Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant

Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and comfortable

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Martin6
Location: Truckee, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased a pair of 31x34's. The length was true to size but the waist fit more like a 33. I can't wear the pants without a belt. They are lightweight and very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

could be great

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shadowboy
Location: Ridgway, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The light weight material in these pants will be great for warmer climes. I don't live in a real warm climate so haven't gotten to give them a good run yet but liked them on a recent trip to the Utah desert. I'm sure that when summer comes they will get a lot of use.
I was glad to see that they did not have the built in belt that others have complained about. However these pants are lacking in one thing. The lower removal leg does not have a zipper at the cuff and this makes getting them off over boots a real chore. I thought that I read in past reviews that they did have zippers at the cuff and was disappointed that the pair that got didn't have them. I previously owned a pair of Matterhorn convertibles and they did have the cuff zipper, so I expected these to have them as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
TexasPride
Experience: Casual
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last week I went Backpacking in temps below 30F with freezing rain for hours. I had these pants on with an under armor base. I stayed completely dry and relatively warm the entire time. The pants far exceeded my hopes. Well worth the money (especially on sale).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChrisMac
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have worn them several times hiking and camping with the scouts. They are light weight and very tough. Wish I ordered more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mesa Convertible Pants Rock!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
slipring
Location: Ames, Iowa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've owned three pairs of convertible pants in the last 6 years: Royal Robbins Zip n' Go pants (16.2 oz); Columbia Titanium Silver Ridge II pants (11.2 oz) and the Mountain Hardwear Mesa Convertible Pants (15.2 oz). Of the three, the Mesa Convertibles are my favorite.
These pants fit and feel great and don't have that "zip-off pants" look. Even with a trim fit, these pants provide a great range of motion for scrambling on talus & boulders and other off-trail maneuvers. The zips at leg bottoms open up far enough to remove legs while keeping boots on (can't do that with my Columbia's). There's also a snap at the bottom of boot zip openings. With this snapped, I opened up the "boot zips" on recent trip for ventilation and it worked great (pit zips for your calves!). The pants don't have cargo pockets. This might be a problem for some, but isn't for me because I like to travel on the "trim" side. There's a zip pocket just below the right front pocket that I use to keep compass and maps handy. The Mesa shorts are longer than both the Royal Robbins' and Columbia's shorts (which I think are waaay too short... think, '70s short). I think the longer length looks better and, in addition to backcountry use, I wear them around town. The "micro-chamois-lined seamless conical waist" really does feel nice under a cinched-down pack belt. I also have a pair of MH's Wildlands shorts with same feature and the waist just really feels good. The "Cigar" color does a great job of hiding a week's worth of dirt and abuse (my other convertibles are tan and look trashed after a week). Lastly, and most importantly, the Mesa's simply look great (and if you don't look good in the backcountry, you're nowhere!).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Pant

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
PaulH
Location: Berkeley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore one pair of these pants on a 160 mile, week and a half hike. Easy to keep clean, fast drying. Never wore them as shorts, but used zippers as vents, which worked great.
They are tight around the thighs and I am pretty slim. Also, a sewn seam separated in the crotch/between legs area. Had to sew up with field kit to keep it from spreading. Not sure why or how this happened except that it may have been a faulty seam.
Laslty, get a belt. Either they stretched a little around waist or I lost weight very quickly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light Weight, Warm Weather Backpacking Pants

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
OldMan
Location: Yorktown, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These zipoff pants are well suited for warm/moderate temperature outdoor activity. The are well-made. I'm a 31/30, and it's VERY difficult to find good zipoff pants for my size. My 31/30's fit perfectly. My son is a 28/29. These pants do not have zippers on the lower leg, which makes them easier to hem to a shorter size- so I purchased the 28/30's for my son and got them hemmed. Perfect fit. Please keep making the smaller sizes Mountain Hardware!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad but......

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
kamel603
Location: White Mts NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not bad....lightweight very breathable...great for spring, summer, fall, and early winter...not a fan of the new belt style as with rugged activity it comes unclipped easily...also runs about a half size small....ordered a 34/34 which ismy norm and it's just a tad snug around the man parts....quality construction though and should stand up to some rugged use...just order a size up.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Mesa™ v2 Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great convertible pant

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RoxRunner
Location: Mystic, CT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't yet used them as shorts, but I've hiked in them through fall, winter and the beginning of spring. The pant itself is plenty warm, so being convertible, I'm guessing, is going to be a highly desirable function. I don't see using these as full-on pants past April.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.