Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Portino™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Men's Portino™ Short

Men's Portino™ Short
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Portino™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great look and design

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
johcha
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants fit very well. The pockets are deep enough and the zip enclosures are designed well. Don't plan to pack too much into these fitness shorts are they're more geared for a an athletic hike vs carrying too much junk on the weekends.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of shorts

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
LarryTheHiker
Location: Torrance, Ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Has features that no other pair of shorts has. 2 regular front pockets, 2 zippered cargo pockets, and 2 rear pockets. Has a built-in belt which is more comfortable when carrying a heavy backpack.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i'm hard to fit.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
fbrinsley
Location: tucson, az, usa
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i feel like i had shorts tailor made. had these waiting for me when i returned from three day road trip. wish i had these with me. amaze comfortable. got the duffel 12"? dont want ppl seeing my pasty thighs. need shower but so comfy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shorts, My Go To Pair

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vino
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like the shorts, they are a great fit and are very comfortable. I use them for my day hikes and my overnighters. the pockets do feel weird at first but they are large and you will get used to them very quickly. I have hiked over 100 miles in them and they still look brand new. Very durable. The only gripe I have is the buckle system, while it is nice that a belt is included and it is easy to use it does not stay tight. This is fine for around town use but while I am back packing it is a pain to constantly be pulling up and tightening my shorts. However, it must not bother me too much because I still use them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Portino Short

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ferg
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Pockets were odd size and shape. Belt fastener was cumbersome. Shorts were very large for 36 waist. I retuned the shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
NumberOneBackpacker
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have not yet had a chance to take these out on the trail yet so I can't truly speak to the ruggedness of them but I have worn them around time enough to make a comment. I really enjoy the look and color. The form, fit and feel is great. I really like the waist band, it truly makes the shorts very comfortable. I will agree with other reviews that the pockets are a little different. They feel weird but easy to get over. Over all a great pair of shorts and am looking forward to taking them out in the field.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nathan
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Love these shorts - absolutely love them. A bit pricey, but they are comfortable, cool, and dry quickly. The built in belt is super, because you can adjust precisely to the fit you want.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

portino shorts

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
elmerfud22
Location: buff,n.y.
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great look and fit,very comfortable. side zip pockets and back pockets are fine. bit there is something not quite right about the front pockets. dont feel right wierd shape or something. the positive is there is enough pockets, so it doesnt bother me to much.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Portino™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best short I can remember buying

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
aaroncaito
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these shorts as something to wear when out. They are so nice that I wear them all the time now. The material is sturdy and doesn't snag and hangs and looks clean. The cargo pockets are located great and I have a place to put everything without being obnoxious. The built in belt / buckle is excellent and reminds me of something Dutch at http://dutchwaregear.com/ would come up with. Easy and strong but can disconnect in a hurry with no fuss - once you learn to pinch and squeeze.
If I were to make any changes I would alter the shape of the top front pockets as it feels like a portion of the pocket is missing and its just weird. Also maybe make the belt out of just a hair thicker material so its easier to disconnect belt without fold-over.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Portino™ Short
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Too Small
4 / 7
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5