Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Plasmic™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Plasmic™ Jacket

Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
25 out of 30(83%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dry from Rain, Wet from Sweat

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
reviewgirl
Location: Beaverton, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this jacket for my husband and it failed at keeping him dry! There's no doubt the DWR finish repels water, but the amount of trapped sweat buildup on the interior of the jacket defeats the purpose of keeping you dry! He walked the dog (moderate aerobic activity) and was drenched in sweat or condensation. This did not happen with his higher-end Dry Q Elite jacket. 2 stars, only because the jacket is nice-looking.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs pit zips

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bufflehead
Location: sausalito
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The lining of my previous windbreaker delaminated after five or six years of use. I sent the jacket back to Mountain Hardwear, but because it was no longer carried, they replaced it with this jacket, claiming it didn't need the pit zips that worked so well on the older jacket. Well, they must have field tested this jacket in Arizona to get it to wick properly. 30 minutes hiking through redwoods in this jacket and I was soaked. Then I took it sea kayaking on an easy morning paddle and once again was soaked.
Although this jacket is a bit lighter than the one it replaced, it doesn't work half as well. I do not recommend it.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality jacket, great for our Kilimanjaro guides!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
UltimateKilimanjaro
Location: Moshi, TZ
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
On Mount Kilimanjaro, a hard shell needs to be light, waterproof and breathable as the climate ranges from hot and humid in the rainforest to arctic cold at the summit. The Plasmic jacket does the job very nicely. It is durable, holds up well to the rigors of the mountain, functions perfectly and is reasonably priced. We outfit our entire guide staff (30+ people) with these great, eye-catching jackets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for everyday, NOT backpacking

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
RealFalcor
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Took this jacket with me while thru-hiking the Colorado Trail and it does not wick sweat away, just traps it. If this product had pit zips then it might be a good jacket, but even then it seems like the EVAP material holds moisture. This would be a good day to day jacket to wear in the city, but I wouldn't recommend it for the back country. +1 for the color combo's.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Best in light rain, low activity.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
RichardC
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this jacket to wear during my bike commute in wet conditions mostly because of low cost and the advertised breath-ability of the DryQ material. The breath-ability was fine for walking around in light rain, but as soon as I started riding I was drenched in sweat. Also, the jacket didn't stand up to driving, heavy rain and I had leaks at the shoulders and chest after only a couple weeks wear. Highly recommend spending the extra $$ on a more versatile hard shell.
Plus side - Warranty deptartment was great and promptly assisted with my return. Thanks!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light rain jacket

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
JohnCosta
Location: Boone NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took this on a backpacking trip right out of the box and it poured the whole time. I stayed dry and also while everyone was complaining how hot it was it kept me extremely cool while still hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice, But Pricey

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
FCAsheville
Location: Asheville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent rain jacket overall. The hood fit is excellent and the single adjustment point works really well.
It is roomy and maybe even loose, but I think that might help with air flow. At 5'11 and 185 I could easily fit a sweater or sweatshirt underneath.
I don't believe for a second ANY garment can be waterproof and breathable so I won't go there. It's not possible.
The only reason I gave only 4 stars is the price. I used a gift card and got a great deal on this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT product

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
RyanG
Location: Prattville,AL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Such an awesome jacket to add to any closet. We don't have the mountain range's or monsoon condition's where I live but it is currently in our wet season and this jacket exceeded my expectations. It does feel a pinch large but that could be from being so used to my snug softshell I've been wearing for a few months now. Extremely lightweight and has held up exactly as advertised. Can't wait to see how it hold's up in the spring showers headed my way soon.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item not as shown online.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
TNTN
Location: Randolph, NJ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The item I ordered on the website is shown with a different colored logo. The item I received has a stitched logo the exact same color as the jacket, thus you can't even see it. I pay this much money for the "logo" and I want it to show up. We were bummed. We have since returned the item and ordered a different color...let's hope it arrives and is truly the product that is shown on the website.
I do not recommend this product.
-151points
2of 155voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Typically Awesome Jacket from MH

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bugboy152000
Location: Jay Peak, VT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the new Plasmic as replacement for my old Epic jacket. Old epic is still keeping me dry by the way. Plasmic feels more comfortable due to the new material inside the jacket. Also no more under arm zippers. I did like the under arm zippers but taking them out does make the jacket more water proof. As always you can't go wrong with MH, this jacket does exactly what the description says. Pick one up, it will last you years of tough use. I recommend not washing this jacket with other cloths. If you need to clean it just pull it inside out and use a wash cloth with a little dish soap. Washing it will decrease the life of your jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plasmic jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
adras
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight and comfortable jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring on the rain!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rafa53
Location: Boise, Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent, no-frills, lightweight breathable rain jacket. It fits true to size and is not too tight through the trunk. If you are looking for lightweight raingear, look no further.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RMont
Location: Portland
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am 5'11" and I weigh 145lbs. This jacket fits me like a glove, with a little room for a heavy sweater or down layer. I got it for 50% off, so it was totally worth it and it will serve me well for city living. It looks really sharp too. I would like to take it on some hikes but I am skeptical because it is a bit short and slim fitting. It is cold here in the PNW and I may be too restricted if I want layers. Go a size up if you want a hiking shell.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DrPeterVenkmen
Fort Worth, TX
 
Please wait while more information about DrPeterVenkmen is loaded.
Additional information about DrPeterVenkmen could not be loaded.
What size did you get?
Posted June 23, 2014
I am 5'8 and approximately 140 lbs. I usually wear medium shirts and jackets that fit me well, I have broad shoulders. I intend to use this while backpacking and am trying to gauge if I should get a small v. a medium. I would like to be able to wear a couple of layers under it if necessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plasmic

