Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Android™ II Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Android™ II Jacket

Android™ II Jacket
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 9(67%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Casual Softshell

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
McSky
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6'1", 175 lbs, skinny-athletic build, wear a 34/35 sleeve in dress shirts. Bought size Large in Collegiate Navy. Fit was just right in the sleeves, good range of motion. Little loose in the chest but good for layering, and the waist was also a little loose but the draw-cord hem fixed that.
Bought this last winter (2013) really to replace two of my old softshells. One was stolen at college and the other is around 5 years old and starting to look pretty beat up, so now that one has become a jacket I use when I know things are going to get dirty. The Android II was my first entry into Mountain Hardwear products, and I am incredibly satisfied. I bought it for what it is, a casual softshell. One that can be worn around town and perhaps out on some shorter trails or while car camping. In these environments it functions beautifully. Wind is non-existent, and light snow and rain bead off well. The outer shell is soft to the touch yet proved durable throughout the winter.
The fleece lining is just the right amount of warmth for me (I tend to handle the cold well). This winter was especially cold here in MD (they had ice breakers out on the Chesapeake for the first time in like 30 years) and I typically wore it with only a t-shirt and a L/S waffle thermal (both cotton) while I was out running errands or headed out to the bar at night and I was comfortable. For really cold days (15 degrees and below) I'd maybe throw a hoody underneath and be fine. Also on extended stays in the cold while doing some sort of physical activity, from disc golf to splitting wood, I never wet-out from sweat, so the breath-ability is excellent.
I actually like the velcro-less sleeve cuffs. For those days when I'd take the jacket out for longer periods say on the disc golf course, any runny eyes or nose from a brisk wind could be comfortably wiped without scratching my raw face with rough velcro (I rarely wear gloves). Haha you laugh, but with my old softshells that velcro scratch was really irritating. So it may not be the functionality MH had in mind for the cuff design, but it worked great for me.
I was so happy with this first venture into MH that I've since gotten A tent, sleeping bag, multiple pairs of hiking shorts and shirts, and soon a waterproof shell and expedition duffel. Everything I've gotten so far has been top notch.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good jacket

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Will87
Location: Manchester, NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this jacket as a replacement for what I believe was an older Android jacket that was misplaced while I was deployed overseas. A replacement this jacket was not. I ordered a medium knowing that's what I previously owned. The jacket is far too tight in the shoulders and across the back and the underarm area was VERY snug and high. The waist fit odd as well (I'm exactly the same size I was when I wore my old jacket). My older jacket was my go to and was used around town, hiking, mountain biking, skiing, and anything else I found myself doing. Opening the Android II, I immediately noticed a difference in quality. My older jacket was thicker and the shell was softer, perhaps even having some elasticity to it. The fit on the older jacket was much more athletic. This jacket seemed more cut for the "city style" that many "outdoor" companies seem to be marketing to more and more. I will try another jacket, but Mountain Hardwear may have lost a loyal customer. As an avid outdoorsman and someone who has worked on and off in the outdoor industry for years, I am disappointed to say the least.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too tight for athletic builds

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
TarHeel1
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First of all, I got the zinc, and the color is beautiful!
I'm 5'6" and currently 150 lbs. with an athletic build (weightlifting). The jacket fits snug everywhere, except for the armpit area. It is just way too tight, and it digs into my underarms. I got a small, but medium would be too long in the arms and body.
I really wanted to like this jacket. Quality is excellent.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
DforTM
Location: Tucson, AZ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves his jacket. Thank you for making shopping easy.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tight in places.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
frescoelmo
Location: 97201
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little tight in the shoulders but overall good for what its intended use was. The cuffs should be more elastic, tough to get wrists in and out.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all around

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kelena
Location: Honolulu, HI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I take this jacket everywhere. On the airplane when it gets kind of chilly. Unless it gets below 50 degrees this is all I need. Breathable yet it cuts the gusty wind and water repellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome-ness

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
jtidmore1
Location: Cleveland, OH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is outstanding. Have been ski patrol, I wish I would have had this back in the day when I was on the lifts at 7am at 10k feet.
Only issue is the cuff size. Seems too small but that is literally the only complaint I have.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as Good as the Older Android

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
clickclackmoo
Location: San Ramon, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I own an older version Android jacket which was purchased 4 years ago. It is my go to jacket and I love it. I decided to purchase another Android in a different color. I ordered a navy blue Android II in size small. I was very disappointed in what I received. First, the Android II fits larger overall than the older Android. It's sleeves and hem length are significantly longer than the older Android, which is a big deal for me because I'm 5'6". It also has a bit more bulk around the chest than the older Android. Secondly, the materials are very different than the older Android jacket. The older Android has a softer/smoother finish compared to the Android II. The interior fleece of the Android II also seems to be less substantial than in the older Android. Fortunately, the MHW website is still selling the older Android jacket in the Specials section. I'm going to return my Android II and buy the older version on sale. I would not recommend the Android II for anyone who already owns an older version of the Android since I think it is an inferior product.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Android™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
loftygrin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a soft shell jacket with a little insulation factor with it and this jacket does it. The jacket has a good feel with with a not-too-thin shell feel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.