Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Jalapeno™ Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Jalapeno™ Glove

Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Review 1 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Little Details

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
watkinssan
Location: San Rafael, CA
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have yet to use these gloves in cold weather so this review is not about their warmth. I returned the Typhon glove for these because the Typhon glove was the coldest pair of gloves I have ever owned. Anyway, just a couple reminders about the Jalapeño design. These gloves don't have removable liners and don't have a wrist strap like the Typhon. I'm going to have wrist straps from an older pair of gloves sewn into these. But these definitely have more insulation vs the Typhon so I am looking forward to next season!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Made

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Photodude
Location: Lancaster, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent build quality on these gloves. Although they feel very snug I'm assuming they will loosen up over time!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm, Quality Glove

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
KearAnt
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This glove can almost be too warm when doing simple things like walking the dog or active use like snowshoeing or shoveling snow on a mild day.
They've kept me warm while snowmobiling into the low teens without liners. I wear a pair of liners with them when the temps get to zero or below.
The waterproofing has held up fine even while using my hands to dig in snow. No complaints!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor durability

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
nickname
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent waterproofing and comfort in this glove - as advertised. I loved it. But the yellow finger tip leather is so soft and weak that I wore a hole in the thumb pad after only 30 days of backcountry skiing. Then small holes started to appear at the end of the finger tips. Then the stitching around the yellow leather fingertips started to break. Why put so much stitching in a wear area? The yellow finger tip leather on on most fingers is now paper thin. This after 50 days of use. I now have glue where the stitching used to be.
Please make this glove a lot tougher as it is otherwise perfect. The Outdry tech is excellent.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Near perfect gloves

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
SawtoothScott
Location: Boise ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these gloves to replace my older ski/mountaineering gloves. They are a little stiff on first use but I know that this will cease to be an issue over time. I wish that they had a leash as I find a glove leash very useful during climbing and on the slopes. I marked them down in terms of function for this reason alone. They are warm and when wet from glissading they performed to expectation. I look forward to many years of good service.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tim71
Location: Gunnison, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've tried every top notch snow glove under the sun. Black Diamond, Marmot, Klim, Motofist, Grandoe and many more.
Let me be the first to tell you folk, I have no idea what these gloves are like in a causal environment. I use all my other gloves for that.
They go on easy wet, good luck with anything else.
They stay warm wet, nothing has came close.
I've made them into ten finger popsicles, my hands stay warm.
Keep in mind, I could eat my shoe when I'm done after all day event with eating that silly rabbit food when I get a chance.
Bottom line, they work where all others has failed.
I know you guys (mhw) don't like this. Neither do I. My RA# is 967918. It should be coming to you this Tuesday. My tab that I've have spent on your products is in the thousands. No matter what, you guys rock! Thanks Tim
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
quartzmo
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these gloves to replace the dynasty of Marmot Ultimate Ski Gloves that I've used for years, and they are a great successor. The warmth seems about the same, the dexterity is much better, the gauntlet closures are much better, the breathability is much better, the weight is better (lighter for same performance), and I believe that the waterproof layer is probably a big innovation, although I haven't really put it to the test. (I haven't been out any really wet days yet this season in UT; definitely some cold ones though).
The only question is durability, but it will be a few years to figure that out. The construction is typical MH awesomeness, my only concern is the leather, so far it seems strong.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to the Name

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Addison
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have to admit, this was the exact glove I've been looking for. Nice leather wraps my palms and my fingers. Extremely warm but without the need for a liner. And a nice big gauntlet to keep the snow out. The extreme precurve is no joke either. The thumb is a little out of proportion with the rest of the fingers (much bigger) but the nose wipe is a win.
I bought these as a belay glove for those cold days on the rock (well, standing at the base of the rock) and they haven't disappointed. Caught my friend on a wicked whipper and no seams have come undone and the leather doesn't even take a scratch.
If you need a bulky glove, this is it (although, changing the radio station in the car can be a bit daunting)
*On a side note: These are great for shoveling too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built with function in mind

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bryan1
Location: Squaw Valley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im a ski instructor at Squaw Valley and I use my gloves hard. I frequently have to get my gloves on and off and the design of the cuffs on this glove make it easy to use them. They're warm and the palm material seems to be holding up well. Give me till the end of the season and I'll be able to give you more feedback.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ridg0015
Location: Minneapolis
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these for the Minneapolis winters. It's hard to find any glove that is warm in all conditions simply because your fingers are separated and can't combine warmth. But these are well made and do a great job blocking wind and wet snow. Quite soft inside too. Good insulation. Goat leather is a nice touch. Word.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fattirecolorado
Location: Gunnison, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ride with some of the best snowmobilers anywhere in good as it gets hardcore mountain riding. We play as hard as they come. I’ll go the whole day with my gloves drenched in sweat and my hands do not get cold. I leave the hand warmers turned off until the ride back to the trail head. I do not have to struggle to put them back on when they do get wet. I’m talking about extreme cold, if I leave them off for 10 minutes or so they will freeze solid. Many thanks Mountain Hardwear. My entire glove line up will soon have your logo on it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Jalapeno™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wicked Ski glove

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've worn these gloves in the harshest of ski conditions and they are awesome. Maybe my hands sweat more than usual but with other ski gloves they were fine for a bit then they would get wet; then my hands would suffer. Not these! They stay remarkably dry on the inside and keep the outside moisture from coming in if/when I eat it trying to show off.
The nose wipe this is for real as well. I didn't know what to expect but it's super soft and wipes all nose liquid after you race your buddies down the hill.
Another great MH product.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.