Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Seraction™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Seraction™ Jacket

Elite-level performance in a mixed rock and ice-climbing jacket. Designed in collaboration with alpinist and ice climber Tim Emmett, the Seraction Jacket’s Dry.Q™ Elite waterproof technology starts expelling excess heat and vapor immediately for instant breathability during rigorous climbs. Stretch panels across the back and hood allow maximum mobility.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 10(70%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far, So Great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Adirondacks of New York
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been going back and forth between this shell and another top level shell from another manufacturer this ice season. This shell wins hands down, or more importantly, hands up!
I am 5'10", 190 lbs, with a 33" waist, 42" chest, a 33" sleeve, and very broad shoulders. The large fits me perfectly as far as I like my shells to fit. It is not skin tight as is all the rage with ice, but it is in no way baggy. It is form fitting through the chest and abdomen while seeming to bell out at the waist, allowing it to pull down around your hips and provide excellent coverage if you are not wearing bibs and are worried about exposing your back to the wind.
The stretch panels across the shoulder/under arm area allow limitless range of motion and would probably allow people on the border of sizes to size down, if they so please, without feeling constricted. Mountain Hardwear also knows how to make sleeves for dynamic movement. They are the perfect length for my needs, with a great cut and zero pull at the cuff when I am reaching a little too far for my next pick placement.
The great hood, with all of the customization options you could ever ask for, happily swallows my Salamander XL helmet, and the stretch panel allows me to move my head in any direction with zero restriction.
This jacket is custom made for ice climbing and has all of the features you could ask for and nothing more. The drop in pockets on the inside of the shell are a nice touch for keeping your belay gloves warm, dry, and in place while you climb. The crossover chest pockets are easy to access and provide tons of storage space. The side vents are completely one hand operated and are a nice touch for long approaches when wetting out your other layers would be less than ideal.
The top end DryQ.Elite is extremely breathable which is awesome, but also tends to wear a little cold even compared to other shells because it really doesn't trap any moist warm air inside the coat. The face fabric seems to be super strong while still being very light weight for a jacket with all of these features.
The other reviews with issues of durability are a little worrying, but I have faith in Mountain Hardwear's warranty and customer service. If I ever have problems with this jacket, I want another one just like it. I hope Mountain Hardwear keeps this in their line for a long time to come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great fit, poor DWR

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a replacement jacket for my older Sitzmark jacket. What drew me to Seraction was specifically the stretch material in the arm pits. I am 5'6'' with an athletic build. My shoulders are wide so a typical small jacket is too constricting, especially if I layer underneath. The Seraction is great in a medium. It has plenty of room for me to move unfettered and doesn't look too baggy. I am not a ice climber, however, I am an active bike commuter, hiker, snowboarder, and ultimate frisbee player. It is almost a requirement to own a decent shell if you live in Portland, OR. I cannot afford a jacket for each of my activities so a do everything jacket is what I need. This jacket has fulfilled almost everything that I like in a jacket.
My pros:
Lightweight, waterproof, mobility, and looks good when walking around town.
My cons:
My big problem with this jacket is that it hardly sheds water when hit with rain. The DWR is really awful for a $600 jacket. My previous and cheaper MHW shells were much better in keeping water off of me. Because the water tends to stick to my jacket it makes the jacket heavier, I am colder due to water evaporation on the outside of the jacket, and it is not breathable and I end up very sweaty in the inside. I am pleased to say that despite the poor DWR water still doesn't pass through the jacket, keeping the title of waterproof in tact.
Also, since this is my do it all shell I prefer some lower side pockets. But I get the alpine function of this jacket and it is not a deal breaker for me.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not waterproof

PostedDecember 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: vancouver,bc
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
just bought it, rain got throught the stiching
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would be awesome!

