Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket

Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
22 out of 24(92%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought for layer...Worn as Stand alone

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Farsea
Location: Central PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worn only during light rain, cool/chilly fall weather in PA, so far.
Very warm Jacket (gets warm quick), Comfortable soft feel and touch...Extremely light weight.
I bought the Thermostatic in Medium due to all my other MH jackets (shells) seeming to fit a little larger than I like...this one seems a bit more form fitting/slim fit, if you will...
That non exsitant middle between MED and LRG would be perfect right now...haha.
Im 5'9, 216lbs...Should fit quite nice by spring (provided I stick to my workout throughout the winter)
I love this Jacket and all others I've owned before.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thermostatic jacket

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Arloutfitter
Location: Arlington va
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Great jacket. Warm and really compress able. The only problem is it fits really big but I feel Mountain Hardware clothes always fit a little big
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Jacket!!!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChuinMasterofsinanju
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally purchased the Zinc colored jacket in large. I am 5' 10" and 190 and it fit well, slightly loose. I normally wear a 42 suit jacket I wore it all of 2013 and into 2014. It is versatile enough to wear in Fall, Winter and Spring. It packs tight in my briefcase, and is very light weight and warm.
I loved it so much I recently purchased the black version in medium to layer underneath my ski jacket. The medium fits me snug but looks great. These are my go to jackets for the majority of the year.
The other reason I like them is they are thin enough they don't make people that are slightly overweight look fat like other puffy jackets tend to.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great synthetic mid-layer!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
OhiopyleHiker1
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a few day hikes in +/- 20 degree weather with only a fleece underneath, I stayed perfectly warm. The compact storage takes up minimal space in the pack as well.
Great product!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and Warm

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bluto913
Location: KS
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised the jacket is very light weight and warm. For some reason the Product Description doesn't list Windproof, but it seems to be fairly wind resistant. Like most other writers I'm 5'9" but a muscular/stocky 200 lbs. XL fits great in the chest and shoulders, but it's big around the mid section. Feels like they want you to layer under it instead of over it. It would be nice if it had an outside chest pocket and/or some inside pocket.
I gave it 4/5 stars because of fit and lack of extra pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thermostatic Jacket

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
FlyingUte
Location: Orem Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6'6 and 240 lbs.
My arms are long and the sleeves fit perfect.
The girth was a bit too big. It could easily fit a 300 pounder. I took it to a taylor and cut it down a bit. Now I love it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too baggy

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
nutt
Location: Sweden
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The warmth to weight ratio is great for a synthetic.
But the fit is just horrible. After getting the Ghost Whisperer I was expecting a tapered / athletic fit that layers well, but this just hangs over you like a sack. I could fit (approx) two of me in the chest area.
A big con, detracts from the whole idea of making outerwear for active people. Very disappointing.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Quality Than Competitors

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hotshot
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket provides exceptional warmth and wind protection, while being extremely light weight. But my favorite feature is the oversized main zipper. This zipper is much beefier and will hold up to use over time, better than lesser quality, smaller teeth zippers. Thanks for making a product that I can put to work in the field!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jay274
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a great jacket just wish there were inside pockets and maybe a hole for head phones.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stupid Name. Stupid Warm.

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
erik822
Location: MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's -6F in Minneapolis right now and was outside for a half hour wearing a long-sleeved t-shirt, Melbu hoody (no longer available) and the Thermotastic jacket. I was perfectly comfortable—except for my legs, but I didn't have a jacket on those. I was walking at a normal speed and never got the slightest bit cold. Might be a different story if I was standing still, but I'm really shocked at how warm this thing is.
The jacket weighs nothing, which is actually a little unnerving. It's so light it feels like I forgot to wear a jacket.
The fit is perfect for layering. It fits over a thin sweater and easily under any shell. I'm 5'9" and 160lbs.
The only issue I have with the jacket is the name. It's embarrassing to admit that I bought something called "Thermotastic." Even if it's true.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing coat!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Redram
Location: Columbus Ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is unbelievable how warm this jacket is and its so thin and so light. It weighs nothing, it packs away to nothing, and you dont have to fear water like down. Wear it alone or add a shell for more warmth. I have worn this coat on cool days (40s and 50s) and it works great down into the 20s by itself. Throw a shell on if its colder and keep going. You can throw this jacket in the side pocket of a pack or a briefcase and not know its there, but pull it out when you need it. Love this coat!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
HERKFE
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A little larger fit than expected, but a high quality jacket. Wear all the time and is a great layer for Alaska weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow its light!

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
27ryan
Location: Maryland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been my go to jacket since I bought it and I have warn it literally every day. This is by far the warmest per gram jacket I have ever owned or seen, and works fine as a stand alone jacket down to about 30 degrees with no layers on under the coat. This is also the perfect base layer to use with the 2L Compulsion jacket as that is the getup I have been using for skiing and I have been super warm and never once felt restricted in movement. All that being said this jacket runs kinda big but has no tapered fit so if you have broad shoulders it is kinda baggy around the middle.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, warm, comfortable.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
NoneOfYourBusiness
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite everyday jacket for life in Alaska.
Great fit, very warm, and amazingly light.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thermostatic Jkt

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trekster
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stand alone or layering piece!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight and comfy

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mtman
Location: San Francisco, CA
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket at the Mt. Hardware employee store. It is a great find for 50% off! I plan on taking with me on hiking trips this summer. So far it seems comfortable and very light!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm, but slightly off sizing

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
AllanR
Location: SF Bay Area
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this jacket as a stand alone piece, as well as a mid layer beneath other jackets, and it works well in any situation. Super lightweight, it feels like nothing when you are wearing it. Fully zipped up, it is not too constricting, while still coming up high enough to block the wind. The zippers also do not allow wind through them, and I've worn this alone while riding my bike or scooter. Very warm for minimal bulk.
A few minor complaints would be that when I washed it (per washing instructions), the finish is slightly altered. It's hard to describe, but the finish is not as "smooth" as it was before washing. Not very noticeable though, and nothing that detracts from the look or function of the piece.
Also, the sizing is a little strange, at least for my body (5'9", 160lb athletic build). The small was too small on my chest and shoulders, but the medium has a little extra room (for my liking) in the lower part of the jacket, and also it comes down lower than I normally like. I use the cinch cords to tighten it up just a little bit, but it still rides a little low. These could just be personal preferences, or my body shape, but I have a lot of other MH pieces that fit better IMO.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

cut too narrow

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
alsfbay
Location: Point Richmond, CA
Experience: Casual
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have loved to keep this jacket. The quality and the colors are great. Unfortunately it has the current "trendy " cut which is very narrow.
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thermostatic Jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
fgfd
Location: NEPA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Takes a beating and keeps performing well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnG
Location: Mass
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight and warm
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.