Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket

Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Pacific Northwest

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
RusT
Location: Portland
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a jacket for cold rainy days that actually breaths and is waterproof.
Also wore it in the cold and wind with a single layer underneath and with the hood it pretty much saved me.
I took a medium (I'm 5' 11" 175) and it has the form fitting athletic fit I was looking for plus the orange color is high visibility.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made for running

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pipes
Location: Reston, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down, the best running jacket I have ever owned. Great form and cut - I wear a large for a 5'10" 170lb runners frame. It is wind resistant for sure. Wearing it in 30deg weather with a base layer (and a thin one at that) is all I needed. It breathes like I could not believe, kept me warm, yet got the sweat out on a long slow distance run. Absolutely the best jacket I have ever owned. The best part, it is an all rounder running jacket - wind, winter and water are all good, plus the hood!! Just enough pockets. Only thing I feel will make this just unbelievable would be zipper vents.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber for the rain

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liefr
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been running with this jacket for a few months now in the Portland area and it's been totally solid. I don't wet out--amazingly--and it keeps me dry and the cut is perfect. (I'm 6'1"/185/athletic build and like things really form fitting--probably between M and L but went M.) While it's put about five other rain jackets out of commission, it wasn't until a 15 mile trail run on some pretty wrecked single track last week that I decided that this thing the jam. Pouring rain, 30mph wind and I was warm and dry with a thin baselayer underneath. The other reviews are spot on: if you run in the rain on the regular, just get it. I'm actually blown away by this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Running Jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philip
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Until now I have always been scared to run in a jacket. I had fears of overheating and having to carry it, being too sweaty, it rubbing me wrong, or the annoying swishy noises you can get from jackets.
This is the first jacket I own that I can run in and it is a joy. Lightweight, stretch, looks sexy, and performs great! I use it to run in 35-45 degree weather, mostly in the evening with some wind, and all I wear underneath is a running shirt, sometimes a quarter zip. Have not tested in the rain, but am kind of looking forward to it. This jacket has really helped me continue my running in the winter. I have the black but really want the orange one now as well.
The only improvement I can think of, and this might be winter specific, is that it would be nice if it had monkey thumbholes or a liner with thumbholes at the wrists,,,,but maybe I just need to buy gloves. I don't know.
I wear a medium in this product. It is sized a bit small. I usually wear small in MHW. I am 6'1", 165 lbs, swimmers/runner build. Fits great and covers my arms well.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

for a runner's physique

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
OTBear
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is super lightweight and unobtrusive on the body. The fabric has a substantial but flexible feel. I have not yet tested the waterproof quality but assume it to be as advertised. Sizing is definitely targeted to super-lean physique which does not allow for any layers underneath to provide additional warmth. It has no inherent insulation and I found it to be disappointingly chill for winter golf in Oregon. Great for a run but did not cross over for other uses.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

goodbye hardshells

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
orange
Location: northeast
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the most comfortable, breathable, compliant, quietest and favorite, fully waterproof jacket i've ever owned. Almost feels like putting on a trusted old sweatshirt, and the cut and hand pockets resemble one.
I have not tested it in day long deluges, and am a little skeptical about how it would hold up under extreme conditions, but if i was going to be out in a multiday/backcountry expedition in the cold and rain i'd break out the hardshell otherwise it seems doomed to the closet. For all other lesser endeavors this has become my go to...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Breathable

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
NM13
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The breathability of this jacket is spectacular. Despite the hood, I use it for biking. I overheat extremely quickly, so having a jacket that breathes was of the utmost importance for me. Even on longer rides, I can feel the significant difference in how this breathes compared to other coats that I've used in the past.
The stretch and feel of the material is also perfect. It allows for a comfortable, yet fitted feel from a t-shirt up to a couple of bulkier pieces underneath. For winter use, this is awesome. The reflective hits are just an added bonus to everything. I've yet to use this in rainy weather, though I'm looking forward to seeing how it performs.
Do yourself a favor; buy it and go for a run. You'll love it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NM13
Minneapolis, MN
 
Please wait while more information about NM13 is loaded.
Additional information about NM13 could not be loaded.
Quick Update
Posted December 3, 2013
Just used it for the first time in inclement conditions. Truly is waterproof on top of being breathable. Had a 30 min bike ride in driving rain/sleet/snow and it held up beautifully, even after it eventually wetted out. Never got a drop of moisture on the inside.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Unique

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wyohusker
Location: Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this running jacket in Highway Orange to be seen by those senior citizens that should not be behind the wheel. Don't waste your money on other jackets that claim to breathe but never seem to satisfy your needs. The Effusion keeps the rain off, the wind out and breathes like a race horse. I have worn this jacket on several long runs over just a short sleeve wicking top in windy 32 degree weather. I have NEVER felt so comfortable. Other wind and waterproof jackets always left me soaked on the inside after a vigorous outing. Best jacket I have ever owned in over 33 years of running! You may question the price, but the Effusion is well worth ever penny.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sick Jacket!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stanley
Location: Edwards, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is by far the best summer weight jacket I have ever had. The jacket is light enough that you can barely tell that it is even there. The waterproofing is great especially coming out of a jacket this size. Although I have not had it in any torrential down pours I still think it could hold its own. It will not keep you warm on its own. But on a cool brisk day below 35 degrees with a base layer you will be plenty of warm. With that being said I think it would be a nice addition to my ski outfit when you need a little bit extra warmth on top of your base layer. The only thing I wish it could do is pack into itself. Besides that it is the perfect jacket for all around use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent water-proof Jacket for intense activity

