Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Typhon Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Typhon Glove

Typhon Glove
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
7 out of 9(78%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Typhon Glove
Review 1 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Freezing Gloves

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
bell2bell
Location: San Rafael, Ca
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These replaced a similar pair of Marmot gloves and I had to return these gloves because they were so poor at insulating my fingers. This was at just below freezing temperatures so I couldn't imagine a super cold day in the mountains. Love the wrist straps, the inserts and the build quality, but the lack of insulation makes these gloves useless for me. My new Jalapeños seems to have much more insulation but don't have wrist straps or removable liners.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Glove

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
WanderingAlbatross
Location: locations everywhere
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These gloves are really nice. I love the removable liner and the solid shell construction. I purchased these gloves because of the extreme outdoor research activities that I do. My main idea for these gloves were to use while paddling around lakes in canoes just after iceout. Weather can be 15 degrees and snowing, 35 degrees and raining, and very windy. Plus my hands would constantly be near the water when paddling. Either way a waterproof warm glove is needed. I wanted a glove to keep my hands warm and dry, but also with enough finger mobility to write down the constant amount of data I would be collecting. Like all heavy duty gloves it wasn't like writing bare handed, but was manageable. I didn't need to take my gloves off near as often. The solid material construction held up to wear and tear and kept my hands dry.
I am between a medium and a large and went with the large. The large was the perfect size and I would recommend if you are unsure of the size to go with the larger ones.
My only problem with the gloves was the velcro strip inside the glove. If you remove the shell, but keep the liner on, it makes for a annoyance lining up the small velcro tabs when putting them back on. Plus the velco tab has a sharp edge to them and when wearing a down jacket with the gloves I noticed extensive amounts of wear on the cuffs of my down jacket from the velcro tabs.
All in all this is a great glove if you want to stay dry and warm with needed finger movement.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Typhoon glove

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Junior
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great glove, BUT the sizing is way small. I ordered an XL (I'm 6'1"), and these gloves are tight! Fit like a medium - large in most fittings. I'd expect better sizing and fit for a product this expensive and promised quality. I must return these
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty & Perfect Fit

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnsGranola
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these gloves for cold Minnesota outdoor activities (snowshoeing, cross country skiing, winter camping, etc.). I replaced the liners that came with these gloves for the Mt. Hardwear Heavyweight Power Stretch Gloves. My hands stay dry and warm even at -20. If the temps are warmer, I use a lighter liner glove. I purchased the XL size (I am 5'10 & 175lbs) and they fit perfect. Typical Mt. Hardwear bombproof construction that you can see and feel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fine

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
silky
Location: Salyer, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are constructed very well. I used them snowshoeing and winter camping. The dexterity is okay but I did find myself having to take them off more often than I was hoping. This is the reason I wish I would have went with the mitten version of these. If I am going to have to take them off anyways why not go with a warmer option. Which brings me to another point, my hands stayed warm most of the time but a few times they got really really cold from moisture build up...nothing a little shoveling snow didn't fix but again, the mitten version would have solved this.
Over all a great glove. Moisture build up was minimal most of the time. Warmth was good most of the time. Dexterity was okay better than most for a glove this thick but I'm pretty demanding. Last thing, I am not sure if I like the velcro tabs on the liner cuff and interior shell, time will tell.
Again, good glove and I like it but personally I wish I would have went with a mitten version. Not nocking these, they are really nice and you wont be sorry if you pick them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bomber Glove

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
spcarver
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this glove while snowmobiling and skiing. Tough construction, xl fits like an xl. Slight wear so far on fingers when the glove was wet, and some wear on the fleece liners from gripping the handlebars. Keeps hands warm and dry, would purchase these again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good gloves

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anthony34
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these for basic outdoor use, skiing, ice climbing, etc. and I've been really impressed with the quality and functionally of these gloves. They have kept my hands and fingers warm in the Alaska outback (-25F) and still provide the dexterity that I needed. I would gladly (and have) recommend these to my friends.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Snowmass, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was looking for a bad to the bone warm glove and instead I got a very average glove. It's fine for most day's but when the temp drops the glove doesn't keep you warm. I'll use them but not during the cold days.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome burly gloves

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gordon
Location: Northern Maine
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave these gloves a thorough workout during two seasons of Antarctic fieldwork. They are burly and stand up to a lot of abuse. Plenty warm enough, even at -25 C (although there is space for a silkweight liner inside if it gets really cold). And the palms/fingers stay nice and supple, even in cold temps - which avoids the dreaded stiff glove problem. The gauntlet slides easily over my down parka, so getting them on with the other hand already gloved was pretty simple.
The only minor issue is the velcro tabs for holding the liner in place - they seem kind of small, so it takes a bit of lining-up to get the velcro strips to match (liner to shell).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Typhon Glove

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
SDMark
Location: San Diego, CA
User submitted photo
This far surpassed my expectations. After shredding a pair of mid-level NF gloves last year, I was considering going with the top of the line NF gloves, but after seeing my friend with those, and comparing them to my MH Typhon gloves, I'll never look back. By far the most rugged and warmest gloves I've ever worn. My hands get cold easily, and had no problem doing 6 hour days of riding in -10F windchill.
FIT: "Runs a bit large" compared to other gloves I've worn. I always had XL in other brands, L would have been ok with these. Maybe just cus its a system glove.
Materials/Construction: Excellent. I snowboard, so constantly carrying board by the edge strapping/unstrapping riding thru trees and pushing off them etc=minimal scuffing.
Warth: Shell does a good job with most wind, wool liners are warm even when wet from sweat or snow that drops in when gloves are taken off. Dries quickly too!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice fit and light

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
eXpert
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Great form, light weight, close fit throughout. Wish the colors were a little different.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so hot

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
JSumm
Location: Larkspur, CA
Wore them this weekend at Squaw Valley in 30-50 degree weather. By the third day I couldn't take the lack of warmth anymore and bought some merino wool liners which helped - but I could still feel wind coming through. Going to try to exchange them for something warmer. Otherwise, I liked them.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Typhon Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gloves I have ever had

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phizboys
Location: nor cal
The best fitting, warmest ,most breathable ,comfortable ,best feeling on rock glove I have ever had. I love the wrist straps and the colors ( easy to find ) thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.