Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Airshield Micro Dome

Mountain Hardwear Airshield Micro Dome

Airshield Micro Dome
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
4 out of 5(80%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Airshield Micro Dome
Review 1 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

AirShield Micro Dome

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
jntx
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a previous windstopper hat from Mountain Hardware that I love. However this hat the sizing is all off.
The circumference around (and I ordered the large) is very small. Circumference wise the hat fit my wife who is 5'2" just fine but for me being a 6'1" male it was really tight. However, that was just the beginning of the sizing oddity. The depth of the hat is huge. On my wife you could pretty much fit her whole head into the hat. If she pulled it down all the way it went to her mouth. For me it would come down to the tip of my nose if pulled on all the way. If I left it perched on my forehead right at my eyebrows (like most people wear hats) it left this huge air pocket up top and my wife remarked that it made me look like one of those conehead people from SNL. Wanted to love it as the quality/color combo seemed nice just the size/fit was extremely odd. Would recommend trying one on in a store before buying online and spending $15 in shipped there and back on a $25 item to which I still have not received a refund (been about two weeks since I sent it back as it went back before Christmas). Giving the hat two stars as the quality seemed good, the sizing seems awful.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Airshield Micro Dome

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
knirk
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This cap is not as useful for me as the earlier model with Windstopper. The earlier model was not as stiff, would stretch and with the smooth outer surface could be used under helmets. It was also useable as a top while sleeping. This version is too stiff for me to use sleeping.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

"MICRO" Dome.

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Magee11
Location: Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this hat thinking it would be a good layer hat for cold weather use. The quality of the hat is excellent. The fit was what I didn't like. I bought the large and it is just to small. The material doesn't stretch at all. I gave it to my wife and she likes it. I guess I have a big head. Overall it's a nice hat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hat! But not for my big head - XL Please!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
buddhaMind
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super nice hat! Was hoping I could squeeze my big head (7 7/8") into a size Large. Not a chance, the lower band does not stretch. It's a true fit, but a Large is just too small.
Unable to rate "Function", I was unable to wear it.
I need an XL, but only M & L are offered here :(
I'm having trouble finding a good warm BIG hat for winter hiking. Great hat, but never had a chance to wear it, had to return :(
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
teleHead
CO
 
Please wait while more information about teleHead is loaded.
Additional information about teleHead could not be loaded.
Large sizes
Posted January 25, 2013
I agree, it's really hard to find a nice winter hat for big heads! So many styles and colors, but nothing more uncomfortable on a cold day.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lean, mean windblocking/warmth machine

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a tough choice between this hat and the slightly more expensive Dome Ruinart. I would have to say that this hat is slightly "poofy" on the top compared to the Dome Ruinart.
They both fit nice, anyhow, the Air Shield Dome blocks wind, to the point I realized that putting it over my ears affects my hearing slightly. Sounds sound more muted when the hat is on, just from my experience.
It also has kept me very warm, especially in a winter backpacking trek test in temps of mid-20s and had no discomfort from the cold. It's a good hat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product.

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
RafterJ
Location: SW Iowa
Very good product. I don't like the extra loose material on top. Does not fit under a helmet very well. Seems a little silly. I have a single layer Mtn Hardware windstopper hat which I have worn four to five months a year for four or five years that I have been extremely happy with. It is very durable! I work outside regardless of the weather ranching, wrenching, and doing heavy construction work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for those cold nights

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cali
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I like this Bernie however the lining fits nice and tight and the outer part is a bit loose. I wish it was all snug on the head.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Landon
Location: Upstate NY
This hat is warm as it gets. It works as advertised with the air shield.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Search and Rescue

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Petrospetrosgali
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Stands up a little tall. Fit around my head is a bit tight. Blocks the wind completetly and kept my head warm in the snow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Airshield Micro Dome
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Funny

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Davila
I really dont like how it looks in me. I looks funny. I think that this hat was made for people with very big head. Im gonna buy another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RDuke10
Boston, MA
 
Please wait while more information about RDuke10 is loaded.
Additional information about RDuke10 could not be loaded.
Nice, functional, but sizing seems strange
Posted March 30, 2014
The hat is function, and clearly meant to be worn under a helmet, which I didn't fully understand before I purchased.
There seems to be some sizing issues. I've stopped wearing it altogether because it just doesn't sit comfortably, and the material is rigid enough that it doesn't stretch.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)