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carlo
Location: Tacoma, WA.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is excellent for what it is made for. I use it running, snow - shoeing, skinning, bicycling. It performed well in keeping me dry. I highly recommend it. its light weight, water proof , breathable, well made ( w/ one exception: the tabs at the end of the draw strings for the hood never stay on. I sent one jacket back and the same happened to the replacement !!..its annoying )
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps me dry in a downpour

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
cheaptequila
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got back from road biking the 450 mile Natchez Trace in TN, AL & MS in April. On one of the 90 mile days, it was pouring all day- really coming down hard. I had on a cycling jersey & arm warmers underneath. This jacket kept me totally dry and comfortable the whole day, and the hood fit right over the helmet perfectly. Snug fit, wasn't flapping around in the wind, just what was needed. Packs down small enough to fit into one of the rear pockets of a cycling jersey (a little bulky, but no problem). Works great as a travel jacket too - very nice looking jacket and looks to be very well constructed. I slid out on some slick sidewalk trying to take a turn too fast and landed on my arm, and the jacket doesn't show a scratch, even though my arm did.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice finish

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
lenny07
Location: san francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i haven't used this in wet weather yet so i can't give it 5 stars but very happy overall. great wind blocking protection
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome shell for aerobic activities

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
worm
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket as a lightweight shell for running a non-supported 100 mile race. I wanted something that would seal out the elements but that I wouldn't overheat in. This jacket exceeds in just such conditions. I use it to run in conditions that keep others inside. Rain, snow, wind...in fact I've gone out purposefully in poor conditions to see how this shell would fair. It passes the test with flying colors. I typically run hot so many shells don't work for me. This jacket breathes incredibly well and doesn't wet out. It has become my go to shell for splitboarding as well. If you want a breathable, weather proof shell, look no further.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ideal for wet conditions, high aerobic

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
quartzmo
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please note that I have the older version and the fit has apparently changed.
The fit of my version of jacket is very tailored, I can wear a thin baselayer under it but that's about it, so it's definitely limited to high-output aerobic use like running and biking, and I don't get much value out of it for ski touring or mountaineering. For a drier climate like Utah, I think the best all-around light jacket is the Patagonia Houdini.
For the wet conditions that are right for it, the Effusion Hooded is just about perfect, just an amazingly balanced piece. For example, trail running last summer in a warm downpour, it kept me almost totally dry for a couple hours and was wonderfully breathable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best winter piece I've ever owned

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
TriCh
Location: Youngstown, OH
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, light, warm. I've never worn more than a long sleeve tech-tee underneath this, and that was in the low 20's. Makes a nice casual piece when it's too warm to wear running.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding piece. Great fit.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hinmania
Location: Piedmont, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an amazing rain piece. Just received three weeks ago and it's my favorite cold, wet weather piece. Nice stretch type fabric fits snugly, but not overly so. I am 5'11", 155 lbs and it fits nicely. My old rain jacket was much less breathable and oversized. Great look, great feel. Could definitely second as a work out piece in inclement weather.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
surgite1971
State College, PA
 
Please wait while more information about surgite1971 is loaded.
Additional information about surgite1971 could not be loaded.
Thanks much! Question on sizing
Posted October 31, 2013
I am about your size...I'm 5'9 and 160 and typically get a medium but understand this has an "athletic" cut which makes sense as it's more for high active/movement like trail running, xc skiing, etc so no need for a thick base layer...however my mountaineering shells are larges so I can layer...what size did you get and does it work well for you? Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Phenomenal running jacket

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jonnygmg
Location: Madison, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to buy a maximally breathable jacket that was essentially waterproof. I tested several jackets on short winter runs, and this was by far the most breathable. I was out in a steady rain (more than a drizzle, less than a downpour) yesterday for about 40 minutes, and came out bone dry. Soft, functional and stylish. Fit itself is perfect. Only complaint would be the stiffness of the main zipper lining - a large "bump" appears 2/3 way up the zipper when raising my arms overhead, which causes the whole jacket to ride up a bit. Not a big deal, since I'm using it for running and casual settings, but not perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Effusion Hooded Jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
CraigSF
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and functional jacket. I have another Mountain Hardware waterproof shell in a medium size, but I got this one in a large. It fits a little more snug than the other jackets. The stretchy outer fabric is much more comfortable than the material of a normal shell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Watch that zipper.

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
soccerjulie27
Location: Rochester, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket! Super light, super stuff-in-the-bottom-of-your-backpack-able, entirely water and windproof. It fits great (tho slightly smaller than I'd think a large would be) and the slight stretch is quite nice. My only beef with it is the silly zipper. It works just fine, but you have to be AbSoLuTeLy certain that you've gotten the free end tucked all the way into the slider end before you star t zipping or you WILL get all the way up to your neck with the slider holding both sides but without actually zipping anything. Most zippers I've ever used simply wouldn't zip till the free side was properly seated.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect rain jacket

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BFish
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first picked up the Effusion I didn't believe it could be waterproof - it's so thin and lightweight. But make no mistake, it is. I live in Portland where it rains a lot and we don't use umbrellas, and this is my go-to jacket. Somehow they made it breathable while still being fully waterproof, so it's ideal for doing anything active where you need to stay dry. Fantastic product, can't say enough good things about it!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.