Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Canyon™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Men's Canyon™ Short

Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Canyon™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pair or shorts but could be improved.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
crabtree598
Location: FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The material and construction is great, great "shark" color, very breathable.
The sizing is a little tight, I have larger than normal thighs and they're pretty tight in the shorts. I also ordered them in the 7" inseam, the inseam fits pretty true to other 7"-ers that I have but the tight thighs make them feel a little smaller than preferred but I can always lose a couple pounds.
The front pockets are very shallow. The right side has a "hidden" zippered pocket but other than that I'm afraid anything in my front pockets will fall out. Maybe a zipper pocket in both front pockets or just make them deeper.
Still a great pair of shorts and great for Florida's HOT summers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight short

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ridger
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light weight short, with many features. Should dry quickly when wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canyon Shorts Rock!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
slipring
Location: Ames, Iowa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased these shorts several years ago, mostly for backpacking. They fit and look great and don't restrict motion in the backcountry (or around town).
These shorts don't have cargo pockets - perhaps a problem for some, but not for me because I like to travel on the trim side. The "Canyon Twill" fabric (aka nylon) has a nice cotton feel. My older pair has a "micro-chamois-lined seamless conical waist" that feels "seamless" under a cinched-down pack belt. The integrated webbing belt is nice, though it does get twisted inside the belt "sleeve"… not enough of an annoyance for a star deduction in this review.
I don't bring these shorts on backpack trips anymore because I liked them so much that I bought MH's Mesa Convertible Pants (similar fit, construction and features, but with convertible functionality) - see my separate review of those excellent pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Small fit

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
atlantareviewer
Location: Atlanta
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
The other reviews are correct-the fit is way too small and there is no stretch to these shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

canyon shotrs

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
jbmontana
Location: whitefish, mt
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I currently own 4 older versions of the canyon shorts and have and still do love them dearly. They have been the best go to shorts I have ever owned. Hence I own four. That being said they are all on there last legs after nearly 10 plus seasons of backpacking,hiking, rafting guiding in them. So naturally i bought two more to have some replacements readily available. I would say everything fits the same except thru the thighs. The older versions had a much roomy thigh. The current canyon shorts seems to run about a inch to inch and a half narrower in the thighs. I am hoping they will break in and loosen up a small bit. They do appear to fit very similarly everywhere else. If anything the waist seems slightly bigger. My old ones are all mediums I have a 33" waist so I bought 34" waist on the new ones.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Canyon Shorts

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wsh12
Location: Maine
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these on-line after acquiring my first pair at my local specialty sport shop on clearance. When I first got them I was alittle bummed because the zip pocket on the side wasnt there on this pair. I was happy to discover it was on the inside of the pocket. I LOVE the length of these shorts and they are so hard to find at this length, but so functional. The only beef I have is that the belt has a tendency to move in the wash and dry so you have to spend a few minutes fiddling with it. Otherwise, the look, feel, and functionality of these shorts is wonderful!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Functionality???

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimbo
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Who designs these shorts. I bought a pair of Canyon pants and they were good...not great.
I assumed the Canyon shorts would be good. Nope. Bad. The pockets are soo small they won't even hold your cell phone. They are about as deep as your fingers.
The fit for shorts was way to snug even thought they were the same waist size as the pants that fit good...not great.
I would not recommend these shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Skinny shorts

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluebrd959
Location: Golden, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Compared to the Canyon Shorts of years past, these may as well be skinny shorts. I wear a 34x32 in everything and the leg girth on these shorts is way too small for any person engaging in outdoor activities. They're too constrictive while hiking or even walking. Maybe these are better suited for those with pencil legs, not those who spend a lot of time hiking or backpacking in the summer and skiing in the winter. Bring back the old Canyon Shorts that actually fit and can be purposefully used!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
kesler756
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MH apparently thinks of everything when they make things. The lining around the waist and inbetween the legs makes these shorts very comfortable. Also, I ordered them with a bunch of the wicked lite t-shirts and thought they forgot the shorts and gave me an extra t-shirt. They weigh almost nothing! The zipper pocket and key clip inside the pockets were also a nice touch. Keep up the good work!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Fashionable

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
adams0302
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are very well constructed and have endured some rough 3-4 day hiking excursions with me. They also fit in on the trail as much as they do at my favorite watering hole afterward.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.