Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket

Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
5 out of 7(71%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Short Arm Length

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindahl
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As others have mentioned, this jacket's sleeve length is too short. This jacket doesn't work well with gloves at all. Pop the cuffs over your gloves, stretch your arms out, and the cuffs will retract, leaving a cold spot on your wrist. Wish they had sized this jacket more correctly, as it's a wonderful piece, and better than anything else on the market in this weight class (60g synthetic fill belay jacket).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MichaelS
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed another down jacket like I needed a hole in my head, but this is a great jacket. It's pretty thin and scrunches down to nothing. The color is great. No internal pockets, but that's the only thing I can ding it on. I'm 5'9" 140# and it fits me like a glove.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super light

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Magee11
Location: Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as an outer layer and a layer under my shell. Beyond my expectations. It is slim fit, very light and warm. I am 5'8 and 140 lbs and the medium fits awesome. The hood fit is very nice. This ended up being an everyday user for me. The pine tree color is not as natural as I thought it would be but still a cool color. Thanks again MHW for being so AWESOME.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dope, hooded jacket.

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
rDUBZ
Location: Hood River, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this hooded jacket is dope.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cozy jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Goat
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Great jacket, toasty for its very lightweight feel, like the fit too, not baggy, if you have longer than normal arms I could see how the sleeves might be short.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

T-Rex Arms

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MattyIce
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great looking jacket, and very warm for being light and thin...but as a few other reviewers have mentioned, the arms are annoyingly WAY TOO short, which seems weird for a garment that's supposed to be keeping you warm. If they could fix this issue, I'd buy another, but as it is I had to return it.
(I'm 6-4 w/ average wingspan, and the XL cuffs were about 2"-3" above my wrists standing normally, or about mid-forearm with arms outstretched.)
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great for the MOG's out there

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
outandabout
Location: AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a really nice jacket, but unfortunately the sleeves seem to be several inches shorter than other mountain hardwear XLs that I own. I admit that I am kind of lanky, folks with stumpy arms might see this change as a benefit. I am 6'3", with a 6'4" armspan. I often have trouble finding sleeves long enough. I have been happy with the sleeve length on the drystien jacket, butterman shirt, as well as several older layers from mountain hardwear.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Thermostatic™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When the Temps Are Shifting, Keep it Thermostatic.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
DylanMeSoftly
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the right amount of warmth to give me the comparable heat of a fleece without the weight. This baby is light! it is very easily packable and a real easy jacket to care for. The hood fits great. I think the sleeves are a tad shorter than most alpine MHW gear, but hey, who can complain when you got a bomber piece like this?
You may as well call this the Diet Compressor, or, maybe, The Synthetic Whisperer. Ah, words. Whatever the name, whatever the need- Thermostatic, indeed.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.