Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove

Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Review 1 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydro Pro Glove

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
littlemurray
Location: Portland,OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These things seem true to fit. That's the best I can say so far. I haven't been out to put them to the test.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice gloves

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
octopus
Location: Washington
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit well, and seem warm. I haven't tried the waterproofness yet. I did spend a moment with scissors cutting an abundance of tags away.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just sign a contract with gore-tex already.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
fdgsdfgsdf
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not even remotely waterproof. I understand that most all gloves will soak through eventually when the thermometer raises above 32 degrees, but the complete lack of resistance from these gloves is comical. Do not use them unless it is below freezing (not far) and you are going to be moving fast. Oh yeah, and these are not wind proof either.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Ice Climbing

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abbatoir
Location: Vermont
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've probably gone through 10 pairs of gloves trying to find the perfect pair for ice climbing, the right amount of warmth with a good amount of dexterity. I've tried, OR, Marmot, BD, TNF, and none of them worked as well as the Hydra pro. In fact I was prepared to give them to my climbing partner because they arrive at my place and I though they'd be too thin to be warm enough. Man was I wrong, they are incredibly warm for as thin as they are. I spent all day doing laps on vertical ice and my hands were fine the entire day, my forearms were another story. They allow for plenty of dexterity for placing screw after screw and draw after draw without snagging the tip of your glove on the biners. The only thing I don't like is that the liner is a bit loose so it feels like it's going to pull out when you take your hand out, but it never did. This glove is awesome. Needless to say my climbing partner won't be getting these.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Raising the bar

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
DOD77
Location: Seattle
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Outdry, Q-shield, Pre-curve, 4 way strectch Kevlar stitching, Goat skin leather palm and pig skin overlay, coupled with micro thermic and polly wool blend for insulation
= amazing dexterity, fit and warmth for weight...
MHW really do make the best gloves. Quality craftsmanship.
from alpine, to ice, to skiing
best glove ever!!
I thought it ran slightly large..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Gloves

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
treducks
Location: Oakland, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the warmest gloves I have ever used. I usually wear mittens when skiing in sub 30ºF weather but the Hydra Pro is even warmer. Temps got down to 12ºF and my hands were even sweating at one point. The only issue I have is the stitching is a bit uneven on one of the palm pads, but other than that, these are the best gloves I have ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Gloves, Seams Could be Better

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kalkberg
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried these out in Tibet this November, and they kept my hands fairly warm in temperatures down to the single digits (Farenheight) with 20 mph winds while keeping a good amount of dexterity, and remaining breathable. Now, my hands don't typically get that cold, so your experience may vary. I ended up ripping the seams in the thumbs after about three weeks of use, but this is probably due to scraping them against jagged rocks just a little too much. They've certainly ended the season in much better condition than any glove I've tried so far.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ice / alpine glove used ever.

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike12
Location: CT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Excellent grip. Descent insulation. Almost waterproof and still breathable. They can get wet from the outside, than freeze and you still have dry and warm fingers inside.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DylanMeSoftly
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about DylanMeSoftly is loaded.
Additional information about DylanMeSoftly could not be loaded.
The Gloves are 100% Waterproof
Posted December 18, 2012
With OutDry and Q.Shield, you've got some of the most bombproof water-shedding elements on the market.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men's Hydra Pro™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and dry

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Location: Mo
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i really like the lining in these gloves, kind of a grid fleece. i wear a medium in MHW gloves and these were good but the fingers were just slightly too long. they would be fine for most hands, since my fingers are a little short. quite warm in 20 degree weather, overall nothing bad to say.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.