inside or outside. Anyone making a guys jacket knows how much guys like/need pockets. When I went to return the item I had to pay for shipping. Not cool! Overall this would be better if it had usable pockets and a slimmer fit
I do not recommend this product.
-17points
2of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tyngo
Santa Ynez,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Tyngo is loaded.
Additional information about Tyngo could not be loaded.
2nd one
Posted January 5, 2014
I unfortunately lost my first and was so bummed, I had to buy another before it was gone. I live outside Santa Barbara where the temp dips at night. Perfect weight. Also wear it when I go to Colorado. Old was shark color, but bought black this time in case my first reappears. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)