Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic Glove

Epic Glove - M
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Epic Glove
Review 1 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Cycling too

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought size large which fits true to size. I wear these mostly for my weekend road cycling training (1-2 hours) in temps from freezing to about 50 degrees. I have not tested their water resistance, as I try to avoid cycling in heavy rain. What I like is that I can shift and break well with the leather covered fingers, also these breath really well up to my moderate exertion level. I still pack a pair of fingerless gloves sometimes when mid 40s for long hill climbs - so I'll take these off when I know I'm going to sweat pretty seriously. All in all I am very pleased and would buy again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY Small in wrist but well made

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steve2014
Location: Avon, CT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear an XL and the length is good, but the wrist area fits very tight. I was hoping to use these these gloves for 20 - 40 deg weather and use a liner for when it's on the colder side. But the problem with this strategy is the tight wrist - even without a liner the wrist is tight. With a liner, hands will be even colder with limited circulation due to tightness. I love the look, construction and waterproof features - fix the fit and these gloves are awesome for hiking in wet weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lanky

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Flyer
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Construction on these shells is fantastic which makes for great articulation.
Flip side though is that it leans toward a lanky design - long fingers relative to the width. I went for large because extra large way to long but large then tends to be tight for width and fingers still tad long. (I have somewhat shorter stockier fingers but compared to most other gloves they are still longer / narrower - which is neither too small or too large)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product fails to live up to its claim of being waterproof

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moohalil
Location: Edinburgh
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In less than 90 minutes trekking in the Scottish rain the fingers were soaking wet. Took the gloves off and they were difficult to put back on again because on the wet lining and my damp fingers. My challenge to you is to come up with a pair of gloves where keeping out the cold is not the priority and keeping out the rain is. I am really disappointed as I like your brand for other kit and the gloves cost the best part of £50.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice gloves but small

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
stackmk
Location: St. Louis
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like these gloves. Well made. I have not had a chance to test them in wet weather but so far so good.
I am a bit disappointed in the sizing. I am not a large person (6' 175). I typically buy gloves in a large size. Sometimes large is too large for me but adding liners can solve that problem These gloves run small. The fingers are not too short. The width is the problem. They are tight across the back of my hand. If I make a fist it feel like I might rip a seam. I bought liners too but can't really use them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Glove

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
saanders
Location: SD
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These gloves are good to about 20 degrees, totally waterproof and windproof. I live in SD so I also got the butter liners with those you are good to sub zero.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough and waterproof

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JasperL
Location: Knoxville, TN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We use these for an exercise class in winter. We often work out in a wet or frozen field and constantly have our hands on the ground (pushups, etc.). They've performed perfectly, keeping our hands completely dry, through 2 full winter seasons (4 days per week), starting on a third. I'm a big fan of the OutDry technology.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Miss the gore-tex

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
gearguy
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Gloves appear waterproof at first but on heavy exposure to hrs of rain they get saturated and soak to inside of glove. They do not dry quickly. In shady 40-50 degree drying conditions they still felt wet inside. Water does not bead on them like Gore-tex material does. My heavier insulated Gore-tex gloves stay dry inside and surface is water free almost instantly. I spent $65 for these Epic gloves as a waterproof layer without the insulation for those 40-50 degree cold rains that insulated gloves are too hot to wear.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing else like them

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Immelman
Location: Vermont
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OutDry technology has allowed Mountain Hardwear to create a glove that has no equal anywhere else on the market. This is a three-season shell glove that offers absolute waterproofness while still leaving you enough dexterity to tie your shoelaces. It's the perfect thing to have in a wet and windy summer storm in New Hampshire's White Mountains, and they allowed me to plunge my hands into slushy snow and icy runoff in absolute comfort during a late-season climb of Mount Mansfield, with some knit liner gloves underneath them.
Until the invention of OutDry, only three-layer Gore-Tex shell gloves like the Arc'Teryx Alpha SV and Outdoor Research Firebrand offered waterproof protection in such a thin format, but the seam taping required to make those drove their prices up into the hundreds of dollars. OutDry's seam-free process, which takes just seconds to apply, allows MHW to offer this performance at a much lower price.
Don't go into the wet without these gloves!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointment

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
G1vemtheboot
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I live in Fairbanks Alaska and need gloves to keep my hands dry and warm. when I got the gloves in the mail I realized they are only shells, no insulation in them. Like most other gloves, the fingers are longer than my fingers, and putting on small wool liners made the gloves too tight. There is nothing wrong with the worksmanship or quality, but it's not enough for Alaskan life.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough water and windproof shell

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike68
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This glove is perfect for wet or windy conditions when you are engaged in moderate to high activity in cold conditions. It would be fine as stand alone glove in moderate conditions but if it is going to be used for hunkering in cold conditions, you definitely a wool liner and perhaps a larger size as they are true to fit.
Overall, I am very happy with this product as a shell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber Gloves

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SS24
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves, totally waterproof. The palm material is super grippy but tends to stay wet though your hands will be warm and dry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functionality

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ExtremeBackpacker1
Location: Elgin, IL
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this because my hands are very susceptible to cold & wetness due to decades of exposure. On a recent winter trip in the Smokies, they proved to be the most versatile glove I've ever used in 25F-40F conditions. Wind & moisture were blocked. I bought a L size to accomodate a liner, which I had to wear in certain conditions. However, this size decreased the dexterity of my fingertips. A medium size fits my hand w/o a liner, but does not provide space for a glove liner and I wanted to extend the useful range of conditions for this glove. 'Grip' capability of the glove is very good. I was able to operate pack & clothing zippers and a small digital camera w/o much difficulty.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for backcountry

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ski82
Location: hailey, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great glove for backcountry skiing. It's light enought that you don't overheat. It has a great shell to protect the hands in the wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Epic Mountain Hard Wear

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mystery13
Location: Appleton WI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a gift to my grandson ( age 22). He was very happy to get it. He recommended the brand. I don't know when he will be wearing them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outdry or indry?

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
djur
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i bought these to tagteam with a pair of wool gloves for my daily winter cycling. while they are still a little cumbersome dealing with keys or whatnot, the 'precurve' makes them the most comfy and dextrous waterproof gloves ive experienced. they breathe fantastically, layer wonderfully, and keep me dry as the sahara even in the most drenching downpours.
only gripes: they arent terribly well-insulated (but thats not what i bought them for, nor do i live in a freezing climate) and, though the insides stay dry to the core, the shell tends to take a while to dry (which makes for wet pockets when you stow them, hmmm).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve1
Location: Baltimore Ravens
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I will use for skiing. This is a light weight glove that would need a liner for extra cold days. I got extra large so I will have extra room for a liner on cold days. The glove may be too small for that. The glove seams a little on the small side.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Eh.

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rsadil27
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would have been bummed on this if I had payed full price. Totally synthetic and budget approach to waterproofing makes for a poor fit.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glove

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Conhawa
Location: WV
This is a great waterproof glove. The durability, grip and dexterity are awesome. They do fit snug though. If you plan to wear a liner inside..order a size up. I ordered a medium since I wear this size in most gloves. I am unable to wear a thin liner inside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Epic Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Believe in OutDry

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
backtoMH
As a shell, this glove is amazing. The OutDry is a great advancement in waterproofing and wind blockage. When the temps drop, I put my wool liner on and I am perfect. I have not wore the gloves in temps below 25F, so I can say how effective my combo is. Now, I am looking to replace my alpine gloves with another OutDry product from either the Alpine or Mountain line from Mountain Hardware.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.