Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Medusa Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Medusa Glove

Medusa Glove
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
3 out of 4(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Medusa Glove
Review 1 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointing construction

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location: Lander, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I own last year's model and took them on a trip through the Waddington Range. At first I was quite pleased with the overall performance of this glove. The OutDry technology worked wonderfully in some very wet and cold conditions. The dexterity is about what you'd expect from a double glove system, though the liners left a lot to be desired .
Fairly early into the trip the inner material began shredding at the elastic wristband, exposing the OutDry membrane. It didn't take long for the tear to spread, effectively compromising the function of the membrane. I was disappointed with the quick breakdown of the glove on a long expedition.
Furthermore, I was perhaps the most displeased with the performance of the liners themselves. the seam on the index finger ran directly over the front pad of the finger which was cumbersome and uncomfortable. I can only assume this was related to faulty construction and not the intended design of the liner.
The glove showed promise, but ultimately fell flat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wicked Warm Gloves

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
BikeWizard
Location: La Paz, Bolivia
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own last years model, but don't seem any different besides color.
I got these glove for mountain bike guiding in Bolivia on the Death Road. The start of the ride is at 15,400 ft and often raining or snowing and the 20-30 F. You then ride about 20 km down hill on pavement, so you reach speeds upwards of 35-40 mph. I had tried several different gloves before these and they either didn't keep my hands warm, or they would eventually get wet and then cold.
I have spent 4-5 hours riding in steady rain and these gloves never let me down. Also the dexterity is good enough I can ride comfortably and use shifters/brakes without trouble.
Durability has been excellent so far. Road them 4-5 times a week for about 3 months through the rainy season. Not as much need when it's not rainy season.
The lining inside the shell and removable liner are really nice for when it starts to heat.
Over all you can't go wrong with these
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice glove system

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Location: Mo
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This is a great glove system that you can mix and match as situations change. they are designed for very cold snowy conditions so don't expect to be able to pick up a dime with these on. but for their intended purpose, cold snow, wind, or high altitude you can't go wrong.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glove I use in the snow twice a week.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
skiinstructor
Location: Washington State
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: The glove is completely water proof. I put my hand in a bucket of water for 20 seconds and no leaks. The wrist leashes are great and I love the orange lining color. I like the low stick type of velcro used to hold in the liner gloves.
Cons: When the leather on the glove is wet is stays cold. This cold is then transfered to your hand. Nylon would dry out much faster and not maintain the cold. The leather also dries a lot slower then nylon so it may not dry out over night.
I would like to see a slightly heavier leather for the glove so I could use it in other applications.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
skiinstructor
Washington State
 
Please wait while more information about skiinstructor is loaded.
Additional information about skiinstructor could not be loaded.
Review update
Posted March 9, 2012
Be careful to keep snow out of the glove. The fleece lining holds the snow and it is very difficult to get snow out of the glove. A smooth nylon lining would let the snow just fall out.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super waterproof

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
BikeWizard
Location: La Paz, Bolivia
I'm working as a bike guide in Bolivia. It is currently the rainy season and every pair of gloves I have didn't live up to the challenge. I got these because I was sick of cold wet hands. I start my day at 4700 meters and during the summer it is nothing but rain and snow. I have a nice pair of Gore Bikewear gloves that until here were awesome. I am often riding at 40mph in steady rain and these gloves have yet to let my hands get wet or cold. When we get farther down and it's warm and rainy I put out the liner and just wear the shell, the comfy fleece makes it so they are still enjoyable to wear that way. They are JUST the right size, so if your confused about what to get I would step it up just a little.
Bottom line: super waterproof and great in the 30's at speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glove

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
JNolan711
Location: Pacific Northwest
These gloves keep your hands warm and dry on those cold days coming down the mountain and on the lift. The liners work great alone when your working you way up hill. Overall great glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not durable

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nato
I like the initial look and feel of these gloves. I took them on one trip to Aconcagua and the inside material totally ripped out. I was pulling my hands in and out to do certain tasks on the mountain quite a bit but this should probably not have happened because it was the 4th day I wore them. Overall a warm comfortable glove but disappointed in the durability.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Medusa Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
llamma
I love the Medusa Gloves I have. they fit perfectly, they are crazy warm and they have great dextarity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.