Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear The Mountain Guide™ Beanie

Mountain Hardwear The Mountain Guide™ Beanie

The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Review 1 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

well made and comfortable

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
jkaz
Location: michigan
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hat is very comfortable and seems to be well made. I like that you can wear it different ways, folded or slouchy. The only negative is it is lighter weight than what I was expecting. I got it early spring and have only used it in the 30's-40s F*, I'm skeptical if I will use it as my winter hat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hands down favorite!

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
Skydivemars
Location: Greenwood Village, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is definitely my go to beanie. I have both colors, one for looking good at work, and one for looking good when I go out. Either way, you're looking good. It's made of wool, so it keeps you nice and warm. The cut of it is a little big. So it applys coverage when and where you need it. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice cap

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
joe1265
Location: Detroit, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
the merino wool is soft and warm. not itchy. It is just thin enough to fit under a ski helmet, but thick enough to be very warm. Michigan is having a brutal Feb 2015, with record low temps of 0F to -20F. I have been skiing in the coldest temps ever and still keep my ears warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Cold Weather

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
TheDC9
Location: Northern VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this product for temperatures below 32 degrees. The material thickness is not adequate for cold weather.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wool Watch Cap

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
architectus
Location: SoCal Mountains
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In regards to fit, as a point of comparison I wear size 7 1/2 hat, and found the regular fit beanie to fit snugly without feeling tight. The dome fits the contours of the head evenly without leaving loft if worn with the ribbing rolled up; alternatively, it can be worn, as another reviewer said, as a slouchy beanie.
Merino wool is far less itchy than other 'surplus-style' wool beanies I've owned. I especially love that MH kept the branding minimal on this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a Beanie for Me!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
surchdg
Location: Placerville, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I am very tall, I have a little head. I wear a size 7... and look good in baseball caps but not so much 'soft hats'... but this... this beanie is great! Fits perfect.. over my ears or not, it looks and feels wonderful. Great quality. I ended up buying 2 for myself, and some for other family members. It is just warm enough but not too warm... no over heating. I totally recommend this....
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great adjustable fit

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
BenRunning
Location: Eureka, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my go-to beanie for both winter adventures and errands around town. The beanie fits normal around my head horizontally, however it is a fair amount larger above forehead level. I actually prefer this fit, although it is easy to adjust for vertical fit by increasing or decreasing the fold's depth.
The beanie is of medium thickness, it isn't bulky and it breathes well during activity.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Windproof

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
TNman
Location: Tennessee
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used this hat several times over the past couple of weeks. It's lightweight and pulls down nice over my ears. I bought the hat because it was made of wool. I have discovered the hat is loosely knitted allowing brisk winds to breeze right through. I will need a more windproof hat for my travels. I normally wear a size 7 1/4 hat and purchased a large. It's just a little loose for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wool hat!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anniev
Location: TC, Michigan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy one new winter-y hat a year and this year the Guide Beanie was it. Out of the box I was worried about how thin it felt but after wearing it in blustery conditions already I am no longer worried. It is warm and for the first time ever I found a wool hat that doesn't make my skin itch--no matter how long I wear it. It is very soft. The ribbing on the hat is great and it can be worn as a slouchy beanie or folded to make it into a skull cap. I think it is worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for The Mountain Guide™ Beanie
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Too Small
4 / 7
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5