Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip

Mountain Hardwear Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip

Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Review 1 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good material, large fit

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
RedCMonster
Location: Bethesda, MD
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a rather medium-sized build, a 38" chest, 6'1" height, 31 in waist guy. I ordered this in medium and it fit well in the chest and shoulders but rather large around the waist.
Aside from this, the quality of the material was great and as soft as everyone else raves about.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice fabric, shame about the fit

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
IdyllJon
Location: Idyllwild, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a range of MH tops, from t-shirts to down jackets, all size Large, and most fit great, but this one unfortunately didn't work for me. Despite a few reviews of the Butterman suggesting they run large, I ordered a Large anyway. It fit great in the shoulders and sleeves, but was way too wide in the body. Unfortunately I suspect a Medium will be too short in the sleeve and/or tight in the shoulders. I have a tall lean athletic build with long arms - 6'3", 35" arm, 180lbs, 42" chest. As I say, many other MH tops fit fine on me, but not this one. It's on its way back.
Shame, because the fabric is excellent for a base layer - I have an old MH butter beanie for under a helmet - but the Butterman is recommended only for those that can get the fit right. Maybe its just me, but this one seems to be an outlier from the typical MH fit.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So soft

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
SteveM
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The name 'butterman' is an accurate description of this product because it really is nice and soft. I've used it as a baselayer under a heavier sweatshirt and jacket for really cold days (as in negative 5 - 10 F degrees) and worn it just by itself when it's around 40 - 50 F outside. It's very comfortable and will not feel itchy at all. The medium size fits me quite well, and I'm 6'1" ~185 lbs with a 41-42 inch chest. Hope that helps.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Shirt!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
mactarkus88
Location: Niceville, FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first thing you notice is how soft these are -- it doesn't even seem possible that a synthetic fabric could be so soft. I bought one and fell in love with the fabric and the fit so I bought nearly every other color. These shirts are so versatile you can wear them out casually and then later during a workout. I'm 6'3" and 195 lbs, and the large fits me like a glove.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality is in decline

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lazybones
Location: Davis, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 4 of those tops. Unfortunately, it seems like the quality of this product is declining every year. in previous seasons the material was thicker and more comfortable, and a little zipped pocket was located in the back of the shirt. The price however stayed the same.
After buying a shirt this year, I don't think I'll get more of those in the future. It is still a good product, but I don't think it worth the price anymore. Maybe if some of the old features will be re-added I would consider it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I've ever owned

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diesel
Location: Mountains of Pennsylvania
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I now own 5 of these. The only thing I don't like is the price or I would have one for each day of the week.
Sinfull luxury really. Fit great, great hand to the fabric. You will not find better.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth Like Butter

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
TripleSSS
Location: Spanaway, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable shirt. Not quite Thermal like, but will knock the chill of most cool mornings. Fit and style are both a plus! Nice enough to wear on its own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Softest.Material.Ever.

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trent
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG... I've never felt any material like this one before. Amazingly soft to the touch, and it's fairly warm, too. I love this shirt, and will soon be ordering more. My only gripe is they're a bit too long in the torso. I'm 5'5 and wear a small... Other MHW shirts fit just fine but this one is a tad long. Overall great shirt.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheAbysmal
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My ONLY gripe about this top is the lack of a pocket. (The first one of these I bought featured an external pocket on the back at the bottom. I may have purchased a slightly different product than a similar Mountain Hardware product I bought locally a year or so ago. The very similar--sadly discontinued--Butterman Colorblock Hoodie also featured an external chest pocket.) Other than this minor feature gripe, the Butterman is one of the most comfortable tops I've worn in my life. Maybe even THE most comfortable... The fit, drape, stretch, and feel of the fabric is simply superb. I hate to dock it a whole star for the lack of pocket, but we don't get to rate in fractions of a star here, unfortunately.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
TrailRunner
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is not my first Butterman piece, and like the rest, it is fantastic. It fits true to size, performs perfectly, and while it's too soon to tell, I will assume that it will be as durable as my first. Keep up the great work!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Butterman™ 1/2 Zip
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Form and Function

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
RAskren52
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shirt is great. The sizing was perfect for me, I'm a taller fellow and the sleeves and waist are still long enough to keep me from looking like I'm wearing a kids shirt. Plenty stylish to wear around town and is perfect for my early morning runs this time of year.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.