Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Passenger™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Passenger™ Pant

Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
26 out of 30(87%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice, but not good fit

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
DizzcoDave
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like the feel of these pants, but unfortunately the sizing is way off for me. Usually I'm good with 32x34 or 33x34, but in this case they run too large. I would probably fit better in 32x32 but I don't think I can return them at this point...
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Thick, Heavy Pants

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
txcaley
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Typical excellent MH build quality on an attractive pair of pants. Tough and durable but sharp enough to wear out at night. My issue with them is how heavy they are, and how much stretch is built in to the fabric. The pair I got fit me perfectly when I put them on, but there is so much stretch material built in to these, and they are so heavy, that about an hour later they feel baggy and stretched out. Also, the rear pockets are much to shallow for the "slippery" material and several times I've nearly lost my wallet out of them. These pants also feel like they weigh about 5 lbs. Perfect for cold weather, but these are going to be in storage over the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Size matters

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJMaui40
Location: Kentfield, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two pairs already, khaki and maple. They're my automatics for overseas travel and rough country hiking. They are tough through the brush and rocks, super comfortable on long flights and acceptable at dinner in nice restaurants everywhere.
Quality rated "good" because the waist sizes vary widely. My khaki's are 34w and a bit loose but quite wearable. Maple is 32w and perfect. Received Shark in 32w, way too tight, unable to zip. Have sent 'em back. I'll try Shark again with 34w. Fingers crossed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JustinB
Location: San Rafael, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, very versatile, love the style, great colors. This is one of my all time favorite adventure and around town pants out there.
Thanks!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and function!

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
PaulE
Location: St Paul
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are some of the best trousers I've ever worn! They stretch nicely where and when they should, and seem durably constructed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent pants for any kind of work

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
RossS
Location: Normal, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well made and very comfortable pants. I use them for construction work since they are very flexible and comfortable to be in all day no matter what you job entails for the day.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
GregBend
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants fit very well. They look very rugged and durable however the are VERY comfortable. A little built in stretch make them super comfy.
The only feature I was surprised these pants did not have was a leg pocket for my phone?? Not a huge deal but that seems to be the norm these days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDSLC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants for hitting the trails or at the office. I take a lot of people out on field trips for my job, so something that can make that transition and hold up is a must. Awesome pants all around.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome pants, poor cut

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
LAZERWOLFE
Location: Madison, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First and foremost, they're killer pants. The color is fantastic, workmanship is top notch and I'm most assuredly fond of them. However as much as I like them there are some caveats. The cut is awful. They're almost bell bottoms in scope. I'm a skinny guy (28x32) and the waist is solid but the bottoms almost swallow up most shoes, even boots I wear. I got them tailored so they tapered considerably after the knee and look fantastic. Awesome pants, awful cut so avoid them if you're looking for anything with a modern look.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Casual Pants

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paul7274
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my third pair of these pants. They are the most comfortable pants that I own. My only complaint is that they don's come in more colors. I would especially like to see them in dark blue, because they would be a comfortable alternative to blue jeans.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ginormous leg opening

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gnomadic
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
In terms of construction, material, and quality, these are great pants. In the waist, and from the knee up, the fit is great, too; but below the knee, the legs are gigantic -- 9" wide!. They're bell bottom-esque and cover your foot from heel to toe -- fit for a Phish show circa 1997. Have to see if a tailor can help these out, but it's a shame to pay $80 for a pair of pants and then have to pay a tailor to make them look remotely modern.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyday pants

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
HotDale
Location: Cornelius, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own 4 pairs of Passenger Pants. They are flexible, stylish, and yet snappy casual. Highly recommend these pants.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good everyday pants able to keep up

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
DaLoveDr
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These fit true to size, They are a unique texture that feels nice to your skin, they are stretchy all over and so are very comfortable, ive been looking for literally years for pants that not only look good but are functional as well. The only thing i dont like is the front pockets are not very deep at all, when i squat my phone and wallet push into my front hip. Have never had pants with such shallow pockets hope they change this in the future, but still worth getting!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Neat looking pants

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
SemiRural
Location: western Washington
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fabric is a substantial weight. The pants does not look wrinkled after laundry or wearing. It works well for both outdoor and indoor activities.
We ordered size 38-34 in khaki. The wearer is physically fit, but says "my weight has shifted to the middle". We've had to search to find pants that do not have that baggy look (in the hips and thighs).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Baggier than I expected

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
PackSmartClimbLight
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
A solid pant that combines the flex jeans lack with the sturdy feel of jeans. I wasn't expecting the leg openings to feel "boot cut," but it's not so boot cut that it's "bell bottomy." The gusseted crotch is super comfy. I could easily hike and boulder in these, as well as casual wear to dinner or church. I got the 31W x 32L. I could get away with 32"w. It fits well with not much room for shrinking. I'm 6' 175lbs, lean build, and they fit like my 32" x 32" jeans. I also like my pants to fit, not hang off me sloppily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like em' a lot

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow - these actually look and feel great. As other reviews stated, they are a little small. I'm a size 33 waist who needs to back off the IPAs, but the 32 fits great - granted I wont go shirtless with my man belly while wearing these pants quite yet... I wore these on date night with wife (with a camel sport coat), and with a different blazer while in meetings with a client. The cords are just dressy enough you can cover a lot ground with em' in casual cities like Portland. But, they are not dressy per se, I'm just saying they offer flexibility.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

passenger pants

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
buddyb
Location: MD
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Based on a recommendation and the appearance of pants worn by a friend, and
purchased from hard wear, I ordered 2 pairs of these. What a disappointment! The quality was indeed mediocre, no more than I would expect from a discount box store. I certainly would have accepted a price higher than LI normally would pay, but not for this quality. I would want them for half the price.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
desertrider
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these pants as a Christmas present for my husband. He already had one pair and was upset because he was unable to find other colors. He thinks they are much more versatile and comfortable than regular jeans. Fit note: he usually wears a 38 in. waist in jeans, but a 36 in. in these Passenger Pants fits fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing WAY too big...

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
PaulM
Location: California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've owned a lot of M.Hardwear previous seasons pants. I wear 36 waist -- I've had to go down all the way to 32 waist to make this equivalent.
The customer service people seem very familiar with this issue (I think the design department really messed up this season).
Anyway, as far as function, the pockets were kind of small, and no more of them than usual -- so not sure why they claim these are special for flying (maybe small pockets are better for travelling this days!).
For $80, I expected more, and after returning 3 pairs, trying to work my way to the right size, I've decided to go buy something for half that price at Lands End or LL Bean.
Nice people at customer service, but frustrating for everyone when they screw up the sizing so, so badly.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Passenger™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable Jeans

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Antti
Location: Arizona
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Passenger Jeans are a very comfortable pair of jeans that are good looking as well. I'm a 5'10" 170lbs guy with a narrow waist and the 31"X32" jeans fit perfect for me. They are slightly dressier then regular blue jeans. I get compliments all the time on these jeans.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.