Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Zerna™ Beanie

Mountain Hardwear Zerna™ Beanie

Zerna™ Beanie
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Zerna™ Beanie
Review 1 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wanted to like it !

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Warmobsession
Location: Franklin NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this hat mainly to match my shark/state orange Phantom jacket. I got a "regular" to begin with , as I'm just an average size guy (6' 200lbs.) It wouldn't even fit on my head! I returned it and bought a large. The FIRST TIME I put it on, the orange band split in the back. The second problem I had was all I could hear was wind through the vent holes over the ears on the side. It was really annoying. The third problem was it wasn't very warm (IMO) I returned it to the store today and got the Perignon lite and I love it. I definitely do not recommend this hat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hat!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
climberguy133
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is great! I had it on under my helmet all day ice climbing and I didn't even know I had it on. The fit is true and perfect, and the thin profile fits great under a helmet. I actually had this hat on and the hood of a mid layer under my helmet and it was very comfortable. The temps were in the single digits to low teens all day and I was very warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hat.

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ronf
Location: PDX
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Windproof and thin enough to fit under my climbing helmet with full ear coverage.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for aerobic activity

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LEO333
Location: Southeast US
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This beanie cap is lightweight but suprisingly warm. I use this cap primarily for running and other active outdoor activities. I wear a 7.25 (57.7cm) fitted baseball cap, and this beanie fits just right. It completely covers my ears and extends below my brow. This beanie is very stretchy and is fairly warm for a non-insulating style cap.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cycling beanie

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
CollidesDale
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being, genetically speaking, one of those unfortunate individuals blessed with a large cranium it is hard for me to find hats and helmets that fit. It is even harder to find one that fits and doesn't make my head look like a lollypop. I finally found a helmet that I wasn't embarassed to wear and then it got cold. Short story long, I bought the Zerna and am very happy with it. The volume I feel is a little big but even without adjusting it I can fit it under my helmet and it keeps my monstrous ears completely covered and warm whilst still being very minimalistic. Must have for anyone wearing helmets in the cold.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
TomH
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is surprisingly warm for how thin it is. It fits great under my climbing helmet.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Helmet beannie

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
silky
Location: Salyer, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I really like this beanie! I wasn't sure it was going to work out because it is so thin but I have found this quality to be why I like it so much.
I have snowshoed, rafted, ran in the rain, and casual town wearing in this hat. Works great with a helmet!! Blocks the wind amazingly for being so thin and breathable.
My only complaint is the fit. Does not fit my head shape well at all. I have a lot of extra material I push to the back of my neck. This would be a deal breaker in most cases but this piece functions under helmets and in wind so well I would have to recommend this and if you have a perfect shaped head for the hat...that would be awesome.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zerna™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I have found

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Northern CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a shaved-head or skin-tight hair guy, I am qualified on hats. This thing is great under a helmet or alone in windy conditions. The best feature is the band around the ears that provides tension. Fit is snug and it covers the head well. My hat size is 7&3/8 and the regular is great.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.