Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Topout™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Topout™ Pant

Topout™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Topout™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dipike088
Location: Alexandria, VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These have a dressier look than other Columbia or Mountain Hardwear pants I own & the most comfortable. I wear to the office with a casual button-up, flying, around the house and hiking - these can do them all. Love these pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kinda disappointed

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
27ryan
Location: Maryland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First off this pair of pants is best off for the occasional climber only. The pants fit really well and are super comfortable, and I was surprised by how good the DWR coating was, but they are really poor quality pants. First off I have been using these for about a month indoors at the gym and I figure they maybe have another moth of use left before my harness rips through the legs. After a month I can see where the leg loops from my harness have eaten away the pants at an alarming rate. That being said I climb about 3-4 days a week and while I usually wear these pants I don't always and lately have been kinda afraid to in the hopes I can prolong the life of the pants.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robotfood
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great, they are super stretchy, probably the stretchiest pants I have, but they don't feel like spandex or anything, the ripstop fabric is awesome, super tough, and light! The legs are slimmer, but not tight or anything, just not baggy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great material and stretch!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joestealth
Location: Seattle WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best pants for hiking through brush. Would like a gaiter attachment and keprotec/cordura patch on the instep but that would add weight. I think these are perfect for the climbing and backpacking crowd. Unique fabric is stretchy and really durable...not as heavy as a doubleweave or schoeller type pant so it packs down small. Fit is about one size large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Casual Pant

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Poozer22
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although these pants are intended for the outdoor life, I'm a long way from that ! Overweight and underactive, the pants are perfect for me too, stretchy and incredibly comfortable, especially for travelling and particularly for flying.
The material is lightweight and sturdy, but moves easily and never binds. Wash and hang up damp, it is dry by morning. My only complaint is a familiar one when dealing with men's pants: improper placement of belt loops, and not enough of them. Yes this pant does have loops, despite the website pic that shows none.
I started with a grey pair, subsequently bought black and will definitely by the chocolate.
Great value.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Skinny Pants

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
spcarver
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for anyone with leg muscles. The waist and length are correct, but the thighs are cut skinny. Will be sending them back.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Comfortable

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
PDXjohn
Location: portland or
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are my new favorite summer casual wear. A waffle stretch fabric that fits trim, but not clinging. Phone pocket in leg is handy. Fabric is light and waffle seems to keep skin cool.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hinderlander
Location: CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally a Mountain Hardwear Pant that actually is the correct size and fit. These are durable and comfortable. I cant complain. Great for all around use. I have the finder pants and the Refugio supreme pants and these are better than both of those. The supreme is lighter but you pay for it when they rip like a piece of tissue paper and the cut of the finder pants is awkward. If you like going off the beaten path I suggest these pants. They also look good in town. the best of both worlds. I'm 5' 10" 170 lb 32 waist and the medium reg is right on.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a manly yoga pant, but better!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
KNetwalker
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these pants regularly, almost daily. When my wife gets home, she puts on yoga pants. When I get home, I put these on! I love the side zip pocket on the right leg, but wish it was slightly larger. I have two pairs: black and brown. I couldn't be happier with these pants!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pants MH Makes

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheRondo
Location: San Diego, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants, by far the best in the line-up. If I could change one thing, it would be to get rid of the button. These are so wonderfully stretchy there is no need for the button closure. Sew that up, leave the zipper, and enjoy the smooth waistline under your harness!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stretch-o-rific!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
RedFlash
Location: Eugene, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pants ever! I've been looking for pants that I can wear at work and also while riding my bike to get there. Most of my pants end up torn in the crotch from bike saddle wear, but not these! They aren't too baggy, but not at all tight anywhere either. The stretch is the key and also makes them super comfortable. They look great in an office setting but I also love taking them on a hike. I can't praise them enough. I want to buy every color and never wear any other pant again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RedFlash2
Eugene, OR
 
Please wait while more information about RedFlash2 is loaded.
Additional information about RedFlash2 could not be loaded.
Posted July 29, 2013
I can't edit the above review, so I am adding a comment. About a month of additional use biking to work has sadly caused some extreme wear in the crotch area. The pants are very thread bare now and I will no longer use them when biking to work. They are great for hiking and casual wear, but I wouldn't recommend extended bike use.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised-outstanding!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
CDRSalmander
Location: Hadley MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Particularly the fit and function. I recently lost 25 pounds....and find too many "tech pants" baggy, over sized. These pants look and feel good. First day I wore them, I received numerous compliments. I wish more pants had this cut.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Brown

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoonChild
Location: Ithaca, NY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good product but I suspect dry weather and my hair pants may cause static discharge. However, the stitching seems good and they are very comfortable. I have not worked with them in the field yet but I will. The next test is in relation to rubbing on limestone formations and the amount of stains that collect from my use of them around water environments.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topout

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phillip04
Location: Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great for climbing in the gym, climbing outside, and even causal wear. I bought the Cordovan color and I love them. They are lightweight, stretchy, durable, comfortable, and double as a pair of dress pants. I loved them so much, I just ordered another pair in the Titanium color, and I might even order a third pair in black. These pants fit and perform extremely well. I would recommend these to any active climber or backpacker.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and Comfy Pant

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
SamSam22
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits great, water beads right off the fabric when wet, and super mobile. I love the feel of these pants, and the functionality is amazing! I am 6'3" 180lbs. and the medium fits prefectly (34 inseam). Would highly recommend this pant to anyone who hikes or is an active outdoors man.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Topout™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfortable

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark111
Location: Mountain View, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit, great stretch, very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.