PostedNovember 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Quebec, Ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love MountainHard wear, I've been wearing there jacket for a long time! But my Jovian gave is life and it was getting soaking wet. MountainHard Wear gladly replace it with a Seraction wich is more than awesome but it's now too long for me. The Jovian had a center cack length of 28 " / 71 cm and the Seraction is 30 " / 76 cm. I know I'm small, 5"4' here, but I still need to be able to get a shell! Please Please Please MountainHard Wear, consider making XS size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality beyond expectation

PostedOctober 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Austin TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the quasar light and these 2 jackets work perfectly together, I could not be more satisfied with the quality, durability, and "waterproofness" of this jacket! The only thing that I was expecting was for the set action to have more insulation, it is about the same thickness as the quasar, but none the less I love it!! Also the shipping time was spot on. Could not have asked for a better experience.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found my perfect hardshell!

PostedAugust 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear a large in all Mountain Hardwear clothing and this is no exception. I found that the MH Super Chockstone jacket works very well with the side pockets/vents on this jacket. My ghost whisperer fits underneath with no issues. I mainly use it backpacking in the Pacific Northwest and absolutely love it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: North Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I personally use this product for backpacking, its very light, fits very well, I cant imagine how they could improve this product. With every feature it is evident that thought of the user was put into it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed after one season

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: New York,NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although at first it seems to be made with good quality materials, just after one season of light usage I've noticed signs of failure:
1. The material is developing creases in multiple places allowing the water to go in easily.
2. The waterproofing is GONE in multiple places and in just 10min of light rain I got soaked: it was not my own sweat! I have washed the jacket a few times without very light detergent and this seemed to helped very temporarily: 1 week or so.
3. Overall this jacket/material is a big failure as you would expect to last more than one year...let's hope the warranty process is painless.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
24of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Alpine Shell

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: White Mountains NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent mobility and comfort. Great for wearing with a harness. Very packable
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Seraction™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket i have ever thrown on

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Boston
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this biking to work everyday, and it blocks the rain, breaths just like the description talks about and i show up to work @ the best temperature of not too hot and not too cold.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ZeFish
Quebec, Ca
 
Please wait while more information about ZeFish is loaded.
Additional information about ZeFish could not be loaded.
Too long for me
Posted November 3, 2015
I have a Jovian before and it was perfect for me (Center Back Length: 28 " / 71 cm) but the DryQ had worn off... MountainHard Wear gladly offer me this jacket in exchange wich is really great! But now the center back length of 76 cm is too long for me. I know I'm a small guy 5"4' but I still need to be able to buy a shell to protect me in the winter. MountainHard Wear, you need XS size!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
JuliusPleaser
Fort Collins, CO
 
Please wait while more information about JuliusPleaser is loaded.
Additional information about JuliusPleaser could not be loaded.
Good but...
Posted August 11, 2015
I scored this jacket at a hefty discount from some cool MHW reps who were working a tent at a festifval a season back. I have since ice climbed, biked and shlupped to the top of Denali with this jacket (among other notable climbs). My critiques of this jacket are: 1. The full microfiber liner on the inside collar to protect the chin is great if its dry but if it gets wet, and it does often be it from precipitation or breath, it is uncomfortable and is downright awful when it freezes. I would have been more pleased if they put a patch of micro fiber over the zipper garage and lined the rest of the chin area with the waterproof fabric. The fabric is soft enough to pull this off very nicely; 2. The face fabric started to pill on the hip where the waste belt and climbing harness rub. Bummer!; 3. The velcro on the cuffs love to collect ice and snow; 4. The fabric is bagging out in little pockets/blisters at higher stress areas around seems; 5. The DWR is a little wonky and sort of half wets out. The water doesn't immediately penetrate the face fabric but seems to get caught in the nap and slowly works its way in. None of these quirks have deadlined the jacket but they definitely erk me.
However, I do not hate this jacket and it has served me extremely well. What I like about this jacket is: 1, The stretch panels and hood are dynamite; 2. The material is very soft and comfy; 3. The weather protection is great; 4. The utility of the jacket is elevated by the superior layout of pockets, zippers and cut; 5. The Q-dry is pretty dang good.
My $.02 is to buy the jacket if its on sale or you are really taken by it in the store. I was a victim of both and am mostly satisfied with my purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)