Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Canyon™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Men's Canyon™ Short

Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall rating:
3.706 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
12 out of 16(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Canyon™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shorts, belt needs work

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Bay Area
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the fit & function of these shorts, & have been wearing them often this summer. Two things I noticed were the belt gets turned over & over in the extended "loops" & is hard to unfurl.
Also, the front pockets are very shallow making carrying some everyday objects such as cell phone or pocket change impractical. Other than these points they are my favorite shorts. If they fixed the pockets & belt I would buy multiple pairs for sure.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What Happened???

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TOO SMALL might be the best way to describe the design of the Canyon Shorts (and I am not talking about the inseam). The Front Pockets are too shallow ( you will not be putting in a mobile phone securely, you will not be able to put your hands in for warmth). The Rear Pockets are too small to hold your Passport securely, or even your wallet (No rollercoaster security on these babies; so do not expect to have too much fun in these Canyon Shorts). MH has installed a cheap plastic button that will need to be restitched. And you will despise the belt after a few washes in the washing machine (one side is going to disappear back inside).
I have tried for years to correct these Canyon Shorts by sewing out larger pockets, stitching the belt in place, etc. These Canyon Shorts are not the Canyon Shorts of yesteryear. Canyon Shorts of the past had deep pockets all the way around with security in a 7" inseam pair of shorts. It has been 7 years or so since the Canyon Shorts have been a reliable pair of shorts you can travel the World in. Someone at Columbia or MH needs to wake up. Or customers need to stay away. I literally live in the same clothes 365 days a year. It matters.
About Reviewer:
Thru hiked: Appalachian, Pacific Crest, Te Araroa, Benton MacKaye, Pinhoti, Colorado, Foothills; Summitted Aconcagua (22,841'); Bicycled Across Australia, Mexico, and U.S.A.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good short for rowing

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This short in its 7-inch inseam version is a good short for recreational rowing. The legs are short enough not to get in the seat tracks, and the zipper pocket and the key clip are great for securing car keys. It dries fast, too.
The one fault I have noticed is that the belt tends to retract up into the belt enclosure when it's being machine-washed or dried. I tried tying the belt ends in a square knot but the washer untied that, and I had to fish the hidden end out with a clothes hanger modified for the purpose. Should make the belt ends too big to go back up inside the belt enclosures/sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great construction

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: kansas city
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Usual excellent material: fits too tightly for rowing, probably because I chose an inseam that was too small.
I use an older pair of similar shorts made by Mountain HW: best thing since sliced bread. They were sized differently, hence some confusion.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Climb In

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Reno, NV
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are lightweight, fast drying and very comfortable. I highly recommend them for anyone doing warm weather hiking, backpacking or rock climbing!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good shorts, good quality

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Alameda, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only complaint is I have to repeatedly tighten the belt. Other than that, tough, comfy, light...all that you'd expect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Honolulu
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I love these shorts. I have 1 pair in green and 1 in grey. I don't like short shorts, so the 9 inchers are a perfect length- not too long and not too short. As other reviews indicate the pockets are shallow but they have back pockets that fit a wallet. the belt is a nice feature but looses tension fairly easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pair or shorts but could be improved.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The material and construction is great, great "shark" color, very breathable.
The sizing is a little tight, I have larger than normal thighs and they're pretty tight in the shorts. I also ordered them in the 7" inseam, the inseam fits pretty true to other 7"-ers that I have but the tight thighs make them feel a little smaller than preferred but I can always lose a couple pounds.
The front pockets are very shallow. The right side has a "hidden" zippered pocket but other than that I'm afraid anything in my front pockets will fall out. Maybe a zipper pocket in both front pockets or just make them deeper.
Still a great pair of shorts and great for Florida's HOT summers.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight short

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light weight short, with many features. Should dry quickly when wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canyon Shorts Rock!

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Ames, Iowa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased these shorts several years ago, mostly for backpacking. They fit and look great and don't restrict motion in the backcountry (or around town).
These shorts don't have cargo pockets - perhaps a problem for some, but not for me because I like to travel on the trim side. The "Canyon Twill" fabric (aka nylon) has a nice cotton feel. My older pair has a "micro-chamois-lined seamless conical waist" that feels "seamless" under a cinched-down pack belt. The integrated webbing belt is nice, though it does get twisted inside the belt "sleeve"… not enough of an annoyance for a star deduction in this review.
I don't bring these shorts on backpack trips anymore because I liked them so much that I bought MH's Mesa Convertible Pants (similar fit, construction and features, but with convertible functionality) - see my separate review of those excellent pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Small fit

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Atlanta
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
The other reviews are correct-the fit is way too small and there is no stretch to these shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

canyon shotrs

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: whitefish, mt
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I currently own 4 older versions of the canyon shorts and have and still do love them dearly. They have been the best go to shorts I have ever owned. Hence I own four. That being said they are all on there last legs after nearly 10 plus seasons of backpacking,hiking, rafting guiding in them. So naturally i bought two more to have some replacements readily available. I would say everything fits the same except thru the thighs. The older versions had a much roomy thigh. The current canyon shorts seems to run about a inch to inch and a half narrower in the thighs. I am hoping they will break in and loosen up a small bit. They do appear to fit very similarly everywhere else. If anything the waist seems slightly bigger. My old ones are all mediums I have a 33" waist so I bought 34" waist on the new ones.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Canyon Shorts

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Maine
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these on-line after acquiring my first pair at my local specialty sport shop on clearance. When I first got them I was alittle bummed because the zip pocket on the side wasnt there on this pair. I was happy to discover it was on the inside of the pocket. I LOVE the length of these shorts and they are so hard to find at this length, but so functional. The only beef I have is that the belt has a tendency to move in the wash and dry so you have to spend a few minutes fiddling with it. Otherwise, the look, feel, and functionality of these shorts is wonderful!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Functionality???

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Who designs these shorts. I bought a pair of Canyon pants and they were good...not great.
I assumed the Canyon shorts would be good. Nope. Bad. The pockets are soo small they won't even hold your cell phone. They are about as deep as your fingers.
The fit for shorts was way to snug even thought they were the same waist size as the pants that fit good...not great.
I would not recommend these shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Skinny shorts

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Golden, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Compared to the Canyon Shorts of years past, these may as well be skinny shorts. I wear a 34x32 in everything and the leg girth on these shorts is way too small for any person engaging in outdoor activities. They're too constrictive while hiking or even walking. Maybe these are better suited for those with pencil legs, not those who spend a lot of time hiking or backpacking in the summer and skiing in the winter. Bring back the old Canyon Shorts that actually fit and can be purposefully used!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MH apparently thinks of everything when they make things. The lining around the waist and inbetween the legs makes these shorts very comfortable. Also, I ordered them with a bunch of the wicked lite t-shirts and thought they forgot the shorts and gave me an extra t-shirt. They weigh almost nothing! The zipper pocket and key clip inside the pockets were also a nice touch. Keep up the good work!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Canyon™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Fashionable

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are very well constructed and have endured some rough 3-4 day hiking excursions with me. They also fit in on the trail as much as they do at my favorite watering hole afterward.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.