Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant

Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
9 out of 12(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Review 1 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great athletic pants

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MikePT
Location: DC, DC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One warning this fit a great on a more athletic build not like a casual pant/jean. As an athlete it is hard to find pants that fit massive thigh muscles, these fit my legs and I still have room to stretch around without binding.
These are great for professionals that work inside and outside. Only downfall they do fade after a year of use.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design and fit

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
DangerBacon
Location: Wilmington, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
Was not impressed by these pants. I'm 6'2/240 lbs with a 37" waist. I ordered the pants in 38/34. The pants were nice and loose in the waist but the thighs were way too tight, making it very uncomfortable to put anything in the pockets. I should have just returned it on the spot but I hoped that moving around would stretch them out - it did not.This tightness severely restricted my mobility and I was afraid I was going to rip the pants open while moving over terrain. The button in the fly is also held in by a large piece of metal which will jab you in the stomach, especially when wearing a pack hip belt over it. The advertised "knife pocket" is incredibly small - I own quite a few knives, fixed blade and folding and none of them would fit in there; I uploaded a picture with a small benchmade folder just to demonstrate how silly it is. The cargo pocket's zipper can't be opened with only one hand due to the design which is a real problem in a variety of situations. The rear pockets are pretty deep and things like a wallet will settle right at the bottom and dig in to your butt in a way that will get very annoying after a while - and the slippery material would definitely make them prone to having stuff fall out since there is no mechanism to secure them. On the plus side the actual worksmanship / quality of materials is typical excellent MHW quality. All around poor design, and I would not recommend these to fellow military professionals or outdoor enthusiasts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Norb
Location: Tacoma, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants seem to have a weird fit when you are putting them on. You almost have to squeeze into them. However, once they are on, the pants are very comfortable and cool. These pants have become the go-to pants for anything and everything outdoors. Great product from Mountain Hardwear.
I am 5'10", 175 lbs and wear 31 waist, 32 inseam pants that are true to size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a true fit

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gregory
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are just OK. They are very lightweight and comfortable. Even more lightweight than I expected.
However the waist size is WAY larger than what I ordered and is labeled.
I'm a 30 inch waist and ordered a 28/30 inseam. The waist size is nearly 2-3 inches larger than that. probably a 31. I'm extremely disappointed in the poor fit because I would have liked to wear these without a belt.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bring back the original Mesa!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
JBSS
Location: Ethiopia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall a good product...but not as good as the original Mesa. Front pockets are smaller and the extra pocket is now in the front instead of on the side. Even the logo is now a 'press on', not embroidered.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pant

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
UWPHX
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already own the pant/short product from MH and these pants fit just as well. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inseam pretty small

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
DanB
Location: Herndon, VA
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the pants--they're comfortable and look great, but the inseam is short. Either these pants shrunk in one dimension, or they're just naturally short.
Quite a pity, because they're great otherwise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fail

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
4578985
Location: Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a pair of these in capri-length that have been my best hiking pants ever, but I wanted a full length version. I have hundred of trail miles in the capris, but these started falling apart within a couple days. First, the fabric tore in the seat, so I had to duct tape them. Then the inseam started ripping--duct tape doesn't work there, so by the end of my three week Sierra backpack I was barely decent. The built in belt was genius on the original, this one is sleazy and impossible to keep from twisting. The zip pocket has a key fob built in that annoyingly falls out every time I go for the chapstick. The fit is perfect in the capris, but not in these, the stretched out and were baggy.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs Big

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kate23
Location: Birmingham AL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
I ordered a 33/34 for my husband, which is what he usually wears, but these were about an inch too long and an inch too big in the waist (maybe even a little more than an inch), too much to belt. Will have to exchange.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mesa V1 > Mesa V2

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
rienholt
Location: New Jersey
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While overall these are nice pants they are a significant downgrade from the original Mesa pants. They use a button that can poke you instead of the much more comfortable velcro and snap. There is no built in belt, the front pockets are not as deep, the back pockets no longer have velcro to keep them closed, and the ability to cinch the legs closed has been removed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

snug but functional

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
46Cent
Location: TX
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ordered a 33x30... craftsmanship is great, but while the waist fits comfortably they are a bit snug around the hips
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oddly Cut Pants

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
75guy
Location: Kingwood, TX
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Mesa Pant looked great and fit great except for one major design flaw: The fabric in the seat of the trousers drew up sharply into the space between my cheeks! Not only was this highly uncomfortable, it looked bizarre (my wife noticed immediately). I do not have this problem with any other mens slacks or jeans.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mesa V2 Pants

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeffery60
Location: Oregon City OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mesa pants are great. The " Light and quick to dry, this hiking pant delivers" statement is 100% accurate. I use them for hiking as well as traveling. They roll up and fit in a pack with little space needed.
Just great gear and what I would expect from Mountain Hard Wear.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants I have ever owned

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
walter25
Location: Huntsville
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
OMG these are the best pants I have ever owned. Excellent quality, fit and style. I just ordered three more pairs. Thank you for making an awesome product.
Please do not stop making this style MESA V2!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.