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ona4Day
Location: Nevada County, Ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket is extremely light. After a bit of time in the rain, no leaks. Blocks the wind very well and added some warmth to my fleece layer. I haven't been able to hike a bunch in it to see how well it breaths yet though. The material is nice, quite, light, one-layer feel to it. Hood drawstring seems to work good, the bottom, not quite as good, but it was bought for a weight saving layer so no complaints for it's mission. The bottom only draws from one side so it bunches up and needs adjusting. Fit was has expected compared to other brands, enough room for a base, light fleece, even a down under it. The down is a bit cheaper and the shell fit a little tight but I plan on replacing it with a MH Whisper so I think it will be perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Breathes? Not so much.

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grover
Location: Issaquah, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I own several Mountain Hardwear products that I love including a previous jacket in this price range. I wear Mountain Hardwear products throughout the week. I'm a big fan of the brand.
Unfortunately I don't think this jacket lives up to its advertised breathability. Moisture beads off the coat well, but it doesn't breathe as much as it should (IMHO).
Pit zips seem to be lacking in all of their cheaper jackets. A flap to secure the hood was on previous versions of jackets in this price range. These two things should not have been taken out.
Mesh should be used as pocket linings. At least some external ventilation would be gained here if pockets are left open.
However, the jacket fits well. I enjoyed the bright red color.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DonM
Portland Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about DonM is loaded.
Additional information about DonM could not be loaded.
Not Breathable in cold weather!
Posted December 10, 2013
I am also an avid MHM fan. I bought this jacket to use as a cover over my instructor uniform while free skiing. My experience in cold dry conditions were disappointing. My perspiration condensed on the inside of the jacket. The inside of the Plasmic was completely soaked, and my insulation layer was wet. Perhaps it was due to the cold outside disrupting the breathability. I would have been in big trouble if was wearing this over a down insulation layer!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
fajorda
Location: Columbia, SC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Many jackets on the market aim for innovation and progression when what people need most is a product that delivers quality performance with minimal "fluff." The Plasmic™ Jacket delivers solid weather proofing in a light and durable form suitable for day to day use to heavy backpacking. It is versatile and the the styling is simple. Outstanding Jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the Ticket

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tapunui
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
It's my Green wonder. I got this jacket this summer for various adventures with my son. What can I say? It's a very cool green.
We went all over the Adirondacks this year; through hikes, multi day canoe trips with portages, and chilling at the friends cabin. Kept me dry and comfortable the whole time. Packs small and weighs nothing.
Did I mention that I got the green? Canteen green.
It's cool as heck.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pahado22
Location: Portland, Or
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't ran or cycled in this coat yet, so I can't comment about its wicking ability, but it is very good at keeping you dry in a downpour.
The only thing I don't like is the drawstring to tighten the hood around your face is very difficult to loosen after it's been tightened.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Plasmic Performed as I hoped

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Selkie
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a light weight, weather proof jacket for a fall back packing trip into the mountains of Oregon. The weather went from cool and rainy at 5000' to cold and snow at 6000'. The Plasmic met my expectations, it packed small and light. The coat passed my sweat out and kept the rain and snow out. I am very satisfied.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Plasmic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy With It

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
LovesBeer
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Body Dimensions: 6' 1" tall, athletic build, longer than average arm span.
I bought this jacket in Backcountry Green at my local outdoor store along with the matching Plasmic Pants to accompany me on a 40-day expedition through Alaska's Brooks Range in the arctic from Early July to Mid August. The jacket performed admirably.
I emphasize this jacket's versatility:
It kept my layers and skin dry during a 2-day downpour in cold weather under high physical exertion carrying 50lb packs while bushwhacking
AND
the jacket kept my body cool and comfortable on 80-degree days while bushwhacking, carrying packs, and under high physical exertion in direct sunlight (the sun is strong in the arctic during summer months).
The jacket and pants also easily slip over several layers (the most I used was 4 under my shell) and the jacket still felt roomy and mobile.
The draw chords work great for keeping insulating layers inside the hood and out of pouring rain: the chord along the brim of the hood around the face keeps layers pushed back into the hood and kept me warmer, and the rear draw chord kept the brim and visor high on my head, shielding the sun without obstructing field of view. The draw chord on the hem near the waist also kept inside layers safe while bushwhacking and kept air flow through the jacket and layers minimal, increasing warmth.
I would buy a size L for use with few layers and a size XL for expedition use with several layers and/or a puffy (I used a Mountain Hardwear Men's Hooded Compressor).
The only concern I have with this jacket is puncturing the fabric from the inside of the jacket. I speculate that the corner of the laminated part of a tube of sun screen poked through the front right pocket from the inside. In the materials defense, however, the pants, which I think is made of the same material, stayed intact the whole trip until I was stabbed in the thigh by a filet knife poking through a duffel I was supporting with my leg.
Looking forward, I think the jacket can be improved in a few areas:
The side pockets could be extended upwards to make room for carrying tall items such as a thermos/ water bottle/ bear spray canister/ 1L fuel bottle.
Where the hood attaches to the shoulder of the jacket could be roomier to allow the hood to move with the body when turning the head around.
The jacket could have a napoleon style internal mesh pocket for drying wet gloves, which I would have found useful on my trip.
Your company could also offer repair kits (free or charge) with fabric color options in the same colors as the jackets available for purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.